We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently awful”
Review of J&J Country Tavern

J&J Country Tavern
Ranked #28 of 50 Restaurants in Southbury
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Once again , we were disappointed. We attended on New Year’s Eve with friends. They were serving only the specials and ran out of lobster . Not good planning . Our friends prime rib was less than half edible because of all the fat . The nice gentleman who came to our table said that should have been expected with prime rib. I had the end cut, so No fat but also no taste. And cold . The side dishes ( only mashed potato and asparagus were available ) were cold. Wait staff very nice , but a long wait to order and to receive food . Our previous experience was awful and this was also

Date of visit: December 2017
2  Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

Happened to see an ad earlier this week and decided to call for reservations. I asked to sit near the fireplace and they did accommodate us,and with the temperature only 5 degrees it was a welcome treat. .It was a price fix menu,but the choices were nice. Appetizers, dinner coffee and dessert .The meal was good ,it could have been hotter but as cold as it was keeping it piping hot would have been a challenge .I would return .The place sites on the golf course and I understand during the summer the view is wonderful. Always Chefnfly

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank Chefnfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We visited J&J Country Taven for the first time in the summer and ate outside as the weather was still good. The views are beautiful there and our wait staff was more than attentive-she made sure we had everything we needed and answered in detail all of our questions about the menu. My fiance had the steak - it was done to perfection. I had the stuffed shrimp - very tasty. We then decided to try the happy hour one evening and you cannot beat this deal. The appetizers were all normal portions and delcicious. the atmosphere was delightful and cozy. I am so happy for the new owner and wish him much success.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgredenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We went to J&J’s for Thanksgiving Dinner last week and it was fabulous. The buffet had a great selection, and everything was cooked perfectly, especially the turkey. I don’t think it could have been any better. The service is always great at J&J’s as well. We stopped at the bar for a drink after dinner, and bartender Gordon was awesome.

It’s clear that J&J’s takes a lot of care in hiring their personnel, because they are all very professional, polite, and friendly.

We live in the Village and usually go to J&J’s once a week, and we’ve never had a bad experience with the food or the service. The owners are very experienced and successful restauranteurs, and I think the Village is lucky to have such a great place move in.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 351edd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Inside was rustic and comfortable. Beautiful view of golf course. Waitress very friendly and attentive. I had horseradish-encrusted salmon which was delicious and perfectly cooked. Rice pilaf was a little greasy and veggies a little mushy but still would rate meal very good in light of large size of fish and the fact that it was cooked so perfectly! Husband's meal was very good. We had calamari to start....mantle a little rubbery but tentacles were tender! prices reasonable. would be a nice place to go w/ a large group or for a romantic dinner for 2! i think i saw a fireplace so might be nice and cozy to visit in the winter but we were there on a warmish day.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to J&J Country Tavern? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing