We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place...”
Review of Griswold Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Griswold Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Essex B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A wonderful place...”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed there "again" in May of 2011 and just in time for the Hunt breakfast. Nice room, well appointed, quiet and very clean. Truly enjoyed staying at the inn!

Room Tip: Contact front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brynulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    89
    36
    20
    13
See reviews for
42
159
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have been to the Gris so many times now we are 'regulars.' We love everything about it... the adorable town of Essex it anchors, the marina (no pun intended), the quaint, well-kept but not overly fussy rooms, the wonderful small plates and selection at the wine bar, the schmaltzy but WAY too fun sing along at the bar.... am I raving? Well, we have been here in every season, but especially love the summer when Essex is the perfect entry point to US 1 or 95 to ramble north through the lovely Conneticut beach towns... go to Abbotts Lobster in the Rough in Niantic, lunch at S & P in Mystic... or ... shhh!!! Ocean Beach Park, a well kept secret for the perfect family day... great white beach, boardwalk, kiddie amusement park and water slide in New London, all within 35 minutes of the inn... or go on to gorgeous Watch Hill, RI. Or backroad through the River Towns, Ivoryton, East Haddam, Chester... antiques, nurseries, farm stands and cafes. In the winter we enjoyed the small town holiday feel of Essex, and the Inn... only bad thing I have to say is the continental breakfast is BBAAADDDD... so go to the gourmet coffee shop across the street (think local Starbucks), or to Olive Oyl's for an incredible sandwich.... Just don't expect frilly, frou frou 'boutique spa service'... this is New England, folks We. Love. This. Place. (can ya tell?)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amgboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

In a 10 night trip through New England, this was our worst value stay. Arrived at 9pm after a delayed flight. Place locked up and dead. Grumpy reception. No welcome or help with cases. Nice room, but small. Worst breakfast in New England. No-one even appeared to ask if everything was OK in the self-service breakfast room. Hotel is wonderful to look at outside and in, but it is relying on its age and reputation and seems to feel no need to offer either welcome or service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PALMA2526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
We are terribly sorry that your experience at our establishment was less than satisfactory. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable and to make them aware of all that makes up the "Gris" experience. We appreciate your comments and have addressed the specific service issues you raised with our staff.

The "Gris" is known for its convivial and spirited atmosphere. We regret that your visit was not livened up by a visit to our Tap Room where we feature live music nightly and a bit of local color.

Please let us know if you are ever in the area again. We would appreciate another opportunity to introduce you to all that is the "Gris".

Respectfully, The Paul Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I would not recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a nice quiet time away. It's a cute little town with a lot of history but the stay itself at the Inn was miserable. There was an all night karaoke fest going on. It sounded like a 20 yr olds keg party going on including screaming for hours. The music literally sounded like it was below our room and the bar was on the other side of the Inn. I have never in my life had two worse nights of sleep.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but at this Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grisresponder, Owner at Griswold Inn, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We are disheartened to learn of your less than desirable stay during your weekend visit to our Inn. We feature live music every night of the week in our award-winning Tap Room - everything from Sea Chanteys, Dixieland, Rock, Swing, Banjo…For many, a visit to our lively Tap Room is the highlight of their stay – particularly Saturday night when the musical entertainment is somewhat interactive. If one is participating it’s great for most: if a quieter evening is what’s in order…

We are sorry that your room dissatisfaction was not brought to anyone’s attention until your stay was over - particularly after your first night. We have many different types of accommodations at our establishment. The Griswold Inn consists of the Main Inn plus seven surrounding historic buildings which include lovely guest accommodations. We could have easily moved you to a quieter “retreat”.

We do thank you for your comments as this serves as a reminder for our staff to ask prospective guests to identify any specific needs they may have when selecting an accommodation. If you should decide to give us another try in the future, please alert the Front Desk to any of your specific needs/desires: more often than not we can accommodate them. Our primary objective is for all of our guests to enjoy a comfortable stay with us – whether they want a “lively” experience or a quieter retreat.

Respectfully,
The Paul Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We went to the Inn for Easter brunch today. we were herded into a small waiting area before being seated, we informed the hostess we had reservations. She then responded that everyone had reservations and seemed pretty damned annoyed! although the Inn had my credit card number and we were warned not to cancel our reservation or we would be charged. After the cattle call we were seated. We then served ourselves to some of the worst trash breakfast buffet food on the East coast. Totally boring. And we were charged thirty dollars a head. Head my warning folks.Rude service and overpriced slop.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fuego1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essex
8.1 km away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
20.6 km away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
138 reviews
4.6 km away
Liberty Inn
Liberty Inn
#7 of 7 in Old Saybrook
65 reviews
3.8 km away
The Copper Beech Inn
The Copper Beech Inn
#1 of 2 in Ivoryton
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griswold Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griswold Inn

Property: Griswold Inn
Address: 36 Main St, Essex, CT 06426-1132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Essex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Essex
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,692 - ₹ 13,465
Hotel Class:3 star — Griswold Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque and historic village of Essex, Connecticut, The Griswold Inn is a destination experience. With 33 guest rooms, unique shopping, historic dining, a stunning wine bar featuring a tapas-style culinary experience, and an award-winning taproom voted "Best Bar" over and over by Esquire Magazine and countless others, the 'Gris' offers visitors an authentic and spirited adventure. Come make your own history here. The oldest continually operated inn in America. Fine Food, Spirits and Lodging....Since 1776! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Griswold Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griswold Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing