We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Vail

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Vail
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have been visiting Vail in winter and summer for 20 years and am very impressed with Sun Vail. Four adults stayed in condo 23B in February, 2011 and were immediately impressed. The unit was completely updated with great views of Vail Mountain. The walk is much shorter than expected and helped loosen the legs after a few long days of skiing and snowboarding. The outdoor pool and hot tubs also had great views of the mountain.

This is the best value in Vail / Lionshead that I've found; I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    37
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

We were worried about being across the highway bc of noise, farther walk, etc, but our walk was no longer than half the condos in Lionshead & it's up high so you don't see the highway from your room, just the mountains. Our unit 11D was decorated so beautifully, very up to date & comfy with a huge living room with the biggest wall having windows all the way across facing the mountain. Only odd thing is the pool/hot tubs closed at 9, and so did a lot of restaurants in town. This seems early to us. Overall, amazing place to stay. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Sun Vail is not a hotel but it is a group of privately owned condo's manage by a management company. I can only speak for one unit and that is 23A. It is a 2 bedroom 2 bath with a pull out couch and listed in the gold category. Over all it's a charming unit with up to date fixtures and you can tell the owner put a lot of effort into building a theme though out the unit. Where it went bad is the master bedroom, I have traveled though out the world staying at $3 a night hostels to $2000 a night rooms and had never stayed on a worse mattress or used a cheaper pillow in my life. I could go into detail on poorly I slept or how I woke up each morning with a aching back but that's boring. I will end by saying that Sun Vail offers a great value for staying in Vail and if you don't mind a hard as a rock mattress or hard pillow then 23A at Sun Vail is for you.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KC-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed here on a recent snowboarding trip to Vail.

The first thing to note is that the Condos are on the north side of the I-70, so are a 10 minute walk from the Lionshead Gondola using a footbridge across the highway. To their credit, the owners / operators do not try to hide this fact. To lessen any impact of the walk however, there are storage facilities provided at one of the local ski shops near the Gondola, so, there’s no need to walk back and forth in ski/snowboard boots and carrying all your gear - it can all be left behind at the end of the day and picked up again in the morning (if your storage is in a locker and you’re unfamiliar with combination locks, get help from the shop staff – there’s a definite procedure required!) The same shop also provides discounted tuning and (we understand) discounted gear rental to residents of Sun Vail.

The condos are spread across 4 or 5 different buildings. We stayed in condo 33E which is a one bedroom apartment on the top floor (3 floors) of the building furthest west. It comprises a spacious living area with open plan kitchen, mountain view balcony, large bedroom (king size bed), bathroom and utility cupboard (washing machine and drier). The kitchen had a fridge / freezer, oven, 4 ring hob, large microwave, dishwasher and all the accoutrements you’d expect. The only slight downside was a relative lack of counter space.

Within the condo grounds, there are two hot-tubs (space for perhaps 6-8 people each) and a heated pool, all outdoors. With shower / changing and toilet facilities as well as a sauna provided beside the pool, it’s a pleasant way to ease the aches and pains after a day on the slopes. The opening hours are restricted but should be long enough for even the keenest apres-ski participant to make use of the facilities.

Cleaning took place twice during our ten night stay, with fresh towels and linen, etc. provided.

The condos are very handy for the (free) ‘Green’ and ‘Red’ bus routes which stop beside the pedestrian overpass (on the condo side of the highway). These routes give access to the West Vail mall (supermarkets, etc). Just beyond the overpass on the village side of the highway, there’s a bus stop for the ‘In Town’ route (again, it’s free), which runs from Lionshead in the west to Golden Peak in the east and all points in between.

If we were being really, really picky, perhaps some more information could have been provided in the in-room information folder (e.g. operating instructions for the heating, recycling instructions, etc.) but this didn’t detract from our stay at all. We’d certainly consider returning here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubba&MaryJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We searched several sites on the web and decided to go with Sun Vail. My family of four were VERY pleased with the accomodations. The unit was nicely furnished and the office staff was friendly and extremely helpful. The walk to the lifts really isn't that far. I would definitely recommend this to all my friends!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birch F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.9 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.6 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
2.1 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.2 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Vail? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Vail

Property: Sun Vail
Address: 635 N Frontage Rd W Unit 1, Vail, CO 81657-4589
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,872 - ₹ 52,639
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Vail condominiums are located three blocks from the gondola and chair 8 in the Lionshead section of Vail Village. Walk to private ski and boot storage at the base of the mountain. Year round pool outdoors with hot tubs and sauna. Affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sun Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Vail Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing