We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Earl Grey Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Inn(Salisbury)
US$ 397
US$ 288
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Interlaken Inn(Lakeville)
US$ 278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$ 92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silvanus Lodge(Hillsdale)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
US$ 78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
1
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
1
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our night's sleep was completely ruined (so was the next day, from exhaustion) by loud chimes EVERY 15 MINUTES ALL NIGHT at the adjacent town library. I hoped they'd cease at midnight. Ha! Wear your watch to bed so you can follow along 12:15; 12:30; 12:45; 1:00 (extra chimes on each hour!); 1:15; .... 2:30; .... 3:45; 4:00; 4:15; 4:30.... 5:30; 5:45; 6:00; 6:15... When we asked our hosts about this they seemed to wonder about it. I called the library later and learned the chiming is at least a 100 year tradition.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank Kant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
57Richard, Owner at Earl Grey Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

"Sleepless" has found fault in that the chimes on the village library's clock had kept him awake all night. This is the first time in our 20 years of operating the Earl Grey B&B that anyone has complained about the library's chimes. We have also contacted our business colleagues in town, one of whom lives four doors away from the library, and none of them have ever experienced that particular complaint (incidentally our B&B is two blocks away). Salisbury is a small New England village and the library's chimes have been a part of its charm for over 100 years. We wonder what "Sleepless" would write if he had stayed in a hotel near Chartres Cathedral!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were royally entertained by our splendid hosts Richard and Patricia. Our guest cottage rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The setting of the house was beautiful and filled with bird song. Patricia's breakfasts were excellent and they were most helpful in suggesting interesting places to visit. It was our first experience of New England hospitality and one which we would be happy to repeat.

Room Tip: Only two accommodations. The guest cottage was excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

This now ranks at the top of our favorite b&b's. Such a wonderful place with the most welcoming hosts.

The suite, where we stayed, is a private little home with its own garden, a porch and a separate sitting area.

The home is a great sanctuary for a short-stay escape from NY!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneNY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Peace and quiet draw me back to Earl Grey B&B over and over. It feels secluded but a walk down the hill and you are right in the village of Salisbury with restaurants and shops. Patricia's breakfasts are scrumptious. And Dick's warm smile welcomes you home. Best place to stay in the NW Corner of CT to enjoy outdoors, hiking, and comforts of home.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hummingrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed in this B&B in 1997 and came back again in June 2012. It was delightful than, but what a change now! Our room, affectionatly called by me and my wife 'a New York room" because of the large New York poster in it, is still there, but now there is an option of renting a separate suite on the ground floor, totally renovated. Very stylish and comfortable stay and worth every penny! Richard and Patricia, our wonderful hosts, must have put great deal of time renovating it and planning every little detail! Breakfast are fantastic and location cannot be better...in "downtown" Salisbury, litteraly maybe 100 yards walking distance to shops, churches, restaurants, but nicely secluded on the edgo of the woods behind the Salisbury townhall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leut61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews