We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Always Fun"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Always Fun"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our engagement night, that was over 17 yeare ago. Since then we've stayed many more times by ourselves and with family. The Griswold is always fun.

We like the annex rooms across the street. The ones above the clothing store are newly remolded and bigger. The one above the coffe shop may be our favorite, the smell of fresh brewed coffee waking you up is always good. The rooms are charming each with their own character. The beds are comfy.

The Wine bar has a great selection and the best service. Ask for Enis, she takes great passion in knowing all about the wines. She is super.

You can't go wrong with the entertainment in the Tap Room. The sing-a-long live bands are awesome. Everyone is singing and dancing and truely having a great time.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can make rerservations on line or by phone, either option is very easy. We will return.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room and tap room lounge are very noisy. We prefer the the annex rooms across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 190roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    87
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
41
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Recently visited Essex CT for festival and visited the Griswold Inn. Unlike other B&B's I have stayed at in the past, I learned from a friend staying at the Inn that this B&B only offered continental breakfast which was very minimal and disappointing. The room was costly and was extremely small, electricity such that sign in bathroom warns you to shut off the AC if you use the hair dryer. Positive - great location and fun pub on property and ample parking.

Room Tip: Try main house rather than the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrooklynNYMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Thirty-five years ago we spent the first night of our honeymoon at the Griswold Inn. It was charming then and it is just as charming, if not more so, now. The bedroom was beautifully appointed, the bed was comfortable (a super mattress).

We had dinner in the Library - service was excellent and food was very good.
Essex has to be one of the most lovely towns in all of New England. We had a great time at the Gris

Room Tip: Rooms 2,3 and suite 4 are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thatchenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here with a few friends and overall found it to be a well run inn situated in a quaint and quiet little town. The rooms are clean and have what you need but since the buildings are old it all felt cramped. I was here with friends and wouldnt put this on my list for a romantic get away. At least not for the rooms we had. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Essex is a cute town but they roll up the sidewalks early so be prepared even on weekends. The Gris has entertainment that was ok but for the most part they stop seving food when the music starts. Also the retail shops in town dont open til noon on Sunday. Which doesnt work if you want to do some shopping after your 11am check out and have already done all the other local activities. Overall the Griswold Inn is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornatravlingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Spent four nights of a supremely beautiful and warm Connecticut River week in two different rooms at the Gris. First room was a superior cottage -- couldn't stand up in the shower (I'm 6'6"). Second room was on 2nd floor of one of the outbuildings -- shower worked fine, but I carved my scalp a few times walking under the three thresholds in the room. Beds were comfortable. Buildings (neither of these was part of the original inn) had a rustic charm -- windows without screens (but we propped them open for some wonderful night air), rough-hewn furniture.. Amenities were few, but that's fine. Mostly well-kept, but the Venetian blinds can use a good dusting. A nice Continental self-service breakfast with good coffee. Front desk staff was very accommodating. Newer wine bar was nice but closes way too early (around 930-10). Older bar had so-so rock bands that played until 11-midnight... wouldn't want to try to sleep in the main building while that was going on. Didn't try the main restaurant this time (last ate there about 20 years ago), but had some good meals in Middletown (Esca, Luce) and an unbelievably good breakfast at the Whistle Stop in Deep River (thanks, Yelp!). Don't expect fancy, but do expect a quiet, charming town with a lot of boaters.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highway_song
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
35.0 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
3.9 km away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,563 - ₹ 7,823
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing