We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
131
198
138
40
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
198
138
40
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsginger restaurantveranda restaurantacross the roadcomfortable hotelno liftcalamarimain restaurantentertainment complexbuffet dinnerthe ground floorreception staffbusiness triplovely roomboardwalk casinoroom was largeport elizabethstayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

This is a comfortable, traditional hotel just across a busy road from a lovely stretch of beach and right next to a major casino and entertainment complex. There is a pleasant pool area and an attractive garden. The staff were generally very helpful. There was a mix-up over our early breakfast arrangements, but the staff did try to make things right. We had dinner in the buffet restaurant, which was good. Again, there was a bit of confusion as we had not booked, but this was quickly resolved. The hotel is only about ten minutes from the airport, making it a very convenient stopover.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Greetings from The Beach Family,

Thank you for your valued review and insight into your stay here with us.

Wishing you safe travels and all the best.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We stayed here for one night at the end of a Garden Route Tour before heading off for a game reserve. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The public rooms were pleasant and we had a nice lunch on the terrace while waiting for our room to be ready.

The room was a bit disappointing, very tired. We were woken between 5 - 6 am by extremely loud banging/rattling coming from the corner of our room, we couldn't work out what it was. Totally impossible to get back to sleep as the noise would stop, then start up again a few seconds later.

We booked a table in the restaurant based on the wonderful reviews Ginger received. This, however, was really disappointing. There were 7 of us, and we opted for the tasting menu. This was a mistake, it was not a tasting menu as such, but a 3 course set meal, with two choices for each course, a small glass of white wine with the first course and a small glass of red with the main. Followed by an even smaller glass of sweet wine with desert. This meal took three and a half hours!! We waited an incredibly long time between courses, if fact by the time the main course arrived I was just about past wanting to eat. To make matter worse, the three people who ordered the venison couldn't eat it because it was too tough, they could hardly cut it let alone chew it.
So glad we didn't stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank valhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your insight and review. We have launched an investigation into the matters raised and thank you for alerting us as to best allow us to rectify as promptly as possible and elevate our service offerings and guest experience.

Our apologies for the upset, I can assure you that all concerns raised will be dealt with.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Had brunch on the open patio of the hotel. Food tasty. Pleasant place to sit for a drink on the patio or for something to eat. Service good. Nice feel when you walk into the hotel. Pleasant staff. Parking available inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Did not sleep over.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sharronb829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlombardsa, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Warm Greetings from The Beach Hotel,

Thank you for your review and support. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us.

Kind Regards

Jacques Lombard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Hotel as centrally located on the Beach Promenade, close to the Casino. Wharf and beach out front but best to stay within the immediate area as it get a bit rough as you move to the East. WE had dinner at the Hotel Buffet, good selection and reasonably priced. Bar area at the front is nice place to enjoy a drink and relax after a full day. Rooms are standard, clean but not remarkable.

Room Tip: Hotel is located on a busy street, we were in the back so no issue with the noise level.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to supply us with your valuable feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at the Grand Old Lady of Port Elizabeth. Such a comfortable room and bed. Staff smiling and helpful at all times. Beautiful position on beachfront. I recommend this hotel for business or pleasure visits.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at The Beach Hotel. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and thank you again for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews