We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, moderately priced hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed here for one night last weekend. Was very satisfied overall. Room was quite large and fit three comfortably. Had a mini fridge and microwave. Beds were extremely comfortable. Very quiet for a Saturday night. Great "continental" breakfast included - veggie/cheese omelets, sausage, biscuits and gravy, fruit variety, pancake machine, nice variety of breads and bagels. Pool is quite small but seemed to be enjoyed by the kids.

One critique - room carpets quite old and worn - need to be replaced.

Room Tip: Only about 15 minutes from Foxwoods casino
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mortcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

384 - 388 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We reserved five rooms for our son's wedding weekend. The bride's family and other family members reserved several other rooms as well. All of our rooms were reserved well in advance. (We had stayed in the hotel previously when meeting with restaurant owners and scouting other venues. We were surprised to find only one person working on the desk at that time.) On the wedding weekend, we were given our room a little early, as we had requested. However, the rest of our wedding party were kept waiting on the lobby all afternoon, well past check-in time, and finally had to prepare for the wedding rehearsal in a borrowed room. They barely made it to the church in time - not the way we wanted to begin such an important weekend. The excuse given was that the staff couldn't get there due to bad weather. Since all of us had driven with ease from at least two hours away, it seemed to be a very lame excuse. We were very surprised to find the front desk unoccupied most of the time, with the phone ringing constantly. We spent lots of time in the lobby, waiting, so we got that picture over and over. When the bride and her makeup person and photographer met in her suite, the lighting proved to be inadequate, because two of the three bulbs in the ceiling fixture were burned out. We called down and asked for a maintenance person to replace the bulbs. The tiny front desk girl showed up with a ladder that was too short for her to reach the ceiling. When she found a taller ladder, she managed to pull the entire fixture off the ceiling, decide that there was no way she could open the globe to change the bulbs, and so left it hanging from the wires and told us to be careful. It didn't take long for the fixture to burst out of the wire nuts and fall to the floor and break. When we called to let her know, she sighed that there was no one available to do maintenance. She seemed so harried and stressed, because she didn't seem to have anyone to help her. She had no spare lamps to loan us. We decided, after asking her permission, to bring a lamp from another room. When were pulling the plug, the outlet nearly popped out of the wall.
We understand that the wedding was taking place at the end of a school vacation week, which made for a very busy time and a fully booked facility. One presumes that the hotel administrators would be aware of that as well and would have planned accordingly.
To their credit the breakfast bar was kept supplied and the hours were extended somewhat to accommodate the large crowd. The breakfast wasn't bad, but the regular tea tasted like floor sweepings.
Bedding was comfortable and room cleanliness were as expected. We would hope that the HIE people would take a close look at their staffing issues, so that others need not face this sort of problem.
We do recommend The Boathouse restaurant next door. The food is very good and the bar has live music on weekends. We also enjoyed The Riverwalk Restaurant on Holmes Street and the lovely Latitude 41 in the Seaport area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny_mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mystic, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

ny_mainer,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance. Thank you

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

great hot tub and pool. people are great,and the beds are like sleepping on air.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eugmat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

nice place....right near everything in mystic... good place to crash but a lot more options in mystic

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 807bkny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We had a group of 7 (in 2 rooms) stay here for 2 nights on the 30th and 31st. The rooms were huge and we had plenty of space, even with 4 people to a room. The hotel is about a 20 minute drive to Foxwoods, where we spent most of our time. The male front desk worker (didnt catch his name) was very helpful! We had dinner at the restuarant right next door which was decent and breakfast at the hotel. The free breakfast wasnt that good and a lot of the items were gone by 9am. Overall not bad, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jtp05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.4 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
900 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,131 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
2.1 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
738 reviews
0.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 13 in Mystic
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Address: 6 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: ₹ 6,840 - ₹ 19,803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing