We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all that happy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Groton Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Groton Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not all that happy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

The decor in the lobby and restaurant with the bevel glass panels was very pretty. After that it was all downhill. No elevator to assist with the suitcases even though it was only two floors; an elevator would of been very appreciated. Then there was the odor that smelled like a barn or horse stable: when it was mentioned to the desk clerk, she said she would have housekeeping check it. The room was small and uncomfortable, no chair to sit in and relax other than the dinette chairs. Housekeeping was very loud when cleaning the room next door despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door. We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjchicca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
We appreciate feedback so we can improve on guest service. We do not have an elevator however we have staff ready and able to assist you with any luggage or items you may need to get to your room. I have suggested the front desk ask if you need help with any luggage to let guests know that is available to you. We would be happy to change your floor and room location as needed as well. I have used your comment - where the housekeeping staff was disturbing and loud when you had a DND on your door.. We have retrained them on being quiet as much as possible around a DND area. Thank you for letting us know about these issues.;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    101
    59
    34
    25
See reviews for
73
116
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norwalk, ct
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Groton Inn & Suites this past Father's Day weekend. I was pleasantly surprised when pulling into the parking lot. It was nice landscaped and clean. Upon entering, I was greeted by a friendly front desk person. She provided us with all the info we needed for restaurant suggestions - including directions. We got 2 free breakfast coupons - even though we booked a deeply discounted rate on Priceline. The rooms are a bit dated but very clean.
If they would invest in upgrading the soft goods and carpeting the hotel would be a 3 or 3.5 star easily and command higher rates. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay and breakfast at this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vvwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
We appreciate your review and assessment of the property and the casegoods and amenities we provide. I hope to see you again and know we try daily to provide the service and cleanliness which makes you want to come back again. Thank you for taking time to write
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
globeseeker007
Level Contributor
1,099 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The rooms here are quite large and divided into two sections. However, I don't know why the hotel just didn't put a full wall between the bedroom and sitting area in the rooms. The wall has a large rectangular space cut out of it with a place where one can sit things much like a bar area in someone's home. Upon checking in, the desk clerk gives you two coupons which are used for breakfast the following morning. The breakfast is quite good and one gets his choice of several items off the menu. These include eggs, toast, & bacon, pancakes, french toast, etc. We had dinner there one night and I wouldn't recommend it as it wasn't very good, especially for the price. The breakfast was much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globeseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for your review and input. Your question on the half wall, is a design from the previous hotel structure and the half wall was actually the window when you use to drive up to your room and park at the door, before we expanded the hotel making all the regular rooms a two room suite. I read your comments on the dinner and know we have dinner and sandwich plates all day ranging from $8-22 so not sure what you had priced not to your liking. Please let us know when you have a meal you feel is not good and we are happy to assist you with an alternate selection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I wanted to take our 6 year old girl and 4 year old boy away for a long weekend in Mystic but we couldn't afford a huge hotel bill. We searched quite a bit on line and after carefully considering the reviews on Groton Inn decided to give it a try.

Before even getting there we were impressed by the customer service. We wanted to get tickets for Day Out with Thomas in Essex and although package deals are really for the summer months, the sales manager, Nancie, went out of her way to put together a custom package for us. The staff even left train related goodie bags in the room for our kids.

The 2 bedroom apartment was very spacious and my kids got a kick out of heading over to our separate building. The furnishings are definitely old and the hallway carpet was in need of a deep cleaning or change but everything functioned well and the beds were so comfortable.

I would agree with other reviews stating there is a bad smell in the front lobby. We were very happy to be staying in the separate building and we blew past the area to go to the yummy breakfast in the restaurant. It seemed like the cigarette smell from the smoking section right outside the front door was making its way inside.

All in all it was a surprise what a Pleasant and economical weekend we had.

Room Tip: Stay in the separate building and on the first floor because there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for taking time to write. We love to put together family packages. We want your experience to be the best it can be and -great value for the activities you have planned. We can appreciate the limited time families have together so glad it was what you wanted. Thanks again for your patience with the train packaging.......NK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I went alone for a conference. The price and the location was perfect. Let me give the pros and cons... the cons knocked it down from a four but if the management is reading please fix these simple things and I promise you will have a four rated hotel.

(BTW room 101 has no water pressure and the tub is clogged building water up to your ankles)

Pros:
Friendly Staff
Full Free Breakfast
Awesome Price
Great location to Mystic
Cleaning staff great
Flat Screen TV with tons of cable options

Cons:
Awful smell at the front door and lobby
Carpet in sink area of the room is questionable
Outdated Sheets and Window curtains (just switch to a solid color)
Thin walls (I heard EVERYTHING the couple next door was doing all night and morning)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aylaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancieK, General Manager at Groton Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for taking time to write about your stay and I am glad you will return someday and enjoy us again in the future. I also appreciate your writing on issues that I will have corrected with maintenance and housekeeping staff immediately. Yes we do read all reviews and use the information to take us from good to great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Olympic Inn
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn - Groton
Hampton Inn - Groton
#3 of 14 in Groton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Groton Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Groton Inn and Suites

Property: Groton Inn and Suites
Address: 99 Gold Star Hwy, Groton, CT 06340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Groton
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,825 - ₹ 11,127
Hotel Class:3 star — Groton Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service hotel with traditional rooms, suites and full apartments. Complimentary full served hot breakfast of choice and free wifi.Lounge and restaurant serving 7 days a week-continously breakfast thru dinner. Weekend lobster specials and early bird dinner specials. Wifi complimentary. Only 5 minutes from Mystic and close to Foxwoods Casino and Mohegan Sun Casino, and U.S. Submarine Base Groton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Groton Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Groton Hotel Groton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing