We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cottage and Village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Prospect Cottage

View from the Parish Church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor Cottage Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor
Cottage Exterior
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En-suite
En-suite
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Bathroom
Church from the Square
Bell Inn from the Square
View from Ground Floor Window
High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chittlehampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark B
2 reviews
“Superb Cottage and Village”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed over the Easter weekend in April of 2015, the cottage was better than we could have expected. Brilliantly finished and well stocked with utensils, equipment e.c.t. Can quite easily sleep four and could squeeze six with blow up beds e.c.t.
The village is lovely, we took a picnic up to he top back of the Church and looked over the village in the sun, strongly advisable! The local pub shows the sport, serves lovely good value food and has a cracking beer garden area.
The village is perfectly situated to go and visit the larger towns and attractions in the Devon area, nothing more than a 40 minute drive away.
We would highly recommend the cottage and are looking forward to going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Village & Setting
Liked least: Coming Home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian A
Olveston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and relaxing cottage; a jewel in a beautiful part of North Devon”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is a special way to spend a week or so relaxing in comfort in North Devon and easily accessible to so many other lovely locations. The cottage is truly charming, immaculately presented and very well maintained with all creature comforts catered for. Being in the centre of Chittlehampton, it is close to the impressive church, a small general stores and importantly, the highly rated local pub. Whether you like walking or visiting the coast or nearby towns, this will satisfy your holiday needs. This has to be a five star rating and we will certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming feel of the cottage and village
Liked least: Wish we had stayed longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cosy, warm and inviting cottage”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

myself and my partner stayed in this lovely little cottage for 4 days last week. The cottage is extremely well kept, very clean and warm throughout. the lounge/dinning area is very open and a relaxing space if you want time to just chill. The village itself is very pretty, local pub is great for very yummy food and lots of choice of local ciders and beers. Only a 20 minute drive from Barnstaple which has lots of lovely shops and a big tesco for food. Also train station is only 5 mintue drive, on our stay we went to Exeter which took an hour. Overall a really great place to stay and we will absolutely be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness and cleaness of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate_JG
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful, well-equipped and very comfortable”
Reviewed 30 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Just returned from a wonderful week at Prospect Cottage. It is spotlessly clean, beautifully presented and brilliantly located. I can't think of anything that was missing, from good knives (trust me - my partner travels with his own to cottages, and he was happy enough with these to leave his in the car!) through to comfortable chairs and sofa (a must for a cottage in Devon in January), there is nothing that I needed that I didn't find. Location is great - overlooks the square, pub with great food (The Bell) within a moments walk, really handy for Exmoor and some lovely local walking. Brilliant to have LONG HDMI cable to connect laptop to the TV without messing about. Good radio, fast broadband. Definitely a great place for a winter break and I look forward to going back to try it out in the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The level of attention to detail and the comfort factor.
Liked least: I did find that we had to turn off the heating...it was far more efficient than often found in cottages of this age!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing