We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winvian
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Torrington)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
134
39
23
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
39
23
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessteam showerthe main housecharter oakcouples massageheated floorsfarm to tabletree housecheese platetaste and presentationstar propertyminute couplestasting menulitchfield hillsrabbitanniversary stayjet tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Winvian is really beautiful and the main lodge/ house is very very warm and cozy. We didnt do the spa but the facilities looked amazing. The grounds are beautiful. The food is fantastic! We stayed in Secret Society which was nice. The themed cottages are a bit eccentric but they work and we really enjoyed our time. I think its overpriced but it's the NE and it seems everything is. Definitely do a package if they offer one - we didn't and ended up paying more than we would have if we'd done the package. We would go again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Em-Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This place is amazing set on a huge piece of property consisting of beautiful cottages with themes. Mine is the Yankee CT. It should be called King Arthur. The bed is a king 4 poster with to huge wingback chairs in front of the fireplace. The bathroom has a double sink with a huge jacuzzi tub and BIGGER shower with double headed rainshower and steamshower. It is the most beautiful property I've stayed at, and I've stayed at alot in Europe and the US. The dollar stay is high and if you can afford it is worth it. The on site restaurant is at the highest standard of elegant dining and the spa is all you dream of in a spa. Its a great place for romance, celebrations of your romance or like me my birthday. I had this cottage all to myself and I'm giving this place the all star stay and experience. Yes dinner is not quick its an experience not a fast food joint. Ignore all reviews and give it one yourself, mine is thumbs up! Bello bello bello

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We recently spent an overnight here to celebrate our anniversary. While not inexpensive, Winvian is a very unique experience and perfect for a special occasion.
We loved our cottage, Connecticut Yankee, and enjoyed sitting in the highbacked armchairs in front of the fire with a pre-dinner glass of wine. A comfortable bed with sheets as soft as silk and oversized Stonehenge-like boulders in the bathroom, huge double shower too, added to the ambiance and uniqueness. Each of the cottages are different, so take the time to look at the website or call to figure out the best fit.
Dinner was outstanding - wow! The setting was lovely (one of the rooms in the original farmhouse), beautiful presentation with moderate portions (thank you! when will restaurants learn that it is not appetizing to be served a plate of food enough for four - what a waste), the entree lamb melted in our mouths, wait staff were professional, attentive but not hovering. Winvian should feel deservedly proud of their cuisine.
If available, try to see some of the other cottages - for a return visit! "Camping" looked great.
All in all a very memorable experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovetrvlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Better bring a lot of patience...after calling, myself to Confirm table #12 by the Fireplace...I was taken to another table in another room....'guess' it made sense since the ONLY OTHER 6 CUSTOMERS had reserved a table next to ours...The staff needs to speak some English....
Would NOT go back....INSTEAD try "The Woodward House" in Bethelem....

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank summer0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I will keep this simple: Our family enjoyed the most unforgettable evening at the Winvian tonight. The entire staff made it an unforgettable evening and the best dinner we have ever had. Everything was just perfect from the drinks by the fire to the dinner and desert. Again, It is just perfect - the shelf’s attention to detail was magnificent and the personal touch from each individual person was unparalleled. THANK YOU WINVIAN!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews