We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character in Connecticut”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Kent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Kent. It's a lovely area and the town is full of character. The Inn is just what you would expect; a charming clapboard house in a large garden. Peter Starbuck is a delightful host and we found the accommodation spacious, comfortable and clean. There are very good restaurants in town. 'Smoked' is new and serves great food. 'The Fife and Drum' is full of New England charm; busy with pretty good food.

We would have preferred some choice at breakfast, with some simple uncooked alternatives.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room in the very nice extension is large and airy - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nige56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

Afternoon tea is tea from a pot, small sandwiches followed by homemade cakes and scones, not green tea from a thermos and shop bought cookies.
The living room felt like a museum and although it was a cold rainy day the fire was not lit, so we did not linger in there.
Our room at the back of the house was a good size but the radiator (cold) was full of dust.
The bathroom was tiny with just a shower and toilet and was grubby with a stained shower curtain. The hand basin was in the bedroom so no privacy and had no shelf space for washbags etc.
We could hear conversation and TV noise from the next room.
Breakfast was ok but no choice.
Peter didn't seem to be a natural host and his appearance from the kitchen in the morning in grubby trousers and unshaven was poor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at the Starbuck Inn from 18 July to 3 August 2011. This was our first visit to New England and the Starbuck Inn was everything and more that we thought it would be. The location is excellent and there are so many places to visit, things to do and activities in the locale. Breakfasts are a real speciality of the house. The rooms are clean, well decorated, spacious and extremely comfortable. There is an ‘en suite’ in all rooms and high quality linen is used throughout. A high tea is waiting for you at the end of the day which is an absolute delight. The Starbuck Inn ensures that the ‘little things’ which are important to your stay are taken care off.

Peter is an outstanding Inn Keeper and a mine of information on the local area and beyond and offers hospitality to a high standard. Involve him in a conversation and he won’t disappoint and he and Heather (Head of Housekeeping and Peter’s co-star in the Starbuck Inn web site video) have the ability to make you feel completely at home.

We can recommend the Starbuck Inn without a moment’s hesitation. We will return as soon as possible – hopefully next summer. I guess that’s the best recommendation there is.
And if you read this Peter – thanks again. We had a great and memorable holiday.

Tina and Rob, UK

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina_Rob366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

While visiting cousins in the area, I decided to find a space of my own, and couldn't have been more pleased. My accomodations were warm and welcoming - great bed, great shower, and charming decor. Although all the other guests were couples, I felt right at home, and all the other guests were as pleased as I was with the Starbuck Inn. Peter, the owner of the place, was perfect - there to answer any and all questions, but also happy to leave us to ourselves. I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here for one night and didn't want to leave! A very comfortable, homely Inn in beautiful setting. Great views from a well proportioned bedroom, with comfortable bed. Peter is a great host and made us very welcome. His breakfast alone is worth the visit, and as others have said, there is a nice area to relax in the afternoons. There's a large sculpture of an elephant by a local artist in the garden with is a monument to the host's passion for local produce, arts and culture.

The Inn is in the very pretty town of Kent, with lots of amenities - but you can't pass Belgique chocolatier, which is full of tasty things!

I'd definitely return to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
17.3 km away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
98 reviews
21.2 km away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
17.7 km away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
64 reviews
16.4 km away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
85 reviews
9.4 km away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 88 N Main St, Kent, CT 06757-1539
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kent
Hotel Class:3 star — Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Starbuck Inn b&b
Starbuck Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing