We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Indian in Southport CT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coromandel

Coromandel
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Southport
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian in Southport CT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Coromandel is part of a greater chain and the Southport location is very good in not quite Darien. Some of the dishes are actually pretty authentic although they do all the traditional non-Indian dishes such as Chicken Tikka Masalla so the Chef has obviously visited Birmingham in England. The service is really friendly and they get to know their regulars. One recent take out I had was not up to standard so ihope they keep their eye on the ball.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
132 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Southport's Indian Restaurant, revisited.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A couple of years ago, my wife and I had dinner at Coromandel. At the time, we felt that the restaurant was OK, but somewhat lacking in atmosphere.

Last Friday, we decided to give it another shot. Very glad we did.
First of all, the place was bustling. There's nothing like a busy restaurant to provide a pleasant atmosphere.
Service was very attentive, but not intrusive. Good balance. I noted that the waiter who took our wine order also asked for our choice of appetizer, to avoid unnecessary delays. This also gave us plenty of time to decide on our main course.
The food was excellent. Unless I'm mistaken, there seem to be some new dishes on the menu. I had Mirapakaya Mamsam Koora- "pieces of lamb in a spicy gravy with red chillies, coriander, yellow chillies and flavored with ginger. From the Deccan region." according to their website. It was delicious - spicy without being excessively hot. My wife had Tandoori shrimp which was splendid.
We're both very fond of Indian desserts, so we splurged a bit and ordered a couple. I had a rather nice, extremely sweet thing, based on condensed milk (can't remember what it's called), and my wife had what she described as the best rice pudding she had ever tasted. I tried some, and am inclined to agree.
They still have the bizarre wine list, which is in alphabetical order of vineyard within wine colour, but it's more of a harmless quirk than an inconvenience.

We live less than a mile away from Coromandel. I think we'll be visiting more often in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Sachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Indian on the East Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The title says it all. Know when they say hot they mean hot. The Nimma Rassam is delicious, and the service is great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tthomson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Exotic Indian Food in CT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

If you are ready to move beyond chicken tikka marsala and standard tandoori fare, it is time to visit Coromandel. They offer a wonderful selection of south Indian cuisine that is cooked to perfection. From the sweet to the scorchingly hot, there is something new for everyone. Great staff and terrific ingredients add to the pleasure of this great restaurant. Worth the trip.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield
Level Contributor
194 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Indian at its best !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've been here several times and the results are always the same -- a great meal enjoyed by all. Excellent service and food to match. Watch the hot stuff -- really hot!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coromandel also viewed

 
Southport, CT
 

Been to Coromandel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing