We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
191
13
3
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
13
3
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswinter rooma wonderful staysmall weddingother guestsbreakfast is servedrooms are spacioustop floornext morningpatwaynecomfortkeuriglinensbrideboston
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017

What a wonderful week we had at the Connecticut River Valley Inn! We so enjoyed getting to know our innkeepers Pat and Wayne. They were so friendly and helpful with suggestions for exploring the area and accommodated our every need. The inn is beautiful and very cozy offering several areas for conversation in the evening. Breakfast was very relaxed and delicious. We stayed in the River of Dreams room which was quiet, spacious and beautifully decorated with comfortable bedding and high end linens, a beautiful bath and the added touch of a Keurig, microwave and small frig. The views were incredible overlooking the beautiful backyard on our private deck!

Room Tip: River of Dreams was comfortable,spacious, and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cwcsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

To celebrate my husband's big x0th birthday, we stayed at the inn for four nights and also hosted a special dinner there for family members. Convenient to Glastonbury's many amenities and nestled in a picturesque garden, the inn is decorated with an artist's eye for detail and comfort. There are several common rooms for relaxing and breakfast is served at 8:30 a.m. in the dining room. Our dinner for 14 was served in the airy room overlooking the garden.

Pat has transformed the historic 1740 building with color, texture and high-quality modern fittings. She makes a darn good breakfast too. Nicole was instrumental in managing our event - she is a master of tact and efficiency! Wayne and two tiny dogs also contributed to the ambience.

A couple of tips about the inn: if a wedding or party is taking place, the public rooms on the first floor will not be available to other guests for the duration of that event. Also, if you want fresh towels or your room made up, let Nicole or Pat know because servicing of the rooms is done only on request.

Room Tip: Autumn room has beautiful copper bath fixtures. A narrow balcony connects to the Winter room and overlooks the garden and church next door.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachtango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review!
We would like to clarify that our property only hosts 3-4 events per month, many times taking place after checkout or before checkin times.
Guests are always welcome with access to the first floor even though an event is taking place, much like in a hotel or a restaurant which may have a private party going on as well as regular guests.

Concerning room cleaning, because we have been designated a green hotel by bothTrip Advisor and the State of Connecticut, we are required to have a posted room service policy. Although it is posted prominently in the dining room, sometimes guests do not see it. We usually try to point it out to our guests so they know what the policy is. We now also have a copy of this policy in all guest rooms to prevent any misunderstandings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My husband and I stayed 2 nights here recently. The Inn is conveniently located close to restaurants and shops and easy to find. Our room was comfortable, king size bed, great mattress, top of the line linens. We were created by Nicole, who was very polite and personable. But that is where the hospitality ends. The owners, Pat and Wayne never introduced themselves, asked if we enjoyed our stay, asked if we were comfortable or needed anything. I felt more like an intruder than a paying guest. At times we "hid" in our room to remain unobtrusive. Not the experience of a B&B. Hotels are anonymous, but the B&B experience is generally warm, welcoming and homey. Not the case for us here. The highlight is breakfast, which was very good. Less than hospitable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia B, Owner at The Connecticut River Valley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

We are sorry that these guests felt that we ignored them during their stay. However we were away that weekend (yes! Innkeepers do take time away, lol).
However, they were left in capable hands with Nikki, who was taking care of all our guests while we were away.

It seems like they were happy with Nikki as they said she was delightful and that she made them a very good breakfast.

My message to those traveling and staying at a bed and breakfast: Please don’t be offended if you don’t see the innkeepers ... they may be away.. but please do expect to get great service by the staff who are representing the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Came for a wedding - all rooms were rented out to guests of the wedding and the wedding party - The house was beautiful & the grounds were nice although could have been manicure better - dead roses could have been trimmed & cutting the grass in preparation for an outdoor wedding would have been perfect but was not done.

Management is in desperate need of customer service training - with her attitude & display of behavior - I'm amazed she is still in business.

I will NEVER book an event at the Connecticut River Valley Inn & I will also tell my friends to do the same - based on the behaviors and unprofessionalism of the owner.

It is inappropriate for an inn owner to tell their guests - who have rented all the rooms for the weekend - to stay in their rooms or sit in their cars because the owner booked a party during a fully booked wedding weekend.

Being rude, inconsiderate, bullying & not "playing well with others" is not the best way to run a business - especially one that caters to the public. I am not alone with this opinion - there are almost 100 people who were at the same wedding who concur.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
17  Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We were traveling from Maine to PA and needed a convenient and comfortable place to stop for one night. The inn is located within walking distance of many restaurants - the usual chains as well as some non-chains. Parking is off-street.

We stayed in the Spring Rain Suite which is two rooms on the top (3rd) floor - a sitting room and a bedroom, connected by a bathroom (with an incredible shower!). There is no elevator and the stairs are narrow, so not for those who can't handle stairs. The room was perfect with all expected amenities. Breakfast is served at a large shared dining room table. We had fresh fruit, delicious omelets and choice of various Keurig coffee pods (which I personally hate, but it does give more options).

There was a wedding that night, but it was small and was over early in the evening. It did limit the use of the patio area and downstairs, so you may want to check on event schedule if you intend to use the common areas.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews