We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 104
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Trinidad)
US$ 107
US$ 102
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 185
US$ 154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 146
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$ 110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness centre
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$ 106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Veta Inn(La Veta)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Raton Pass Motor Inn(Raton)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
1
9
1
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
9
1
2
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2017

I have been visiting Monument Lake Resort for a couple of years and every trip the same old problem and excuses with the bathhouse. The men's side bathstalls are disgusting. There is mold and soap gunk as well as water up to your ankles because is the drains being less than adequate for the facility. Same old reply when you report it, they know about it and won't do anything about it. I just haven't figured out who they are.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank dirtiedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The camping and fishing was great in June of 2016. The restaurant only being open part of the week is something to deal with. The bathhouse, shower facility in particular was just plan nasty. There was mold, the drains allowed you to stand ankle deep in water while showering, there was soap and shampoos stacked around the stall from who knows when. They have got to do better, this is just disgusting.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This place is beautiful from the highway then you drive in and the roads are terrible. Restrooms (bath house)dirty. The picnic tables are big spools some of them half burned. This place hasn't seen tlc in years from the looks of it. No maintenance whatsoever. Glad we decided not to stay here. We went down the road to Purgatoire camp ground thankfully. Don't bother camping here. It's okay for a day trip but that's about it.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank darla d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This is a very rustic camp spot with full hookups. Nicely located on a lake where they rent different kind of boats. The only real disappointment was that they would not allow us to take an infant out because apparently they don't keep life jackets for little ones. Bummer on a family vacation. The sites were pretty close to level and the trash was taken out twice a day; they do a good job of keeping things looking nice. The bathrooms are very old, but clean and kept up. They do not offer any wifi and we did not have cell phone service. We would return to this place for sure.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ty960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Stayed in the hotel style lodge. Our view from our 2nd floor room with private balcony was outstanding. Room was sparse and bathroom small but very clean. The shower was nice and hot, everything clean, economy towels (we didn't come here for the towels!). The lake with the mountains dropping into it is beautiful. Fishing is great. We had a fantastic time. There is a path around the lake for an easy walk or hike. This was a true colorado experience without having to camp or stay in a cabin. Stayed during the week and it wasn't crowded. We enjoyed the fishing, walk, wildlife viewing, relaxing on the huge deck and on our balcony. Easy and scenic drive to tons more fishing, hiking, horseback riding, eateries, etc.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has great views.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews