We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, good service and decent food”
Review of Trumbull Kitchen

Trumbull Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Trumbull Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 451 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 35 - US$ 50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pearl Street
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch on a weekday with my daughter who is a college student. The restaurant was half full when we arrived, and the majority of the customers looked like working people in the area. We got a table right away. I like the inside modern upscale deco very much. Our waitress was very friendly. We ordered a burger and a salad with some kind of fish. Food was good but the portions were very small. We had to order additional fries to fill us up. You can get a stamp for discount of parking at the parking garage next door. Unfortunately we forgot to do that.

1  Thank Y W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Trumbull Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Twitter,

Thank you for the great review and your feedback. We hope you join us again soon

Thanks,
David Mascolo
Trumbull Kitchen
dmascolo@trumbullkitchen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2018

Trumbull Kitchen is a wonderful choice for a great dinner where you dont have to get crazy dressed up! I had a cider sangria to start and it was a delicious, unique drink. We had a calamari appetizer that was tasty with crispy tender calamari. My husband had the pad thai and loved it while I cannot pass up short ribs and they did not disappoint. On the recommendation of our waiter-who was very good and always kept the water glass full-we had this carrot cake waffle dessert with ice cream. I was hesitant at first but this was very creative and extremely tasty choice. Really happy with it. Hope to go back to Trumbull Kitchen soon after we try a few others in the neighborhood! This is definitely worth more than one visit.

1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Trumbull Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Diane,

Thank you for the great review. It's always nice to hear that our guests have a memorable experience when they are here. I can't wait to share with the staff we can't wait for your return.

thanks again,
David Mascolo
Trumbull Kitchen
dmascolo@trumbullkitchen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

My adult daughter and I stopped in late on a Friday evening as part of our annual dad-daughter overnight excursion. This year's events included a nice Friday night dinner and a UConn basketball game the next afternoon.

Service was outstanding. The hostess offer us the best table in the restaurant - a high-top banquette at the window overlooking the street. Service was both professional and personal.

We enjoyed a nicely-priced bottle of Pinot Noir. We went the Tapas route, and shared four appetizers, one dessert, and coffee for me. Everything was absolutely delicious. The waitress referred to it all as "global comfort food".

An apt description indeed. Perfection! Recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SkyKingBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Trumbull Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi Skyking,

Just wanted to thank you for the great review. We our glad to hear that you had such a great time. We can't wait for your return!!

Thanks,
David Mascolo
Trumbull Kitchen
dmascolo@trumbullkitchen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

A popular restaurant in the middle of downtown. Close to the XL Center, Hartford Stage and Theaterworks. Limited choices on the menu, but a good number of choices. Also, a selection of stone pies. I had Hilda's meatloaf, which was quite tasty; and my friend had the hanger steak. Vibrant atmosphere. Good and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Trumbull Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Fantastic Guest,

Just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you back soon

Thanks,
David Mascolo
Trumbull Kitchen
dmascolo@trumbullkitchen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

One of the few places around that really handles cocktails, beer, and wine (all 3) well. I've been here multiple times and have enjoyed the food every time.

1  Thank treznor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M, General Manager at Trumbull Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Hi Treznor,

Thank you for the great review. Glad to hear we are firing on all clyinders. We hope you join us again soon

Thanks,
David Mascolo
Trumbull Kitchen
dmascolo@trumbullkitchen.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trumbull Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Trumbull Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing