We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy, interesting spot near the highway”

The Kitchen at Billings Forge
Ranked #42 of 487 Restaurants in Hartford
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I was passing through Hartford on a mini road trip and we decided to stop in Hartford. The Kitchen had great reviews and was near to the highway which made it the most convenient place to stop.

I had the avocado toast and a lavender lemonade- both were very good. My friends had salmon and quiche and everyone was happy with everything they ordered. The staff was also really kind and conversational (which isn't something we're used to coming from the super-rushed city of Boston!)

This place also has a cool story behind it and finding a place with good food that supports the local community was a double win!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katied1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

A few years ago I stopped on the way to work for a breakfast sandwich, then it became a regular thing. There's a nice choice of quality breads and ingredients that build a great clean flavor.
So, when I go back to Hartford I always get back here at least once or twice during a 5 day stay.
I think the sandwiches are still $4.
The Kitchen is connected to The Firebox and is a sort of community training ground for it's employees.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Kparfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Seating is tight but the food is pretty good. Daily special that would be suitable for most taste buds. Lost of fresh herbs and tomatoes grown on sight. Perfect for spring and summer.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I went here all the time when I was an intern at the CT department of Agriculture and I loved every minute of it. The lavender lemonade is the bomb and I love the kale and white bean salad...so good. It's a healthy place with options for all. If you haven't been here...then you my friend are missing out.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank mbruni611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016

There are not a lot of options for lunch in this area, but this is clearly the best. The prices are a little higher, but the quality of the food makes up for that. I had the curried chicken salad sandwich, and I enjoyed it very much.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank TomM1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen at Billings Forge also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen at Billings Forge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing