We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Room I have seen in any property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Room I have seen in any property”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had a very bad experince in Red Roof Inn Mystic CT. First of all when I reached my reservation was not showing in their file. I had a valid reservation and I confirmed after completing reservation. Still I had to struggle to get a room there . After struggling for an hour I got a pathetic room which was full of bad smell and AC was not working. After requesting several times to change the room we were shown a room which was even worse, in which AC was thowing very bad smell. We had to continue in existing room with bad smell and AC not working. This hotel is not at all suitable if you are with family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pankaj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    111
    74
    26
    34
See reviews for
93
117
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This Red Roof Inn is a bit on the shabby side, but the staff are pleasant and the price can't be beat--especially on Memorial Day weekend. While the rooms could use an update, ours was clean and comfortable, and we had fresh towels and toiletries each day without having to ask (and they didn't mind cleaning around our pet cages). The location of the hotel is great(though they could use more signage at the hotel entrance) easy on and off the highway and less than fifteen minutes to the local attractions. My friend and our pets certainly feel comfortable staying here again the next time we visit the area.

Room Tip: There are "deluxe" double and "superior" king rooms that have fridges for an add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Branwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed in the Red Roof during a recent family weekend getaway to Mystic aquarium and seaport. For the price you can't find a better location with its proximity of all the attractions. Its very close to the casinos, Mystic aquarium and seaport. Lots of stores nearby as well as a great beach with boardwalk. Easy on/off route I-95.
We were pleasantly surprised to find a very clean and comfortable room. Clean sheets, towels, coffee maker, microwave and fridge in room are some of the amenities. Comfortable beds, coffee/tea in the room, very pleasant staff, easy check in. I mean what else can you ask for?! and for the price you can't go wrong. Go 5 miles closer to the attractions and you would pay 3 times or more for similar room.

Overall, a very comfortable and pleasant stay. Would definitely go back to this property.

Room Tip: Go for the premium rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed in this Red Roof Inn during a recent business trip at the Mohegan Sun. The rooms have no amenities at all anywhere ( no iron, no hair dryer, no laundry bags, no on site laundry, no microwave in rooms or in lobby area to heat up food or coffee or anything that requires re heating). The management when asked if they had a microwave on site said the hotel was sold out and any rooms that might have a hairdryer or iron are occupied.
Also, they offer cheap rates and when I stayed here they had a Coast Guard Academy occupying the majority of the rooms and were noisy and left beer cans and pizza boxes all over the parking lot. I was here on a business trip and had to get up early and complained to management who did nothing and didn't offer to refund my money or offer a free night stay.
There are better motels in the area for the budget conscious traveler who offer better service and on site amenities where you can get a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: ask for amenities before hand if you are going to waste your money here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitry Z, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

I apologize your stay was less than perfect. All our rooms have iron and ironing board , hair dryers and coffee makers. There may not have been a microwave and microfridge in your room because only our Superior King rooms have microwaves and microfridges. You are correct that we do not have a microwave in our lobby area. We do have a microwave in our employee break room we could have accommodated if our guest asks. Again, I apologize your stay was not as comfortable as you could have hoped. Please do check out our brand website for the rooms that feature the amenities you are looking for. As far the Coast Guard Academy guests being noisy and littering, we take this behavior very seriously. We have occasional noise disturbances and do our best to prevent these disturbances from disrupting our guests. Regardless if on business or pleasure, all guest stays are important. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Please contact me directly at the hotel so I may be able to arrange a better stay with us next time.
Thank you.

Dmitry Zilbershtyn, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New London hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Not the best, but tolerable if need be..

Semi-affordable accommodations in a small city where your options are very limited.

I slept okay. Coffee and local phone calls were free, but nothing else.

Customer service was annoying. Clerk at the front desk stood there and chatted on the phone with her boyfriend/girlfriend/significant other for 10 minutes while I stood there trying to check in.

Lady --- deal with your issues at home. It's not really acceptable.

Also, people were there "partying" all weekend --- hookers, drugs, drinking binges, people arguing and fighting, etc.. (So, it felt kinda trashy)..

If Management cares --- they should clean that stuff up. Fortunately, I had no kids with me.

If you bite the bullet and stay here:

The SEAT bus line is a block away on the corner of Bayonet Street and Hawthorne Drive, if public transit is needed. There's a Chinese restaurant and a convenience store on that corner too.

New London Shopping Center is one block away across the bridge over I-95, if you need sundries, groceries, or shopping for clothing (at Burlington).

Gridlock Grille or Goldy's (or whatever they're calling it these days) is another block away next to the shopping center if you want another restaurant.

All are within walking distance.

Rooms were acceptable --- although rough around the edges. Furniture was worn, towels were well-used.

No bedbugs or roaches were felt or seen.

With all the B.S. going on here all weekend --- keep your doors locked in this place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sanfranciscan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dmitry Z, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for contacting us via TRIP ADVISOR about concerns you had about your stay in August 2011. I want to take the time to personally address the concerns you had about your visit in the New London area.

I certainly don't want your stay to be tolerable. I have recently taken over as General Manager of this location in September so I apologize for any poor experience you had during the late summer last year.

Almost all the original staff members in August are no longer working at this location. I trust you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit the changes that have been made at this location. We feel that our location offers our guest a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

On Trip Advisor we can not quote our rates but I would suggest logging on to our brand website of redroof.com for any special promotions or offers that might be available.

There are many different promotions running at different times. Also based on any affiliations with different groups additional discounts are offered as well. I do want to address your concerns about the ammenities in the room.

All our rooms do offer at no charge to our guest free w-ifi service in addition to the coffee and local calls you mentioned. All our rooms do offer at no charge to our guest free long distance calls. This is a brand standard at all Red Roof Inns across the country.

I wish there was more details about the poor customer service issues you experienced. As mentioned almost my employees are new since August (your stay period).

As far as the front desk, none of the past employeesare with me. With this said, I apologize for any lack of service delivered to you. I take customer service to heart and my staff understands and delivers exceptional service from the housekeeping team member to the front desk member.

I will not tolerate any non work related issues that take place at this location as we are here at this location to serve our guests and there is a time and place for employees to handle their personal issues. Concerning the guest partying at the hotel.
This is also not acceptable behavior if it's done in a manner that disturbs other guests. This hotel does not tolerate any illegal activities and if such activities are made know to the management team,
I assure you we will address this immediately for the safety of all our valued guests. and Not the best, but tolerable if need be. Public transporation in the city of New London is not as readily available than perhaps from your hometown of San Francisco, CA.

I've traveled to San Francisco before and it is a great city for public transportation. Most needs of travelers are very convienent. Our city does have many wonderful things to offer. I hope this email finds you well and on behalf of my team members
I hope you will find another opportunity to visit our great city in the near future. Should you need any information on attractions and restaurants, my front desk team and myself are ready to be of service to you in the near future.



Regards,



Dmitry Zilbershtyn, GM

Red Roof Inn

New London, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New London
0.2 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn New London - Mystic Area
13.8 km away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
4.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
4.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London

Property: Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Address: 707 Colman Street, I-95 at Frontage Road, Exit 82-A/83, New London, CT 06320-2605
Region: United States > Connecticut > New London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in New London
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,287 - ₹ 9,988
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London Hotel New London
Red Roof Inn New London
New London Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing