We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
131
197
138
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
197
138
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsginger restaurantveranda restaurantacross the roadcomfortable hotelno liftcalamarimain restaurantentertainment complexbuffet dinnerthe ground floorreception staffbusiness tripsea frontlovely roomboardwalk casinoroom was largeport elizabeth
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a stop over. Good location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms could do with a bit of a make over. Buffet dinner could have had a better choice. Free glass of wine with buffet. Outside eating areas lovely. Need to book a table If you want to avoid the buffet.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your review and insight. Wishing you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Booked into this hotel for a conference for 4 nights, in a superior room with ocean views. The room was very small and if you stood on one spot you could see the ocean on tiptoes. Cleanliness and comfort were fine. Turn down service was apparently included, but only happened on the 4th night.
i emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to travel to ask if they could assist with sightseeing bookings and was advised by return email I had to contact the Travel Office, with a phone number (difficult from overseas with time difference!) On arrival it was clear they did organise bookings and when i asked - having made the booking at the airport - they cheerily offered to assist with any booking. I questioned the email and again got a cheery smile saying they had no idea, but what would I like to book. I did request a spa booking for facial, but they were struggling to achieve this, and it never eventuated.
Breakfasts were another amusing adventure each day. The food was good, and they offered a freshly cooked menu. However, getting a coffee was a daily challenge. It took a minimum of 20 minutes (45 on one occasion and only one was delivered) to get a latte. The request was usually met with a roll of eyeballs and one waitress actually told us after she had delivered the coffees that she was now hot and sweaty.
We had drinks at the bar on a couple of occasions and ate there once, it was lovely and, although sometimes slow, service was good, with friendly, helpful staff. We ate at the restaurant named Ginger on one occasion, it was a cold windy night, we were sat outside as they said it was booked out inside (although we noted there were empty tables the whole time we were there) and when we asked for the heating to be lit were told they were out of gas and offered another blanket. Food was excellent, but service very questionable.
Unfortunately the time we were in Port Elizabeth it was extremely windy (apparently unusually) so we were not able to enjoy the pool facility, but it looked inviting.
The conference was well serviced and the staff attending to this seemed to be more skilled and provided much better service.
We were certainly kept entertained for the stay, but questioned the rating and cost, compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We strive for warm, friendly service here at The Beach Hotel and thrive off feedback such as yours to further improve our service offering and shift our focus. Our apologies for the matters raised. I can assure you that we will be focusing on these aspects and will implement corrective action.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Good location, right on the beach and near walking/ running track. Staff VERY attentive and helpful. I was attending a conference so beach walk pre breakfast was great. Windy in the afternoons. Rooms OK. Bar is great. Gin selection (if you ask...on the back shelf) is local and interesting. Setting is great.
I’d come back but not sure if this beach location is quite what I’m after for a holiday. Local restaurants (nearby, in walking distance) are excellent and affordable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location, pre breakfast walks, gin selection and surrounding attractions. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a traditional hotel and much better than the frequently seen tall hotels some of which were nearby.Service was good and the room was good too The meal in the evening could have been eaten in several different restaurants but we opted for the buffet which was good value Breakfast was interesting,after which we relaxed near the pool overlooking the beach

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank domainegirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our restaurants and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

There are many positives about this hotel. It is in a good position right across from the beach and pier in an area called Humewood. Humewood and Summerstrand are the more genteel areas of what is otherwise a fairly industrialised Port Elizabeth. The hotel is only 10 minutes from Port Elizabeth airport.
The rooms are slightly dated but functional. We were in Room 9 which had no view, just facing a wall with a few plants in between our window and the wall. The bed is what we would call a Queen Size in the UK, and it was very creaky! There are bed side tables on each side – one has a drawer the other does not. Lighting is good, bedside lamps and bedside reading spot lights and ceiling lights also. The room had an air conditioning unit on the wall which had a remote control and this worked very well. There was a wardrobe with shelving and a safe; a fridge; tea and coffee making facilities and a desk with a hair dryer.
The en-suite bathroom has a toilet, bath, single sink and walk in shower. The shower has a fixed head, no flexible / detachable spray and a mind of its own with regards maintaining temperature. The plumbing is very tuneful, pulling the flush made all sort of vibrating noises that we found quite comical.
It’s worth noting that some rooms have small balconies with a table and two chairs, ours did not. We would recommend that you do not request a room too near to the road, i.e. overlooking the beach as the noise from the road can be significant. Mainly lots of shouting from the many minibuses that go up and down the road, as well as police sirens.
The food in the hotel was exceptionally good. The service however was disappointing and for the most part very reactive. At breakfast, you had to attract attention to get tea or coffee; if you sat in the bar area you had to find someone to serve you or go the bar for drinks and in the restaurant it was a similar case. There were two members of staff Zulama and Zorco who stood out as being excellent; they were attentive, focussed and very pleasant as well as the porter who always had a smile and a quip.
The pool area is not particularly well maintained, there are a lot of chipped tiles and pieces of ceramic lying about, not a great combination for bare feet. The pool hoover machine is just left in the pool all the time unless you ask for it to be removed. The Wi-Fi is very poor, we ran a speed test and it was 2 mbps upload and less than 1 download.
All in all we would rate this hotel as three star with very good food rather than four.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road to avoid the noise
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VanninLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Greetings from The Beach Family,

Thank you for your review and insight into your stay.

We will certainly look into matters raised and improve where we can.

Wishing you safe travels and all the best.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews