We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun place”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“fun place”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

great wine bar and really fun tap room-

good food choices

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MECMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    89
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
42
159
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brightwaters, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This was our first stay at the Griswold Inn and it will definitely not be our last. I spent my 49th Birthday with my wife at their quaint Tap Room and we both could have sworn that time had stopped. Between the music, food, atmosphere and staff a better time couldn't have been had. We stayed in a lovely spacious room (#32) and enjoyed a wonderful brunch at the Inn the next morning. The town itself is like stepping back in time, lovely shops and even more lovely people. Top this all off with a parade of classic cars and a flotilla of boats on the river trimmed in Christmas lights with Santa on a Tug Boat to finish things up.

I did my homework looking for the right type of Inn and have stayed at many, the Griswold has moved into the top spot by a comfortable margin!!

I could go on and on but I hope I've been able to convey the "connection" we made with this beautiful Inn.

Room Tip: Room # 32 had a day bed in a front palor, a private bedroom and a large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The place is everything these review tell and more! The place is full of history and charm, but still the service is everything you can hope for. Extra points for the amazing restaurant downstairs - the foie gras (duck liver pate) was best I've eaten outside France. Wonderful little town too, worth a walk around the beautiful small streets. Would recommend highly and come back anytime.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it might be good advice to ask for help when choosing. We walked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henna_M_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Griswold is a great spot to escape the family, enjoy some good food, listen/dance to festive music and stroll through the litle shops of Essex. The staff is friendly, accomodating and very welcoming to everyone who walks in. While we love staying there, the hotel does need to upgrade their soft goods - blankets, beds, pillows, hangars, carpeting, etc. Just a little bit of touches would make this inn much more enjoyable however we'll still come back!

Room Tip: Go for the suite - worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tstangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My three friends and I (in our 40s) enjoyed staying at the Griswold Inn. We were in the building across the street from the main inn and above the gift shop. Stairs are a bit steep. Happy to find that there was no TV! Possibly the only place in North America to escape television. Room was very colonial with a working gas fireplace, very modern bath, one queen bed and a surprisingly comfortable pullout couch. The tap room at the inn is very cool. Dark wood, lots of atmosphere although a little tight for seating. The free continental breakfast on Sunday was great too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
35.0 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
7.4 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,522 - ₹ 7,751
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing