We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located, small but big enough!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vail Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had never been to Vail, CO but had spent many trips in other ski destinations in CO. We used trip advisor to determine the best price performer for our accomodations and I have to say the reviews were very accurate. When you first walk in the decor immediately creates the perfect ski lodge feel. There are beautiful wood grained doors and paneling and the rustic tile floors you would expect. The registration is easy and friendly and they offer to help with any and all reservations or other activites. Our room had a king bed with more of the perfect decor to make your experience great. The baths have tile counters a separate jacuzzi tub and a stand up glass walled shower. I tend to not like the smaller shower but it didn't diminish my liking of the property. The bath also had a separate water closet which is always nice. The room has a gas fireplace and a drop zone at the door to hang coats, store boots etc. There is a Zuerig single cup coffee maker with a variety of tastes. One reason we chose it was a comment someone made on trip advisor about how incredibly comfortable the beds were. We have a Westin Heavenly bed at home so we didn't think we'd be more impressed than that. I have to admit, these beds are truly special.

What I didn't know (but was told on the shuttle by a fellow passenger) was that we had chosen the best place right in the heart of the action. You could walk about the equivalent of one city block to get on the lift. On your way, you walk through Vail village with plenty of choices for eating, drinking and shopping. It was extremely convenient to everything.

Since I was recovering from a recent bout with acute bronchitis we were unable to go through with our plans to ski, snow shoe and snowmobile. Although that was extremely disappointing I must say that our trip was well worth it just to experience the festive atmosphere, great cuisine and all around great vibe. To compensate we decided to spend our activity money in the spa and what a great choice that was. We both had classical massages and facials. The spa is beautiful, non-pretentious and incredibly enjoyable. We had the special that allowed for a 20% discount if you purchase two services and they throw in lunch after your treatments.

The lunch is served in the solarium while you're still in your spa robes by their house kitchen, the Terra Bistro Restaurant. It was quite coincidental but we were looking on , non other than- Trip Advisor, to determine where we should dine and it is rated number 1 of 78 rated restaurants in Vail. I can say that after breakfast and lunch today the rating is quite deserved.

So overall this has been a great trip and we couldn't be more pleased with our choice of the Vail Mountain Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank USMidWestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at our little "gem" of a property. We appreciate your comments, and are delighted that you found us to be "the place" to stay in Vail Village. Though I'm sorry you did not have the chance to enjoy the outdoors, it's wonderful to know that our spa exceeded your expectations. . .and that Terra Bistro was a highlight of your visit.

Please let us know if we can be of service the next time your travel plans include Vail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 298 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Vail Mountain Lodge is hard to beat for value and location. A cozy bar and excellent restaurant paired with a world-class gym and spa right in the heart of the village makes shops and restaurants as well as access to the slopes easy. The free transportation throughout the whole village paired with heated walkways is a huge plus. The intimate and friendly setting of the Lodge makes guests feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the creek for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueZQ80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit. . .we do consider ourselves Vail's most convenient location, for those who want to be in the center of the village, yet far enough from the base area and commercial core to minimize crowd inconvenience! We also enjoy the fact that we're small enough to offer a truly personalized lodging experience, and appreciate your acknowledging that. And our full service Vitality Center and Terra Bistro restaurant are the icing on the cake! Please visit us again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have always loved staying here and our last visit was again impressive! We found two rooms last minute before Christmas and got an amazing rate. We also brought our dogs and couldn't get over how welcomed our pets were and how nice the "pet rooms" were as well.

The service is outstanding and we greatly appreciated the restaurant reservations that Lauren made for us during our stay, all the wonderful accommodations Adam made while we were there, and the terrific dinner we had at Terra Bistro thanks to Jim's help!

You must stay here if you haven't already! We absolutely love this hotel and will always stay here when we return to Vail!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellyB0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to be your host!! We do love to accommodate those who travel with pets, as we understand how big a role they fill in all our lives!! We're delighted that Lauren, Jim, and Adam were able to anticipate and help you have a memorable stay. . .please, visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Such a wonderful experience we had here. Took a short getaway to Vail and stayed here primarily due to the spa and fitness center. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was absolutely amazing. All of the staff, front desk, bell hops, cleaning ladies, restaurant were so friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. Facility was spotless and offered free internet, free shuttle and advice on local businesses. We were so spoiled here and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Camp Hale Suite (3 bdrm) which was absolutely amazing. Plenty of room for a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJohnsonVailMTNLodge, General Manager at Vail Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to visit us! Our Vitality Center, including the fitness facility and spa you mentioned, has been a great attraction for us, giving us amenities that other intimate facilities don't generally have. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if we can be of service the next time your travel plans include Vail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

so close to the village ande slopes this high end hotel has a health spa and a great restaurant in the same building

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaseec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.5 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
0.2 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,325 reviews
0.3 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
662 reviews
0.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.5 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Mountain Lodge

Address: 352 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO 81657-4507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#10 Family Hotel in Vail
Price Range: ₹ 27,739 - ₹ 45,092 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vail Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail's most unique property is nestled along Gore Creek in the heart of Vail Village, walking distance from ski lifts, shopping, and dining. With 20 hotel rooms and 7 two and three bedroom condos, the hotel offers B&B intimacy and service as well as first rate amenities including the Vitality Center, featuring a full service spa, access to health club which includes classes and health & medical practitioners. Terra Bistro, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner has been a Vail favorite for over 20 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Mountain Lodge And Spa
Vail Mountain Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing