We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
362
134
37
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
134
37
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool africology spa fantastic hotel room service turn down service large hotel bars and restaurants overlooking the ocean great facilities buffet breakfast tour group south africa restaurant staff across the road only stayed one night rooms are spacious attention to detail
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Room great, bar staff poor, restaurant staff good.
Safe not large enough for all our belongings - so staff helped themselves to makeup. Management disinterested until suggestion of our experience being placed in public domain - when compensation offered with no admission of guilt.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2015

Dear Mark E,

We value your business and sincerely regret that the service was not what you expected and deserved. I will be sure to address your issues with the relevant management.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this may have caused to you during your stay with us. I trust that you will look at this as an isolated incident and that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future again.
We truly appreciate your business and hope you will give us additional opportunities to serve your lodging needs.

Kindest Regards
Tiisetso D Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Arrived in PE and eventually found the parking for the hotel. Once in the hotel, the staff were so friendly and helpful,made us feel incredibly welcome. The room was clean and spacious with a beautiful view, the bathroom was inviting with slipper bath great shower. We were delighted to find a warm indoor pool on the premises. We only booked for one night but would have enjoyed more time at the hotel. The breakfast was delicious with an enormous variety of food. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment at the Boardwalk, lots to see, great little fish restaurant across the road and of course, a bit of gambling.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and sea - really lovely
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Janice D,

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We hope to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
The Boardwalk Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015 via mobile

Our last stay at The Boardwalk Hotel at the beginning of this year was very disappointing. So coming back Myself and my partner Michael Gill, were truly hoping for the best.
This time we booked a Junior Suite which didn't fail to disappoint at all...huge spacious lounge slash dining room slash kitchenette with a downstairs toilet and a beautifully decorated bedroom and en suite upstairs. All of which had an amazing sea view!!

However after checking in late on the Friday evening, we ordered room service and it unfortunately took an hour and a half, along with 5 phone calls to find out when we would get our food. In true Boardwalk fashion, we finally got our order accompanied by the Duty Manager, the Chef and Room Service Staff apologizing for the huge delay. Unknown to us, the docket machine had gone on the blink.

After that first hiccup, our stay was truly pleasant and enjoyable. Very impressive was the fact that the next morning the Duty Manager, Obey, personally came to apologize for the previous nights disaster.
On the Saturday we had family over for High Tea, the small selection of eats, sweet and savory was incredibly delicious, and enjoyed by all.

So I am happy to say that The Boardwalk Hotel redeemed itself, their staff are still extremely friendly and an outstanding asset to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank LouGM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear LouGM,

We are absolutely thrilled about your positive feedback and that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the various other delights the Boardwalk Complex has on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back, trusting your next stay will be as memorable as the last.

Kindest Regards,
Tiisetso David Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

We got upgraded to a suite thanks to the friendly manager Lloyd! And thank goodness because the weather was bad and we were happy to stay in all weekend. Room was spacious, very clean and neat, Victorian theme like the rest of the hotel. Parking was a problem. Breakfast was ok, large variety. Dinner wasn't up to our expectations at all, although the one night we ordered from room-service and that food was exceptional. I went for a facial and massage at the Spa which is very nice but was disappointed with the beautician. She couldn't wax my brows and the massage wasn't up to standard and 10mins short. Maybe because it was a Sunday afternoon?

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2015

Dear Wendy M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. Your comments have been forwarded to & acknowledged by the relevant management for attention. We do hope to welcome you back soon and that you will find improved services, trusting your next stay will be as enjoyable as the last.

Kind regards,
Tiisetso David Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Still undisputed as the best views and location in Port Elizabeth. Rooms, cleanliness and overall friendliness of staff remain unchanged, though they need to really focus on the ever declining standards in their food and beverage department.
Now 2 of my last 3 visits where a breakfast order both takes forever and is then sent back as being incorrect or inedible (raw boiled eggs??) and room service has become a lottery in terms of both quality and pricing (twice been billed significantly different to the menu)
To be fair the latter was fully credited, though is disappointing to see a great hotel slipping.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank 290rodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tiisetso_sekwati, Guest Relations Manager at The Boardwalk Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2015

Dear 290rodj,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. Your comments have been forwarded to & acknowledged by the relevant management for attention. We do hope to welcome you back soon and that you will find improved services.

Kind regards,
Tiisetso D Sekwati
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews