We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite place!”

Nouveau Monde Wine Bar & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Sandy Hook
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 45
Description: Meaning "New World" in French, Nouveau Monde serves new American cuisine in a cozy and stylish atmosphere. Our menu celebrates seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients, incorporating inspirations from a variety of global flavors. Named by Connecticut Magazine as Best Wine Bar in Connecticut, our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list has over 40 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle, with chef's suggested pairing for each entrée. We feature a curated list of craft beer and spirits that pair well with our delicious food and convivial, approachable ambiance. Fine dining, relaxed atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Meaning "New World" in French, Nouveau Monde serves new American cuisine in a cozy and stylish atmosphere. Our menu celebrates seasonal and locally-sourced ingredients, incorporating inspirations from a variety of global flavors. Named by Connecticut Magazine as Best Wine Bar in Connecticut, our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list has over 40 wines by the glass and more than 200 by the bottle, with chef's suggested pairing for each entrée. We feature a curated list of craft beer and spirits that pair well with our delicious food and convivial, approachable ambiance. Fine dining, relaxed atmosphere.
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Love this new establishment from where it is located along the beautiful river to the entire inside decor. I have never felt so comfortable outside of home! Very friendly staff as well.

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 708heidik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016

Highly Highly suggest going here.. the vibe and the decor is beautiful!!! The owner is awesome and friendly and on site... all the staff couldn't of been nicer.. they go out of there way to make it a special time... the food is high end... the wines are perfect! We have been wanting a place like this to go to for so long so very happy its finally here! We are going back this weekend! And plenty of beers and other cocktails to choose from.. this is the perfect place to go!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CTCouple310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Went to visit friends in Sandy Hook, we went for lunch at 2:20 PM. I was pleased with every aspect of this place, eclectic varied menu, great wine list, beautiful presentation of great food. Even superb coffee. I would drive a long way to enjoy the hospitality and wine and food again but I live in Maine 300 miles away so I will my friends more often. Duck, lamb, swordfish, steak, salads, bruschetta, vegetables, all great.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank aburnham2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Do not bring small kids here! While I'm sure they will find something on the menu to eat, it's a special cozy relaxing place for adults. The wine is paired with unique and delicious food. The portions are smaller, but they accent the wine - which is the central theme of this wine bar. Beautiful finishes inside, seating available on two outside porches, weather permitting, ample parking. This is the place you want to come when you want to relax and enjoy some fine wines, great conversation and food. Not to be rushed or overstuffed! Enjoy Nouveau Monde with someone special.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anneh236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

My husband and I wanted to try this wine bar for drinks before we went to dinner as it is relatively new to town. Great atmosphere with a cozy feel. Friendly hostess and wait staff. We each ordered a glass wine off the menu and the waitress came over with each bottle of what we ordered. She showed us the bottles first before she poured our wine into each glass.

We did not eat here but heard the food is really good. Small amount of seating inside. Nice seating on two decks outside.
We will give the food a try next time.

Good place to meet for couples or friends to have drinks and yes they also have beer!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Torrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C, Owner at Nouveau Monde Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Hello Torrie,

Thanks for visiting us ad your positive feedback. We have a full menu, and additional seating in our dining room upstairs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nouveau Monde Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Nouveau Monde Wine Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing