We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griswold Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Old Saybrook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Blue Guesthouse(Old Saybrook)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Motor Inn(Old Saybrook)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shore Road Inn(Old Lyme)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
175
101
41
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
101
41
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barnew englandconnecticut riverquaint townmain buildingmodern bathroomgreat lunchclam chowdersitting roomprime ribstep back in timeantique furnituregreat historybagelscodsmall roomstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our first stay at the Griswold Inn and it will definitely not be our last. I spent my 49th Birthday with my wife at their quaint Tap Room and we both could have sworn that time had stopped. Between the music, food, atmosphere and staff a better time couldn't have been had. We stayed in a lovely spacious room (#32) and enjoyed a wonderful brunch at the Inn the next morning. The town itself is like stepping back in time, lovely shops and even more lovely people. Top this all off with a parade of classic cars and a flotilla of boats on the river trimmed in Christmas lights with Santa on a Tug Boat to finish things up.

I did my homework looking for the right type of Inn and have stayed at many, the Griswold has moved into the top spot by a comfortable margin!!

I could go on and on but I hope I've been able to convey the "connection" we made with this beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: Room # 32 had a day bed in a front palor, a private bedroom and a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The place is everything these review tell and more! The place is full of history and charm, but still the service is everything you can hope for. Extra points for the amazing restaurant downstairs - the foie gras (duck liver pate) was best I've eaten outside France. Wonderful little town too, worth a walk around the beautiful small streets. Would recommend highly and come back anytime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it might be good advice to ask for help when choosing. We walked in without reservation, and the receptionist kindly gave us keys to three rooms so that we could walk upstairs and pick our favourite - and it happened without us asking for it!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Griswold is a great spot to escape the family, enjoy some good food, listen/dance to festive music and stroll through the litle shops of Essex. The staff is friendly, accomodating and very welcoming to everyone who walks in. While we love staying there, the hotel does need to upgrade their soft goods - blankets, beds, pillows, hangars, carpeting, etc. Just a little bit of touches would make this inn much more enjoyable however we'll still come back!

Room Tip: Go for the suite - worth the extra money
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My three friends and I (in our 40s) enjoyed staying at the Griswold Inn. We were in the building across the street from the main inn and above the gift shop. Stairs are a bit steep. Happy to find that there was no TV! Possibly the only place in North America to escape television. Room was very colonial with a working gas fireplace, very modern bath, one queen bed and a surprisingly comfortable pullout couch. The tap room at the inn is very cool. Dark wood, lots of atmosphere although a little tight for seating. The free continental breakfast on Sunday was great too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Griswold Inn, an inn first started in 1776, and they have being getting better and better every year.
This year was our sixth visit to this inn, every time we like the inn and staff more and more.
From the welcoming and helpefull front desk staff to the room staff everyone is dedicated to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms are furnished in period pieces that fit in so well, there is a certain olde worlde charm and ambiance to the entire inn.
From the Tap room to the wine bar the food, drink and overall look of the place is great, not to mention the nightly entertainment in the tap room, especially good are the monday night sea shanties performed by the Jovial crew, and of course the rest of the tap room.
One has a problem however in dining at the Gris, there are so many prints, artifacts, books and posters on the walls one could quite easilly be sidetracked from eating the marvelous offerings from the kitchens.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, but the third floor at the back, (#9) is about the quietest in the inn
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews