We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, just lovely!”

Review of Beaufort House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beaufort, Killarney, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vieuxcarr...
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, just lovely!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This phrase is used over and over again in Ireland, in restaurants, hotels, pubs, even on the street, and it perfectly sums up our weeklong-stay at Beaufort House near Killarney. The property actually exceeded our expectations as the photos posted do a good job of showing the spacious and nicely decorated rooms but cannot convey the lush lawns, pocket gardens and grassy paths leading down to the river that edges the property. There's very good trout and salmon fishing in the river but we contented ourselves with sitting on a rustic bench, sipping our afternoon tea and tossing rocks into the rushing water for one of the resident chocolate labs to retrieve (her idea, not ours!).
The house itself feels completely authentic, from the book-lined walls and comfortable couches of the library to the cozy kitchen with its scrubbed pine table. Our group (four couples) was encouraged to settle in, cook if we wished, use the laundry facilities, etc. The bedrooms and baths were quite comfortable and attractive and all was kept spotless by Noreen, who came in every morning to "do". Hosts Donald and Rachel, along with daughter Kate, were available with advice and help when we needed them but unobtrusively kept to their wing of the house so we had plenty of privacy.
We used Gerard at Killarney Guided Tours for some sightseeing and were pleased with the service. It was especially nice to be able to tour the Dingle Peninsula without the hassle of driving those narrow, windy roads!
Absolutely best meal I have ever had: Bricin restaurant (pronounced Brick-een) in Killarney. Famous for its "Boxty" which is a sort of hearty potato pancake, folded over various fillings, I had the ratatouille version and it was just such a perfect combination of textures and flavors. I crave it still!
Thanks, Donald and Rachel!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip P
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Absolutely Charming Irish Manor House”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just finished a week's stay with three other couples. Beaufort House is all it is advertised to be and more. Great location, beautiful home with ancient ambiance but all the modern conveniences anyone could desire. Surrounded by beautiful countryside yet close to Killarney and even within walking distance of several excellent local pub/restaurants.

Donald and Rachel are wonderful hosts - genuinely friendly and responsive to any need such as help with scheduling reservations, transportation and local advice. It is best to have a car since it is about 5 miles from Killarney but they also helped us schedule a very reliable and reasonably priced local van driver for the nights we wanted to "go out and party".

Our group has stayed all over the world (Mexico, Spain, Italy, France, England, Portugal to name a few) and this experience was right at the top.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reensirel...
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Ireland!”
Reviewed 7 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010
4
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for the combination of home and vacation, I would highly recommend this property! We stayed a week with a gathering of friends and hated to leave. It is situated close enough to Kilarney but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. I would suggest renting a car as there are limited choices in the small village of Beaufort. Rachel and Donald make sure you are well taken care of and the entire property is BEAUTIFUL and well maintained. A lovely restaurant is located right next door and a great pub is about 1/2 a mile's walk. We can't wait to return to Ireland and to be sure we will stay at Beaufort again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheaptrav...
lake view,ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The Lovliness of Beaufort House”
Reviewed 6 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

If you are thinking of traveling to the Kerry/Cork region, specifically to Killarney then you must stay at Beaufort House!! You won't be sorry. I had the pleasure of atttending a destiination wedding in Killarney in July, 2010 ans I stayed at Beaufort House. From the minute I stepped in the front door I was in total heaven! The surroundings that you will stay in are this side of heaven! The kitchen is a grand place to have a casual dinner or just to relax. The whole house is magnificent! The beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the bathrooms are heavenly, down comforters and all! Please don't let your stay go by unless you stop by Beaufort. Rachel & Richard are wonderful and will accomidate your every wish! Thank you Rachel & Richard for a lovely stay! I loved the dogs too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morexelle...
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Magical Property/Location”
Reviewed 4 January 2010 for a stay in December 2009
3
people found this review helpful

My family and I, rented the entire property for the Christmas/New Years period (12 days), all cottages and main house. We had a magical time. The property is lovely, warm, inviting with all amenities one would need. Donald and Rachel were gracious and lovely. There was nothing missing on the property that we could have wished for. The homes are decorated in a lovely and caring manner, filled with books, artwork, etc. You feel as though you are staying in someone's home that has been warmly attended to. We were so sad to leave and look forward to our return to the property. It's also in an ideal location, outside the town of Killarney, however, within walking distance to smaller village.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing