We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Stunning artwork and house

Totally blown away by the magnificence of the house and the unrivaled artwork on display. To see... read more

Reviewed 27 October 2018
kevinbjones
,
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Such a wonderful home and art collection!

My husband and I so enjoyed our tour of Hill-Stead. The grounds are beautifully maintained as is... read more

Reviewed 25 October 2018
KMfromMA
,
Nantucket
Read all 202 reviews
  
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
164
29
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
29
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art collection theodate pope sunken garden guided tour her parents poetry festival walking trails antique furniture lovely home private collection mary cassatt love art entire tour original works historic house family home wonderful paintings
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Stunned by the world class artwork and the at home feel of the house. I’ve been to many, many regional museums and toured many homes and can say without a doubt, this one is a stunner because of the artwork. Amazing to see the paintings as they were enjoyed by the family, rather than in the coldness of a gallery. Recommended by locals who steered me right. $14 senior admission, $16 adult. Don’t bring small children in the house if you can help it; be selfish and enjoy the docent led tour and stories without being distracted...unless you have billionaire friends with homes decorated in world class art you can pop in and see when the whim strikes.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ymceight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

The Hill-Stead Museum was the first architectural project of Theodate Pope Riddle. It functioned as a country home for her parents and is over the 30,000 SF in size.

The grounds are gorgeous (150+ acres) You can tour the Home and view the house as it was when the family was there. You can view the paintings of Monet, Cassatt, Degas, Manet, and Whistler. I love the Monet “Hay Stacks” in the main living room and the Cassatt in an upstairs bedroom. There is also a vast print coloration including the works of Millet, Dürer, and Piranesi.

Currently there is a fascination golf exhibit with sone items from the area and the NE borrowed from the USGA Museum. The family had a small pitch and putt course on the grounds that you can actually try during this exhibit. The Sunken Garden
Poetry Festival goes on every summer on the grounds.

Costs for entry are $16 adults, $14 seniors, $12 students, $8 and children 6 to 12
Members and children under 6 are free.

There are rotating exhibits as they have far too much in their collection to have up at one time.

There are many events year round

It is beautiful, quiet, and should not be missed. Several visits are required.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank BillP1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Hill-Stead Museum has a lot to offer-- a classic house designed by one of the first female architects in the U.S., a property designed by one of the first female landscape architects in the U.S., hiking trails and a priceless collection of art and antiques that can only be seen on site. Our guide was knowledgeable and enthusiastic, but there's so much to see in the house that it can't all be appreciated in one visit. Looking forward to hiking the trails in the fall and seeing the house at Christmas. The museum is open year round. Connecticut residents can take advantage of the library museum pass program to get free admission.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank johnatod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Theodate Pope Riddle was ahead of her times. The home/museum was designed by her. This was in the early years of the 20th century when women were barely represented in the field of architecture. She was encouraged by her father; she was their only child. You can see the details inside the house and realize how pragmatic were her designs. Her principle was form follows function. Photography wasn't allow inside. It would been nice to document the details and touches within the house that impressed me a lot. The family admired the way Mount Vernon was built and so, they duplicate the portico of George Washington's mansion, but they overlook the valley instead of the Potomac River which was the view Mount Vernon has.

Our guide, Linda York, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. She pointed out the special details of the house and the various paintings the family collected. They were partial to Manet, Monet, and Degas.

The sunken garden must not be missed. When we were there, some mothers and their children made the garden their gathering place and the children were having a great time.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank margaretc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

We were touring New England from the UK as our Golden Wedding Anniversary Trip. We turned up without a booking and were lucky to have the guided tour with only two other people so the guide was able to give us more individual attention. To see the wonderful paintings in the locations that the owner intended them to be in, and have the history of the building explained was a bonus. We had time to explore the garden but not the trails in the grounds.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank neilmac1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews