We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happened to the best burgers in the Ionian.”
Review of Calypso

Calypso
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Kioni
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A restaurant with a great reputation both in Greece and abroad. Our international visitors have spread our name all over Europe and we are mentioned in every tourist guide that involves Ithaca and Kioni. All our dishes are cooked with greek olive oil and the freshest ingredients. Our fish is provided by the local fishermen and our meat comes from the local market to support the local economy.
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

When cruising in the Ionian. This restaurant was always such a pleasure. They sold the best burgers you can imagine. They don't anymore. Just the same Greek menu served by everyone else. taverna menu sold everywhere else.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Great food and the house wine is good. Service is very friendly. Rabbit Stiffado is very good with a rich sauce..

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Barwickgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This place needs praise. We had an amazing meal. Right. Y the sea. The best octopus I've eaten in Greece- seriously to be recommended. So recommended.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank 1Nick_B36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Onion pie was made with ready prepared (frozen) fillo which is unacceptable for the place and the price.greek salad were bad too,white colored tomatoes ,tinny slice of feta and a high price for a salad you can find at any average taberna. We order gemista (that never arrived and they charged them) and a beef cooked in orange sauce which was on.we will never come back and this is definitely not a recommended place for anyone.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank buntolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear customer,
Our onion pie is a dish with a thirty-year- old history and people come again and again from all over Europe to taste it. Its original recipe is with baklava filo because it makes it very crispy and not because it is cheaper or more easy to prepare. The price of the dish (9euros) is because of its rich ingredients (4 different types of cheese, fresh cream, bacon) and it is quite justfiable given its high quality ingredients and the size of the portion.
You also mention the fact that you were charged a portion of stuffed vegetables that never arrived. We are really sorry for this mistake, but I think that it would be more fair from your part to also mention that the sum was immediately detracted from your bill once you pointed out the mistake and sincere apologies were provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Calypso because of Trip Advisor's reviews. I'm not going to comment on why people keep on giving it a "5" or a "4", I'm just going to share our experience.
We ordered 1 ouzo, 1 green leaf salad with orange dressing, 1 shrimp pasta, 1 shrimp saganaki and 1 feta-leek fried flutes.
The salad was way too simple, literally lettuce, arugula, sesame and a dressing. The shrimp saganaki was condensed sauce of ketchup and maybe 1-2 teaspoons of tomato purée, accompanied by 2-3 pieces of feta cheese and a few shrimps. I must note that the shrimps were not cooked in the tomato sauce, but separately. So the sauce had no flavor from the shrimps, neither the shrimps from the sauce. I personally liked the flutes (if you like the strong flavor of the leek you ll definitely enjoy this plate). Last but not least, the shrimp pasta arrived.
Pasta cooked in water with the famous ketchup sauce; which was also added in this meal! Im not exaggerating, the sweet flavor of ketchup was so strong we had to add a pot of cheese to balance it.
The problem arose when I tried to cut open one shrimp....green-brownish liquid came out from the head of the shrimp. This happened to all shrimps. I had to ask the manager to come over and see for himself. He admitted that he had never seen that before. He took back both plates with the shrimps (the pasta and the saganaki) and returned them back with smaller shrimps.
The flavor remained the same (ketchup) but at least the shrimps were ok.
We paid 62€.
Good response from the restaurant, but still, you can not serve as a tomato sauce both in saganaki and shrimp pasta, ketchup sauce with a touch of tomato purée. Or at least if you do, charge it half the price.
In my opinion ridiculous prices, low quality food.
Will definitely not visit again.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank ChristinaK1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear customer,

We thank you for pointing out the problem with the shrimps which were all returned to the provider this morning.
But as for the tomato ketchap, we do not use it in ANY dish. Actually, we don't have this product in the restaurant at all. We only have some single portion ketcap cups in case someone asks for some ketchap to add on their fries and that's it! I'm sorry but you have drawn a tottally mistaken conclusion. To not like the taste of a dish is one thing, but to make false assumptions about the ingredients and then publish them as facts is really unfair. We are a restaurant with a thirty-year reputation built on our fresh ingredients and homemade food, not a fast food chain. Our local cook who has been making the food we serve for thirty years does not even know what ketchap is, let alone use it in her cooking...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calypso also viewed

Kioni, Ithaca
Frikes, Ithaca
 
Platrithias, Ithaca
Kioni, Ithaca
 

Been to Calypso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing