We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester
Level Contributor
313 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Almost a very nice hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This Marriott has the potential to be a really good hotel. The lobby is nice, the location is convenient to the convention center, and the meeting rooms are quite nice. Front desk was fairly attentive at check-in in spite of the lines of people waiting.

My first big disappointment was trying to get a cup of coffee after my long drive to get there. I was thrilled to see a Starbucks right in the lobby, but stunned when the two employees looked me right in the eye at 4:20 PM and told me they were closed. Other folks in our conference told me this is typical of Hartford, they roll-up the sidewalks. The bar didn't have coffee, and the restaurant didn't open until 5 PM. Kudos to the restaurant, they made a fresh pot of coffee and served it to me anyway.

My bigger disappointment was the sleep quality: poor. Room temperature was too hot, the hallways echoed every door and noise, and the outside echoed the same. I could not put the fan on constant to drown-out the noise, so slept fitfully most of the night. Woke up with a sore throat from the bad HVAC system.

Dinner at the restaurant later was mixed result. The service was excellent, but the food was awful. I ordered the lamb shank which was actually a brown fatty blob.

This hotel has the facility to be great, but they have some steps to take.

Room Tip: Stay on the highest floor you can get, and turn your fan on to high speed, not auto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAMan804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    231
    71
    16
    13
See reviews for
94
111
29
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Having stayed at many Hartford area hotels throughout my travels, I've developed a pretty balanced way of judging a hotel. It was clean, somewhat affordable (it is right in the center of the capital), and the service was what you would expect from Marriott. Agree bathroom was on the small side.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter what direction your facing, your staring at the various highways that intersect d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel looked really impressive from the outside and lobby, but the room was disappointing. Two double beds that weren't very comfortable, dated looking carpeting, scratched furniture, and a bird's eye view of the highway. Still, the location is convenient with easy access to the convention center and there aren't many other hotels around to choose from in that area of town.

Room Tip: Get one on a high floor that doesn't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I thought it was fine for a convenient place to stay, but pricey for the size of the room. I thought the room was clean, but SMALL - tiny bathroom. No refrigerator in the room. Check in and out were easy, staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntbip811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margery R, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for providing your comments on our property. We appreciate all of your feedback and are very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, the check in and out to be easy, and the rooms clean. We hope that you will come back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I frequently stay at the Hartford Marriott for business. While it's always reliable, my last visit was a step up. The staff was smiling, helpful, saying hello. The location is great because there are many resturants locally within walking distance and the town is sleepy after hours and allows for a nice walk. Be sure to ask the front desk for directions, info on the trolley and resturant suggestions. That being said, I had a great dinner at Vivo so don't worry if you don't want to leave this cozy hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catzmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.8 km away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.6 km away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.7 km away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
3.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Region: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,983 - ₹ 27,356
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing