We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
385 results
Traveller rating
123
158
52
21
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
158
52
21
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerritt parkwayoutdoor poolthe concierge levelbusiness triproom servicehot tublarge hotelhotel restaurantfirst floorbreakfast buffetbusiness hotelfront desk staffwe've stayedcomfortable roomslobby areavisiting familyfitness center
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 385 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

A very big hotel with great service. Restaurant on main level was nice to have access to as there isn’t anything within walking distance of hotel. Bar was big and offered great service after a long day of travel.

Rooms were in need of updating. Bed was very comfortable. Overall this is one of their older properties. Best part of hotel was very large gym. Again, on the older side, but offered a ton of free weight, dumbbell and cardio options.

Club lounge was decent and offered standard fare in the morning. If you seek great service and an older property this is a good option for you. If you want new and updated, look elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Catebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Trumbull Marriott Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Catebull,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Trumbull Marriott Shelton and providing your honest feedback regarding your stay.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and your comments regarding the service, restaurant and gym were great to hear.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Trumbull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

Have stayed just about everywhere when visiting Fairfield. Went with a recommendation for the Marriott. Extremely pleased. Room was fine, impressive bar and restaurant. Great staff and whatever requested was promptly delivered. Nice to know you don't "have" to go looking for restaurants. Had the family meet us there for one of our dinners. Also enjoyed the breakfast buffet and a breakfast room-service. Very easy to pop down to Fairfield and an Uber was only $20 for party nights in Fairfield. Have a pool(didn't use) but looks great for the kids. Just a block away from Target, Kohls, McDonalds, etc. Found that very convenient as needed some things and didn't have to wander the town. Recommend and will use again. The lobby area is huge and offers many chairs, etc. Wish we'd found it years ago.

Room Tip: The rooms are quiet. They do have an 11pm noise cut-off to help guests learn 'quiet time' in the hallways or party room
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shotgun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Our first night, first room, the room had mold, inoperable TV (not a big deal) and the phone didn’t work (also not a big deal until you can’t contact the front desk or they can’t contact you about room issues!!)

The supervisor was nice and offered to switch our rooms and give us comps for breakfast the next morning...never received those

Second night, second room, was stinky but we didn’t want to complain AGAIN. Opened the sliding glass door to air it out. Settled into bed and the bottom sheet was a queen sheet on a king size bed...kept rolling up. We weren’t about to sleep on a hotel mattress without a sheet! Called the front desk and the attendant answers “Yeah” very unprofessional and I was stunned by how put out she was having me bother her.

I’m a Marriott rewards customer, this is by far the worst experience I’ve had in any hotel,ever

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This is one of the best Marriott around for location, staff, and rooms. The best items are: an outdoor pool to go along with an indoor pool, great exercise/workout areas - yes, there are two dedicated areas for this activity, and very LARGE TV's [47" - WOW, WOW, WOW] for my old eyes to view properly. The negative is VERY LIMITED baseball TV selection to view in the Summertime. I know, the Marriott's like to have their clientele go to the bar to watch TV sports so they can make more money, BUT that is very disconcerning to me who doesn't drink, and I like to watch TV in my room. NO YES, NO MSG, NO NESN, NO MLB CHANNELS. Yes, they have the terrible ESPN group with some weekday baseball, but that doesn't cut it. They do offer NFL channel for Fall football, Golf, NBCSP, and 4 HBO channels which is great - but they really need to add Summer baseball channels, or I and others, will go to a hotel that does - there are several high-end hotels nearby who do.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WoodyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

Let me start this review by saying the whole hotel smells. When you walk into the foyer or a room it just smells. It is 100% clear that Marriott forgot this hotel and left it to rot. The restaurant needs to be shut down, how a health inspector hasn't been by is beyond me. If the seats and tables are filthy and dirty what must the kitchens be like??? But worse than any of that... The staff. So rude, could not be less customer centric if they tried. At check in, at the restaurant, everywhere you go. It begs the question again, did Marriott leave this hotel to fall to wreck and ruin? How anyone could think this hotel is clean and good makes me wonder what kind of house and environment they live in.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
3  Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G, Manager at Trumbull Marriott Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Nikki F,

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel teams to ensure they correct the issue mentioned in your comments as well as understand the importance of how handling each and every guest transaction in a professional and hospitable manner is.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Trumbull.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews