We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay was OK, not Great.”
Review of Days Inn New Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn New Haven
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
South Central PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay was OK, not Great.”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

At the arrival we thought I was going to have a problem. Although we had made reservations on the internet, the hotel didn't recieve it. We provided our printed documentation and the desk staff was able to provide us a room, even asking if we were a member of AAA or AARP so he could provide additional savings. In the end, our stay cost less that the online reservation.

The rooms were fairly clean, but not spotless. Bathroom was clean and small. The shower was very good. The room accomidations were basic. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. We did not use the high speed internet service because the use a very generic signin process. We did not use the breakfast service either.

House keeping was a bit of a problem. On the second morning, as we were leavingfor the days activities, the house keeping staff as if we wanted "roomservice" and we indicated yes. when we returned late that evening, our room had not been touched. the next day we left and did not see the housekeepers. Again when we returned, our room was not touched. The desk staff was able to provide fresh towels for us and we left the next moring.

I don't think that this situation was the result of laziness or inattention, (the house keeping staff worked at least 12-14 hours on the days we stayed there) rather I suspect that there was a language barrier involved in this situation. Having said that, if you are working in a country, you MUST be able to understand the needs of your customers in that country.

Make no mistake this IS an economy motel! at $64 per night, We did not expect more and you shouldn't either. I noted that other reviewers noted bed bugs and unclean rooms. We had none of those problems. If you stay here, you need a car!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rminnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    57
    73
    51
    73
See reviews for
108
70
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
providence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The room looked good enough for the price but when we went to bed we found a bug on the pillow and little bugs at the foot of the bed. We called to complain and the guy acted like he didn't know what it was. He gave us the next room over which this time we did not even try to get into bed. We checked the sheets and sure enough we found more bed bugs. Completely ruined the night because we were not going to sleep there and get bitten by them, so they refunded our money and we left at 2am.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyblu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dinewhaven, owner at Days Inn New Haven, responded to this review, 28 October 2009
Dear Babyblu2, Thank you for your feedback on the Days Inn New Haven. I would like to appologize for the unpleasent stay at our hotel. We have been dealing with the issue, and its not an easy task. We have fumigated every room and have changed the beddings in all infected rooms. Thus far, the issue has been dealt with. Also, we set up a contract with Terminex, who make bi-weekly visits to control and make the property pest free as before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Haven hotels

East Providence
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I checked into room 228 very early in the morning. I was away from the room all day at a friends event for which i was traveling for in the first place. When i returned to the room at about 11:00 pm, my boyfriend and i had planned on getting great sleep after a long day, and also before a long drive back home the next morning. I jumped in the shower and when i went to lay in bed i noticed a HUGE bed bug crawling around my sleeping boyfriends head!!. I woke him up instantly, and once he killed it, blood just sprayed all over the pillow case. He immediately called the front desk FURIOUS. They soon came up with keys to another room right next door. We went into the next room and checked the beds only to find little bed bugs crawling all over the matress, and another HUGE one sitting on this pillow as well. We immediately packed our belongings and headed downstairs VERY upset. When we asked the clerk if they experienced a problem before with this, He said NO. Clearly that was a lie from all these other reviews here! At that point we demanded a refund and checked out at 12am and went else where. This place is disgusting and they need to get professionals in there to fix this problem, and new matresses and carpets would also be nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvhottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Checked into room 232 late, probably around 11:30 pm. Looked forward to getting a good nights sleep before a drive, checked out at 5am. Got no sleep because for those few hours i became the 'meal' for a mattress full of bedbugs. thought i was allergic to the soap or maybe the detergent they used to clean the sheets, but by 4am i knew it wasn't just kinda itching - when i turned on the light you could see the bedding was alive!
disgusting! i got some pictures of some of them, but by the time i thought to use the camera most of them had grabbed cover. got some pics of the bites as well.
i'll take this up with management.
the sense that i get from the internet is that if these things get into your house it will take $thousands of dollars of professional extermination to eradicate the problem

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gqsmoove66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

If you are planning to stay at Days Inn, make sure you don\t get room number 224. I was badly bitten by bugs or fleas after our night there. Have never experienced any more intense terrible and annoying insect bites in my life! Scares will be there for several weeks.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Haven hotels
4.8 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
5.9 km away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
413 reviews
4.9 km away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
4.8 km away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
580 reviews
4.9 km away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn New Haven? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn New Haven

Property: Days Inn New Haven
Address: 270 Foxon Blvd, New Haven, CT 06513-2324
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,941 - ₹ 8,278
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn New Haven Hotel New Haven
New Haven Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing