We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Griswold Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 139
US$ 135
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Liberty Inn(Old Saybrook)
US$ 91
US$ 89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pier Blue Guesthouse(Old Saybrook)
US$ 91
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 263
US$ 237
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 207
US$ 178
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clinton Motel(Clinton)
US$ 71
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
175
102
41
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
102
41
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barnew englandconnecticut riverquaint townmain buildingmodern bathroomgreat lunchclam chowdersitting roomprime ribstep back in timeantique furnituregreat historybagelscodsmall roomstandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Griswold Inn, an inn first started in 1776, and they have being getting better and better every year.
This year was our sixth visit to this inn, every time we like the inn and staff more and more.
From the welcoming and helpefull front desk staff to the room staff everyone is dedicated to help you enjoy your stay. The rooms are furnished in period pieces that fit in so well, there is a certain olde worlde charm and ambiance to the entire inn.
From the Tap room to the wine bar the food, drink and overall look of the place is great, not to mention the nightly entertainment in the tap room, especially good are the monday night sea shanties performed by the Jovial crew, and of course the rest of the tap room.
One has a problem however in dining at the Gris, there are so many prints, artifacts, books and posters on the walls one could quite easilly be sidetracked from eating the marvelous offerings from the kitchens.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, but the third floor at the back, (#9) is about the quietest in the inn
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

The Griswold is a place with plenty of character in teh lovely little town of Essex. We were there for two nights, and while there is not much else to do in the town in the evening, the fact that the hotel offer the choice of a good tavern, a wine bar and a restuarant makes up for this on a short stay. The rooms were comfortable and nicely furnished, if a little small (to be fair this is alluded to on the website). Good continentalbreakffast choices too. The front staff in the evening were very helpful and friendly, but the guy there in the morning could do with cheering up a bit and generally acting like he actually wanted to be there! A minor blemish though in an otherwise very good stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowleyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at the Griswold Inn on Oct. 14th.
This is a quaint little inn in a charming little town. It's about 10 miles off 1-95 in Essex. The town has a bunch of little shops (including a xmas ornament store) with a few places to dine or grab a drink. At the end of the road is the River Museum on the water.
We ate at the inn but I was underimpressed with the food. I ordered the Lobster Pot Pie only to be told by the waitress that everyone had complained that week that it wasn't good. I then ordered a steak med/well only to have it served rare. The dining room is nice with a fireplace but I won't eat there. We started with a drink in the tap room which has limited seating and no seating if there is a band.
The room/suite we got was actually located across the street which we liked because the noise in the tap room is right below most rooms. Our room was like a small apartment with a gas fireplace.

Room Tip: I would suggest requesting a room across the street. The website shows pictures of the different types of rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggieConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This place is amazing! We stayed for two nights. They upgraded our room before we got there. The room was so nice and comfortable, and very quiet (even with live music one night).

The village is delightful and feels like a close-knit small town. There are other restaurants in town, but eating at the Gris is a definite must. The food is delicious and the wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The whole town showed up to see the Sea Shanties (local Irish band that plays every Monday night) and it was super fun.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliselo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

There are not a lot of options to stay in Essex, so the Griswold it was for us. The history of the Griswold is interesting. Our stay didn't begin well when I was informed we had booked a twin room. This wasn't my recollection- at any rate the check in staff were helpful and gave us another room with a double bed. This room was located in an adjacent building. While this wasn't a problem as such, it was a bit inconvenient for getting bags inside. The room was ok, a bit of an odd configuration. Fairly small room with an enormous bathroom. The bed was not overly comfortable for me- too small, high and soft. Overall the Essex is a solid enough choice, although overpriced for what it is. The restaurant is well worth a visit though.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews