We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun weekend away witih friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun weekend away witih friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My three friends and I (in our 40s) enjoyed staying at the Griswold Inn. We were in the building across the street from the main inn and above the gift shop. Stairs are a bit steep. Happy to find that there was no TV! Possibly the only place in North America to escape television. Room was very colonial with a working gas fireplace, very modern bath, one queen bed and a surprisingly comfortable pullout couch. The tap room at the inn is very cool. Dark wood, lots of atmosphere although a little tight for seating. The free continental breakfast on Sunday was great too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    87
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
42
158
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Griswold Inn, an inn first started in 1776, and they have being getting better and better every year.
This year was our sixth visit to this inn, every time we like the inn and staff more and more.
From the welcoming and helpefull front desk staff to the room staff everyone is dedicated to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms are furnished in period pieces that fit in so well, there is a certain olde worlde charm and ambiance to the entire inn.
From the Tap room to the wine bar the food, drink and overall look of the place is great, not to mention the nightly entertainment in the tap room, especially good are the monday night sea shanties performed by the Jovial crew, and of course the rest of the tap room.
One has a problem however in dining at the Gris, there are so many prints, artifacts, books and posters on the walls one could quite easilly be sidetracked from eating the marvelous offerings from the kitchens.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, but the third floor at the back, (#9) is about the quietest in the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Griswold is a place with plenty of character in teh lovely little town of Essex. We were there for two nights, and while there is not much else to do in the town in the evening, the fact that the hotel offer the choice of a good tavern, a wine bar and a restuarant makes up for this on a short stay. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, if a little small (to be fair this is alluded to on the website). Good continentalbreakffast choices too. The front staff in the evening were very helpful and friendly, but the guy there in the morning could do with cheering up a bit and generally acting like he actually wanted to be there! A minor blemish though in an otherwise very good stay

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at the Griswold Inn on Oct. 14th.
This is a quaint little inn in a charming little town. It's about 10 miles off 1-95 in Essex. The town has a bunch of little shops (including a xmas ornament store) with a few places to dine or grab a drink. At the end of the road is the River Museum on the water.
We ate at the inn but I was underimpressed with the food. I ordered the Lobster Pot Pie only to be told by the waitress that everyone had complained that week that it wasn't good. I then ordered a steak med/well only to have it served rare. The dining room is nice with a fireplace but I won't eat there. We started with a drink in the tap room which has limited seating and no seating if there is a band.
The room/suite we got was actually located across the street which we liked because the noise in the tap room is right below most rooms. Our room was like a small apartment with a gas fireplace.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room across the street. The website shows pictures of the different ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piggieConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This place is amazing! We stayed for two nights. They upgraded our room before we got there. The room was so nice and comfortable, and very quiet (even with live music one night).

The village is delightful and feels like a close-knit small town. There are other restaurants in town, but eating at the Gris is a definite must. The food is delicious and the wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The whole town showed up to see the Sea Shanties (local Irish band that plays every Monday night) and it was super fun.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
35.0 km away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
7.4 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,495 - ₹ 7,705
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing