We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Take out is never right.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spicy Green Bean

The Spicy Green Bean
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Glastonbury
Price range: US$ 5 - US$ 10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our creative menu is sure to excite your palate. We pride ourselves on our seasonally changing menu selections we refer to as “Kooky Konkoctions”, or, of course you can always create your own. We cater all types of occasions from elaborate full service special events, weddings, parties, corporate meetings, private dinner, backyard picnics to simple delivery drop-offs and everything in between.The Spicy Green Bean, more than anything else, is about great taste and quality food. Variety comes in a close second. You'll be able to return again and again and have something great and different, every time.Our bakery selections are baked fresh daily so each day the selections vary - Stop in and see what we have or call in advance to place a special order. Each day we usually have a varied selection of fresh baked cookies, cupcakes, brownies, bars, cakes, and homemade ice creams!!
Hebron, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Take out is never right.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

I work at a near buy business. On Fridays we order out as an office (5 people). Whenever there is a change to a menu item like mayo on the side or no tomatoes, it always come out wrong. We like the food, but they just can't get simple orders right. We rarely order from there now just for that reason.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachaelCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
I am sorry to hear about your experience. We have made some changes since this was written and I do hope you will give us another chance. Thanks for taking the time to let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    36
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun & Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

What a fun place to eat - staff is great - very friendly making you feel right at home. Varied menu(dinner menu changes weekly) Had a couple of appetizers (stacked zucchini and a crab slider serviced with the best short rib I ever had) Two were enough for a meal.
Will make this a place to visit again and again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
THanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little different and very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Spicy Green Bean is a wonderful non-chain deli/bistro. Breakfast on the weekends is wonderful and lunch on the weekdays is always good. Lots of sandwich choices, soups, and salads that have a flair.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lattemom444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great things come in small packages.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

SGB continues to be at the top of my all-time favorite list of restaurants. Leave the snobbery at the door & step into a relaxed atmosphere where the attention is on serving excellent food & providing top-notch service from a terrific staff. BYOB just makes SGB perfect, in my book. No corkage fees!! But the food? Heaven on earth. They say you judge a restaurant by the quality of the mundane: bread, salads, the ordinary stuff that some would give short shrift to because they're focused on the fancy sauces or towering presentations. Well, SGB hits on all cylinders. Want the world's best burger? To. Die. For. Good breads on their HUGE sandwich selections? Awesome, because let's face it, lousy bread = lousy sandwich. They serve dinners Thursday-Saturdays and brunch on Sundays. I've been there for their killer lunches, fantastic dinners but sadly, haven't gotten there yet for brunch, which I hear is wonderful. Also, SGB offers catering service & I've attended events where they've done the food. Nothing short of spectacular. So, avoid the Max Dynasty, skip the chains, don't even think of a McD's drive-through & get your hungry self to the Bean. Hire 'em for your next event. You won't be sorry!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Eclectic menu for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have been here for both breakfast and lunch. The only downfall is trying to get a table when it's busy. They have the most delicious and different types of sandwiches and wraps. If you like sprouts and assorted veggies, sauces, etc on your wraps, this place is for you. I only go to take out for myself or with my daughter since the menu is a little too eclectic for my husband's meat and potatoes taste. Also get a choice of great sides.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cab1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spicygreenbean, Owner at The Spicy Green Bean, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spicy Green Bean also viewed

 

Been to The Spicy Green Bean? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing