We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mum's second visit”
Review of The Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beach Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Summerstrand
Reviewed 24 December 2017

in my opinion this is still the best hotel in Pe based on staff service and location.The staff are fantastically friendly.Ramsey is a real gem in the crest restaurant remembers past guests and really goes the extra mile .Iris is also a great asset to the team.Buffet style meals are offered in the Crest main dining area nightly.One can also just sit in the lounge ,veranda area and enjoy the beachfront views.A smaller menu is also available to eat on the veranda.The hotel is clean and well managed.this is clearly evident from the attentiveness of the staff.well done.We will be back to book room five again.

Room Tip: sea views.room 5 is close to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Family,

Thank you for your kind review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear of your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back home.

We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the staff. Wishing you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a stop over. Good location. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms could do with a bit of a make over. Buffet dinner could have had a better choice. Free glass of wine with buffet. Outside eating areas lovely. Need to book a table If you want to avoid the buffet.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your review and insight. Wishing you safe travels.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Booked into this hotel for a conference for 4 nights, in a superior room with ocean views. The room was very small and if you stood on one spot you could see the ocean on tiptoes. Cleanliness and comfort were fine. Turn down service was apparently included, but only happened on the 4th night.
i emailed the hotel 2 weeks prior to travel to ask if they could assist with sightseeing bookings and was advised by return email I had to contact the Travel Office, with a phone number (difficult from overseas with time difference!) On arrival it was clear they did organise bookings and when i asked - having made the booking at the airport - they cheerily offered to assist with any booking. I questioned the email and again got a cheery smile saying they had no idea, but what would I like to book. I did request a spa booking for facial, but they were struggling to achieve this, and it never eventuated.
Breakfasts were another amusing adventure each day. The food was good, and they offered a freshly cooked menu. However, getting a coffee was a daily challenge. It took a minimum of 20 minutes (45 on one occasion and only one was delivered) to get a latte. The request was usually met with a roll of eyeballs and one waitress actually told us after she had delivered the coffees that she was now hot and sweaty.
We had drinks at the bar on a couple of occasions and ate there once, it was lovely and, although sometimes slow, service was good, with friendly, helpful staff. We ate at the restaurant named Ginger on one occasion, it was a cold windy night, we were sat outside as they said it was booked out inside (although we noted there were empty tables the whole time we were there) and when we asked for the heating to be lit were told they were out of gas and offered another blanket. Food was excellent, but service very questionable.
Unfortunately the time we were in Port Elizabeth it was extremely windy (apparently unusually) so we were not able to enjoy the pool facility, but it looked inviting.
The conference was well serviced and the staff attending to this seemed to be more skilled and provided much better service.
We were certainly kept entertained for the stay, but questioned the rating and cost, compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your valued feedback. We strive for warm, friendly service here at The Beach Hotel and thrive off feedback such as yours to further improve our service offering and shift our focus. Our apologies for the matters raised. I can assure you that we will be focusing on these aspects and will implement corrective action.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Good location, right on the beach and near walking/ running track. Staff VERY attentive and helpful. I was attending a conference so beach walk pre breakfast was great. Windy in the afternoons. Rooms OK. Bar is great. Gin selection (if you ask...on the back shelf) is local and interesting. Setting is great.
I’d come back but not sure if this beach location is quite what I’m after for a holiday. Local restaurants (nearby, in walking distance) are excellent and affordable.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location, pre breakfast walks, gin selection and surrounding attractions. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

The hotel is a traditional hotel and much better than the frequently seen tall hotels some of which were nearby.Service was good and the room was good too The meal in the evening could have been eaten in several different restaurants but we opted for the buffet which was good value Breakfast was interesting,after which we relaxed near the pool overlooking the beach

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank domainegirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel, our restaurants and our location. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summerstrand
1.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
0.1 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
527 reviews
0.7 km away
Protea Hotel Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Paxton Hotel
Paxton Hotel
#7 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
381 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
131 reviews
2.7 km away
Sir Roys At The Sea
Sir Roys At The Sea
#6 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Hotel

Address: Marine Drive, Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth > Summerstrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Summerstrand
#6 Luxury Hotel in Summerstrand
Price Range: ₹ 6,541 - ₹ 12,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is one Port Elizabeth's finest family hotels, situated on Port Elizabeth's magnificent beachfront, directly opposite Hobie Beach and next to the Boardwalk Casino and Entertainment Center. The Beach Hotel combines splendid service with quality accommodation, stylish cuisine and facilities for a perfect family holiday, business trip or relaxing getaway. The stunning four-star hotel offers homely comfort in its 58 spacious, en-suite bedrooms, some with stunning sea-views and others opening onto the tranquil courtyard. Guests are spoilt with choice, offering 3 onsite restaurants to suit everyone's palate. Enjoy a relaxing environment, sipping a cocktail white overlooking the ocean at The Verandah restaurant, or indulge in our famous buffets at The Crest. Resident foodies will love the fine dining cuisine at Ginger, voted one of the best restaurants in Port Elizabeth; it is definitely a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing