We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Expected Better Service - Poor Value” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Groton
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expected Better Service - Poor Value”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

A family wedding in the area provided for and made arrangements for guests to stay at this property. As one of our party was having a birthday we researched the hotel online and decided to spend an extra night to celebrate and visit the local area. Our stay was very disappointing. What the hotel promises and what it delivers are two different things. For example, we requested extra towels through their "Online Concierge" with a confirmation email and received none even after a phone call after our arrival. To be fair the property was clean and well maintained but very noisy at night as other reviewers have pointed out. The room was clean. The physical amenities were better than average, especially the gym and pool.

Staff, however, left a lot to be desired for this class of hotel and the rates charged. The thought occurs that perhaps the hotel is understaffed for the number of guests the property holds. The many inconveniences pointed out to the staff were met with a sorry, a shrug of the shoulders, and not much in the way of offering any resolution to the inconvenience. Each occurrence taken by itself could be considered insignificant, but when all are added together it made for a very disappointing stay and a poor value for the money spent. Perhaps, the best example of the poor service and attitude is, when preparing to attend the wedding (which was being held offsite) I requested at the front desk change for a $100.00 bill anticipating that I would need smaller bills for tips, etc, for the evening. I was told by front desk staff they don't carry that kind of cash. When I asked the desk person again, not sure I quite understood, I was told there was a bank down the street I could drive to if I wanted change. This from a major hotel with hundreds of rooms that caters to not only hotel guests but other guests visiting for the events in their banquet center, in addition to a restaurant on their property. This example best illustrates the attitude we encountered the entire stay.

There's no point in detailing each inconvenience and poor staff attitude, and there were many. Suffice it to say, many guests find this hotel to be acceptable, we did not. Maybe we caught it on an off weekend, or perhaps staff didn't show up stretching the staff on duty. Based on our experience, and others in our party staying in different rooms, I would not recommend this property. In my opinion, it was a poor value. If you do decide to stay, and they place you next to an elevator lobby and the ice machine, immediately request a different room. The noise level is simply unacceptable. Also be prepared to be nickel and dimed for everything from internet service to water at $4.00 for a small bottle in your room.

Room Tip: Avoid any room next to elevator lobby or ice machine because of excessive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REV028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    299
    119
    56
    29
See reviews for
223
267
22
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The outstanding service at the front desk makes this the place to stay. I especially appreciate Adam's superb service followed by Taylor and Tara.
Well done!

Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed here four nights in June 2012. Unfortunately two of those nights were when weddings were held at the hotel. The guests who attended the weddings and were staying at the hotel returned to their rooms around 1:30 a.m. Noisy, screaming, yelling in the hallways for quite awhile.

The hotel is a great location, very clean and staff is attentive. Used the Red Door Spa for massage and facial. Worth the cost.

Room Tip: If you're here during wedding season, you might request a room away from wedding parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldg4283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

One of the best Marriott-brand properties I've stayed in. It's recently remodeled and has a clean/new feel. Rooms are generously sized and modern. Very convenient to I-95 but not much to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed one night for an anniversary getaway. As soon as we walked in to the lobby, we thought it was quite nice. The ladies at the front desk were very nice and accommodating. We asked for an upgrade because it was our anniversary and we are gold members. Since there were 3 weddings that weekend, there wasn't any available upgrades. But instead they offered us a cheese and fruit platter and bottle of wine. We gladly accepted and within 5 minutes of stepping inside the room, they delivered our complimentary snack (which was plentiful and delicious). The room itself was very pleasing. I haven' t stayed in a category 6 hotel before, but I would imagine it would be what this room was. Clean. Decor very nice. The linens were a nice quality and the bed comfortable. Great size TV. I am a bit picky when it comes to bathrooms. I saw no sign of mold or mildew. I also didn't see any unwanted hair. Bath towels were plentiful as well. I liked that the vanity was granite and the fixtures were quite stylish. I would say the only downside to the bathroom was the soap/ shampoo. I would have expected, in a Cat 6, there be larger soaps and maybe not so much larger size shampoo's, but better brand and scent. I'm thinking maybe a Pantene or better brand would be more appropriate then the Aromatherapy in ginger scent. I did like that the hair dryer was a professional grade. The floor was quiet as well cinsidering there were 3 weddings that weekend. Unfortunately we didn't utilize the spa, but we did have breakfast in the octagon restaurant. It was buffet style. Service was ok, food was good. Overall, it was beautiful and i would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4everadisneylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear 4everadisneylover:
Happy anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us know about your recent stay! I'm thrilled to hear how happy you were with our accommodations, services and amenities! Our Team of Associates is one of our biggest assests, and I am glad to hear you enjoyed the wine, fruit and cheese they sent up in honor of your anniversary! I am truly sorry that our brand of hair care products did not meet your expectations, as it is a brand standard. I will bring your comments and concerns to the brand design team.

I hope you will come back for your anniversary again next year, if not sooner to visit us!

Farouk Rajab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Groton
28.7 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
3.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mystic Groton
6.0 km away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
13.4 km away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
15.1 km away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa

Property: Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Address: 625 North Road (Route 117), Groton, CT 06340
Region: United States > Connecticut > Groton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Groton
#2 Business Hotel in Groton
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,688 - ₹ 22,873
Hotel Class:4 star — Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mystic Hotel Groton
Marriott Groton
Groton Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing