We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$239
View deal
eDreams
Travelocity$258
Priceline$259
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
156
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private villa beautiful surroundings beautiful resort luxury ocean bali paradise honeymoon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2019

The title "A paradise on earth" is quite worn out but in this case it truly applies. It is the second year in a row that we spend as much time as possible at Shunyata Villas. The place is a blessing that puts together comfort, beautiful views, the right amount of non-intimidating luxury and great food. Staff is very friendly and wise enough to grant privacy.
The location is not easy to find but for us, it is exactly such a not so easy to find location we were looking for. Compliments and thank you to the owners who have the courage to keep running a place like this.

Room tip: There are only a few villas and all of them are good.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank njsantonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2019

Dear Virginia,

thank you for leaving us such a nice feedback & we are really happy that you like it so much that you considered us again as your holiday vacation. We really appreciate it! :-)

We hope that you will soon come again as our guest in Shunyata Villas Bali.
All the best,
Shunyata Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

We spent 5 nights in the DELIGHT VILLA with beautiful views to the Indian Ocean and the most beautiful open bath I have ever seen.
We chose Shunyata Villas Bali as our honeymoon destination because we wanted to be away from mass tourism and take time for ourselves.

Our honeymoon package we booked included everything our heart desires. From super relaxing massages, candlelight dinners either in our villa or in the beautiful panorama restaurant, to the traditional blessing ceremony. :)

The complex is very well maintained and very tastefully furnished. A lot of attention to detail and very friendly staff. Eating was our highlight. Freshly selected ingredients very lovingly arranged and a great selection of dishes. There was always a choice of vegetarian/vegan dishes and a fish or meat option paired with a starter and dessert.

We felt very rested and are thankful that we could have this experience. We will definitely come back!
Thanks to the whole team.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annyphuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Dear Anny,

thank you so much for you kind words. You are always welcome guests with us again! :)

Kindest regards,
Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2019

From the moment we walked through the doors to our villa, I was in disbelief that a place so beautiful existed and that we would be calling this place home for the next 3 days. I am not sure I can express in words how beautiful this experience was but I will do my best.

We stayed in an ocean view villa and were so pleased with our villa! The decor was light, bright, and airy. It was was very clean. There was a beautiful outdoor shower and separate giant tub with optional rainfall shower head, in addition to a detachable shower head. Due to jet lag, I was often up in the wee hours of the morning and I would go sit out in the tub and read or just enjoy the sounds of nature waking up in the morning.

There was plenty of closet space in our villa, including shelving and space to hang your garments. The villa included a small kitchenette with filtered water, coffee and tea. Bug spray was also available in the room.

The view of the ocean from our terrace was stunning. The private pool was perfectly open to the beautiful ocean view, but still private from other guests at the resort. We would not have changed a thing about our villa!

The food was this unbelievable combination of health and deliciousness that you don't often come across but they nailed it. I eat a mostly plant based diet and they were able to accommodate this with no problem, having a few options at each meal. I wish we would have taken a cooking class or two because I often found myself trying to figure out how they made each of their creations. My favourite breakfast item on their menu was their ayurvedic green soup!

We ate all our meals at the resort. Some of our meals we ate in our room and others in the restaurant. There was always a wonderful variety of menu items that rotated through their lunch and dinner menu.

The location of the resort is a little remote, but we loved this! When we went for a walk, we found farm animals, a little area with a swing by the ocean, and a nearby learning centre. No tourists in sight :)

We enjoyed an outdoor massage during our stay and there happened to be a downpour of rain at the time of our massage. This just made the experience more magical! The sounds of the ocean combined with the heavy rainfall... it was perfect and the ladies did a wonderful job!

The service was over and above any expectations we could have had. Everyone we met was kind, gracious, respectful, and extremely helpful. To say they went above and beyond would be an understatement. I've never felt so cared for in a resort before.

The entire experience felt like a dream and we have every desire and intention to return back to this paradise dream when we are able.

Our only complaint is this... We booked two resorts for our stay in Bali and the second resort didn't stand a chance in comparing to the Shunyata. We were kicking ourselves for ever leaving the Shunyata to stay elsewhere.

I cannot speak highly enough of this resort. I feel so blessed and thankful to have had the opportunity to stay in this ocean paradise.

Room tip: Ocean View Villa
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suzyQsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2019 via mobile

What can i say!! This place is a little hidden gem tucked away right on the coast. Stunning views, amazing food and staff, i feel privileged to have stayed here. A must if you like the real Bali. Awesome!

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank Latbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2019

Dear Latbeast,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very happy that you liked our place so much!! And will be happy to have you back again. :-)

All the very best,
Shunyata Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

We loved the frangipani flower necklaces on arrival and were blown away by our villa with it's outdoor bathroom, zen garden, private pool and huge bedroom. Hubby was not impressed that there was no TV but the wifi was adequate enough to play movies on our laptop. The huge 32m main pool is breathtaking and excellent for early morning laps, although we loved swimming in our pool most of the time. There is a little beach but all black rocks and dangerous currents so you cannot swim in the sea here. There is also limited shops around and as the prices of the drinks, lunches and dinners were expensive and limited choices, we took a trip into the nearest town to stock up. We found the breakfast to be delicious but needs to be pre-ordered. We enjoyed the healthy bread and muesli, although we had to fight off the flies! We found a local restaurant just up the hill with delicious tuna dinners at a fraction of the price of the resort. Massages are excellent but expensive. As we stayed for 5 nights we were offered a free trip to White sand beach, which was well worth a visit. We hired a driver from the Warung up the road to go to Ahmed, an interesting clifftop trip to this beach where we snorkeled to the sunken ship - awesome! I recommend a visit if you really want to relax with very little other attractions within walking distance.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueW3044
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shunyata Villas B, Manager at Shunyata Villas Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2019

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you liked our place so much. :-) We appreciate your valuable feedback. I am very sorry that you were not totally satisfied when it comes to the pricing. I can assure you that we do not charge extra on purpose because we are remote. You see, our place is fairly small, so we cook for 10 guests at most. We have high standards in terms of ingredient quality, we cook our individual menu´s 100% fresh each day (without any artificial flavours etc. and in organic quality as much as possible) and all is homemade (also bread, pasta, etc.). To keep this service for our guests on this level we have to ask for a specific price. You are right, the flies are really unpleasant attendants at breakfast during the rainy season. We are doing our best to keep them away with candles and incent sticks. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the trips! As mentioned previously, we are very thankful for your comment. This is very helpful, as it is important for us to improve the services for our guests constantly. We hope that you will keep your stay with us in good memory. All the very best & peace within, Shunyata Villas Bali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews