We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the better super 8”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Groton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Groton
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Waltham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the better super 8”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

came to ct from boston with the wife. we wanted to save some money so we stayed at the super 8 and was quite surprised by what you saw. the room was basic but clean and comfortable. you can tell that housekeeping did a very good job. internet, tv, and a free breakfast for 50 bucks. what more can you expect. found my place from now on.
desk clerk is a new england pats fan.. lets go patriots!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhboston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    125
    162
    86
    111
See reviews for
142
193
63
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed here for one night on my way up to Boston. The front desk attendant was nice, friendly, and helpful. The furniture and fixtures seemed a bit outdated but the room was surprising very clean. They offered a complimentary breakfast so I had some fresh waffles which were not bad. All in all the experience was a good one.

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JDubz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocono Manor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

There are much better places to stay in the area, Out dated and dirty .we asked for non-smoking there was burn holes in the blankets. Left and stayed at the RAMADA.The best hotel for the less money.CLEAN also and no ref raf hanging around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Groton hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Was awful, the clientele was basically people who live there... Literally... No offense to them but myself and another did not feel safe we decided to go to another hotel. Along with paying our nightly fee. Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KaneKash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I booked this hotel after getting tickets to a concert at Mohegan Sun. It was close enough, but I wouldn't advertise as "Super 8-Mohegan Sun" at all - about 20 minutes drive, even with no traffic. The hotel only had a smoking room left when I booked. The clerk at the front desk when we checked in was extremely snotty when I asked if there happened to be any non-smoking rooms available. Ok, no problem. I booked smoking, I'll take smoking.

Our room was on the corner, so it was good sized and quieter than probably some of the other rooms. When we opened the door, we were hit with a wall of cigarette smoke. It was like someone had just smoked an entire pack of cigarettes in there. Since the room was really only for a few hours, we decided to just suck it up (literally). I opened the windows and turned the heat on and the room cleared out. Both of us woke up several times in the night due to the smell of cigarette smoke - it was as if the entire floor of smoking rooms vented into our room.

The room itself was relatively clean. Cigarette burns on everything from the bathroom sink to the carpeting and bed spread. A plus - no evidence of bed bugs whatsoever!

Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning looked promising - all the usual stuff, bagels, juice, cereal, waffle iron, etc. The milk for the cereal was sitting out on the counter, in a glass pitcher uncovered and warm; same for the pre-poured waffle mix. Coffee was terrible, juice machine was empty (even after asking the front desk clerk to check on it, he continued to gossip with his friend until long after that). The place was disgusting: overflowing trash, sticky floors, etc. I'm a health inspector, and if that place was in Massachusetts you can bet it would be shut down.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank griff08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
0.4 km away
Days Inn & Suites Groton Near the Casinos
0.6 km away
Ramada Groton
Ramada Groton
#8 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.6 km away
Red Roof Inn Mystic - New London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 14 in Groton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.4 km away
Groton Inn and Suites
Groton Inn and Suites
#5 of 14 in Groton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.8 km away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 5 in New London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Groton? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Groton

Property: Super 8 Groton
Address: 173 Route 12, I-95 Exit 86, Groton, CT 06340-3432
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Groton
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,232 - ₹ 5,947
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Groton 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Groton
Super Eight Groton
Groton Super 8
Groton Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing