We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi and Hibachi have arrived in East Lyme CT”
Review of Osaka

Osaka
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in East Lyme
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The restaurant (in the location of the former Naimi) restaurant has undergone a total overhaul. Very attractive interior with about 5 hibachi grills, sushi bar and other table seating. Menu is diverse but not unmanageable. We dined on a Wednesday evening and had to wait for a table (but I think this is due to recent grand opening). Service was adequate, wine list good without huge markups in the by the bottle pricing (by the glass is a bit pricey, in my opinion). We chose to concentrate on sushi in our dining outing, and were not disappointed. There is a large selection of rolls, with a wide variety of cooked rolls too. The sushi did not disappoint! Great presentation and fantastic flavor. We'll be back soon to try the hibachi. The hibachi tables were full and from the joyous squeals of the children, they were enjoying the show!

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 54 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Great sushi and I feel bad complaining about this but it is worth mentioning. We sat and ordered from the sushi bar. Everyone super nice and active. All staff on top of their game snd atmosphere is really nice. Ordered sushi and the portion was huge. Huge as in the cut pieces were just about to big to put in your mouth. Picking them up with chop sticks was like playing that game at the bowling alley with the claw and the prize. If you manage to get one in motion and dipped in the soy then you literally had to jam the whole thing in your mouth at once. Your so busy trying to manage this more then a mouthfull that enjoying the taste is not an option. Diameter of the sushi roll needs to be reduced down from 2" diameter to about 1" and then cut into 16 pieces of enjoyable managable sizes that keeps you from looking like a total hog while eating. Its to much at once to even find the taste snd you can't cut sushi up. Hard to look lady like when your busy choking on raw tuna and a handful of sticky rice. The presentation us impressivive but not the actual consuming of this huge mess. Sushi is one item that bigger is not better .,, its just more rice and more fight. I will go back for Hibachi grill even though the chefs were really loud and were throwing gallons of Sake on the grill for the explosive fire effect. Calm down guys .., were are there for specialty food and it needs to be done right. Real Japanese do not act like drunken Texans at a BBQ pit where dudes are doing burnouts with harleys on top of the bar. Its kind of a hibachi 3 ring circus that blows away the non hibachi tables and the sushi bar.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JLC10756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Tucked into the end of a strip mall with two other restaurants, it's easy to overlook this little gem of a restaurant next to a Chinese takeout. The sign out front announced Grand Opening, so I thought I'd give it a try for lunch. Service was excellent, attentive without being intrusive or hovering. The staff has a pleasant and helpful attitude, anticipating every need. (I was offered a fork to use instead of chopsticks without asking.)

I ordered a Chicken Teriyaki Bento Box for $9.00 and the amount of food was enough for 2-3 diners. The sushi was freshly made, the chicken was tender, moist and flavorful without overwhelming the other food in the box which included a salad, two dumplings and miso soup.

I was so surprised to find such a wonderful experience for lunch that I wanted everyone to know about this place. The variety of the menu includes steak, including a petit filet, seafood and chicken. And there's a hibachi table to sit around with a group and a sushi bar to sit at while they make your sushi to order. A superior value in all ways. I will go back often.

Date of visit: September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osaka? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing