We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveller rating
749
638
217
48
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
638
217
48
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool full length wine bar an upgrade coffee maker small village wellness area perfect place to relax cold cuts breakfast buffet beautiful hotel wine tasting experience wine lovers wines region balcony vineyards
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2017

I visited the Loisium in September 2017. While my rating may perhaps be a little harsh, I expected much better given the standard I expect from SPG / Design Hotels.

First, the positives - it's a beautiful hotel with lovely decor, friendly staff and a great breakfast.

Now the negatives - unfortunately, the stay was marred by a few crucial matters:
1) There was no recognition of SPG Platinum status members (although I've received this at other Design Hotels abroad). As such, there were no welcome gifts (bonus points, free breakfast, free local gift, etc.).
2) I asked for an iron one morning but was told they were all unavailable. I asked to be informed once one became free. I didn't hear back from and so went to the reception in the afternoon to ask. I was then told that one was returned but the receptionist then gave it to another hotel guest instead of informing me as I had asked. Some hotels have irons in every room or at least ensure that irons are made available to guests as needed. This is particularly critical given the hotel's close proximity to wedding venues where multiple guests may need an iron on any given day.
3) There were no tea/coffee-making facilities in the rooms.
4) There is no "Green Choice" option (understand that hotel management don't have to choose to use this but it's a nice perk for SPG members and good for the environment).
5) There is no shoe-shine service, as is standard at most hotels - only a machine at the entrance.

Again - while the rating is a bit harsh, I expected better and I feel that these small things would make a huge, positive difference if hotel management would consider implementing / correcting them. Hopefully the criticism can be taken constructively.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Naur_Mother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Front Office at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Dear AltiMR,
thank you for visiting our house and thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your compliments to the staff. But we are sorry that we have not fulfilled your requirements. We wish you all the best for the future! Best regards, Jennifer Sauer, Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Our first impression was ruined by dirty toilet in our room but it was immediately taken care of after we complained. The staff is very professional and friendly. Very good spa with outdoor pool and pool bar. Great food, both breakfast and dinner. We enjoyed sunset from the terrace of the restaurant. Beautiful view.
We rented e- bikes (the terrain Is very hilly and we wanted it to be more relaxing :)) and we had fun visiting local wineries and taking pictures. The scenery of this wine road is stunning.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Front Office at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Mrs. nataliastahovcova,
thank you very much for the kind feedback to your last stay in the LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort. We are very happy to hear that you could enjoy your stay and you liked our culinary offer. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Your LOISIUM Team, Claudia Fürbaß

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We staid for 3 days at this resort-like place located close to a romantic little city with a castle towering over it.good walking distance.the 4 or 5 storey hotel is located within vineyards in a hilly landscape reminding a bit of Tuscany.as it is built on a hill your balcony offers magnificent views.we had booked a suite which was corner,huge and with a balcony surrounding the full length of the corner room.wonderful to sit outside during the mild evenings.don't forget your mosquito repellent though. The room has modern decors with a freestanding tub and a huge shower stall.the whole resort is eco-friendly. Breakfast is extensive and excellent with a focus on regional produce.they might want to install a self service coffee maker though as the waiters get extremely busy in the busy breakfast hours. The restaurant boasts a wonderful outside terrace with a view
The spa and the wine tasting and buying facilities are definitely worth mentioning. The area close to the Slovenian boarder has a wonderful mild climate and you add the hilly landscape and you get great wines. The place attracts a visibly classy crowd .parking is free outside and you can manage to see your Ferraris or Porsches there. It's affiliation with SPG is a great plus. The hotel is pet friendly too. All in all a beautifully romantic stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Front Office at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Christian M,
thank you very, very much for this amazing Feedback depending on your last stay at the LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay, the breakfast buffet and the nice landscape.
We would be very happy to welcome you in our hotel again. With kind regards from southern styria, your LOISIUM Team, Claudia Fürbaß

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

I have visited Loisium many times and it it always the same perfect place to relax and to see nice landscapes. The Wine Spa is excellent all the year, even if less crowded periods, probably from December to April, are of course the best.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 405AB2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Front Office at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear 405AB2405,
thank you very much for your last stay in the LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort.
We are very happy and thankful to read this amazing feedback. We would be very happy to welcome you soon in our hotel. With kind regards, your LOISUM Team, Claudia Fürbaß

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The architecture, design and atmosphere in this gorgeous spa are really spectacular. The town is stunning and so is the scenery around it. Attention to detail is great, including art work, water, drinks, etc. Welcome snack was delicious and nice touch. Menu from the restaurant for evening could use some improvements (bar menu is better) as can the Merkur Spa (worst massages ever and expensive - although staff tried to compensate with 10% discount, still felt we were overcharged). Staff were excellent throughout the spa and hotel, spoke very good English and very friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank apple1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loisium, Front Office at LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort Suedsteiermark, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Mr(s) apple1976,
thank you very much for your feedback and your last stay at the LOISIUM Wine & Spa Resort. We are very happy to hear, you could enjoy your stay. We are very sorry for the spa massage which was not up to your expectations. Of course, we forwarded your
feedback to our colleagues in the spa massage department. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel. With kind regards, Your LOISIUM Team, Claudia Fürbaß

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews