We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful, Courteous Staff at a New, Convenietly Located Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newington
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newington
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Helpful, Courteous Staff at a New, Convenietly Located Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Conveniently located within easy driving distance of downtown Hartford and its southern suburbs, as well as a wide variety of good restaurants, this brand new facility stands out from its many competitors on the Berlin Turnpike. Rooms are large, clean and mostly comfortable. (The drawbacks, as with so many of the breed, are: pillows that are far too firm and overstuffed, ultra-warm comforters.) Staff is well trained and very helpful..

Room Tip: Road noise is not a problem so ask for a room relatively close to the elevators (and thus in the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    38
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
14
2
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This brand new property is great for business travelers in the Hartford area. I was here for a week and enjoyed my stay tremendously. The rooms were large, bright and clean. The mattress was very comfortable (although some might consider it a tad too firm - but that's what I prefer). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The included morning breakfast was a nice addition. There were not a lot of restaurants within walking distance, but there were quite a few within a short drive. Overall, a great stay at a very nice property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here last weekend for a reunion / birthday party. We had been planning on staying at a friend's house but at the last moment, my husband said he would prefer to stay in a nearby hotel. So we literally walked in without any reservations at all and asked if a room might be available. The front desk staff were exceedingly friendly and not only found a room for us, but a corner room. Having spent the previous two nights at the Affinia Shelburne in NYC, this hotel was by far the more enjoyable. For 1/3 of the price of the Shelburne, we had a room that was twice as large with a newer bed, better pillows and plusher towels. All in all, we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to where our son and daughter-in-law live. We were very pleased with our choice. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The daily breakfast was good especially the cinnamon rolls. There was a large selection of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee
Level Contributor
220 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The hotel was so so. Clean, friendly staff but strange parties next door in adjacent building. It was the only affordable hotel we could find in the area during the month of July.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surferjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newington
5.0 km away
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
Hampton Inn Rocky Hill
#2 of 5 in Rocky Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/Farmington
9.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Hartford South/Glastonbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Courtyard Hartford Farmington
7.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
4.4 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Rocky Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newington
Address: 2553 Berlin Tpke, Newington, CT 06111-4109
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Newington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Newington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,593 - ₹ 9,883
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Newington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newington Hotel Newington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing