We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and service. Beware of valet wait times.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location and service. Beware of valet wait times.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Overall, we were happy with the hotel. Like other people said, the rooms were a bit expensive but its vail so theres not a lot of budget motels around. They offer several rooms from regular hotel rooms to the multi-room suites and you get exactly what they tell you...nothing more, nothing less. Rooms were clean and washrooms are well stocked with towels etc. Bedding was super comfortable.

The pros: On site ski rental with 20% off and valet service to the base of the mountain. Walk-in, walk-out skiiing (apx. 4 minute walk to base). great location within Vail. Very close to several good restaurants (moes, little diner, and a few others). While vail village is typically more sought after, this location in Lionshead is definitely more practical for most skiers and casual dining. Overall service was on par with Marriott- expecially the valet who were very friendly. The free in-town shuttle stops right at the front door and is very convenienent. Free hot chocolate, apple cider and cookies in the afternoon is a nice touch.

Cons: While the valet staff was very attentive and freindly, they are terribly slow and there is no self parking. I am the type of person that usually does not call ahead but valet was often 20 minutes or longer so definitely utlize the call ahead feature. The restaurants on site are not the greatest and the bar area was small and not particularly comforatble. Your better off finding another spot for afternoon drinks.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    375
    165
    55
    44
See reviews for
339
297
43
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
321 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have been to this Marriott 5 or 6 times over the years, in every season, and always look forward to returning. The combination of location (at the western end of Vail, close to the river, and on the town shuttlebus route), attentive personnel, great food, amenities, and comfortable rooms are hard to beat. In summer, it is close to the valley walking trails, and the concierge can arrange a large variety of tours and raft trips. In winter, it is close to the lifts, and you can hop a cab to the well-groomed, challenging XC center at the golf course. Finally, Vail boasts a large number of really fine restaurants that supplement the hotel food options, some within a short walk, and all bus accessible. One winter trip, it was about -20 F at night, and in the teens days, so hoar frost formed every night, and the snow squeeked as you walked on it. Despite the intense cold, the hotel was warm and comfy, and the staff really looked out for the guests to be sure they stayed that way. No matter what the weather, come prepared with proper clothes, and you will have a fine time at this Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RICHMOND, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Although we were very excited about planning our trip to Vail at the Marriott, I was a little concerned over the mixture of reviews. Some positive, some saying they would never return again... Well, we hoped for the best, and headed out to Vail from Virginia, and so glad that we did. We had a wonderful time with our family of four, and my parents that are in their seventies.

We made reservations for a 3 bedroom "condo" with a full kitchen in the Marriott hotel. It was actually 2 rooms that were connected with a small hallway, and then that was attached to a very large den/kitchen area, with a master bedroom on the other side. It had a long balcony that over looked the mountain and the pool area. We really could not have asked for anything better. The decor was a "rustic" look, but done very tastefully, has plenty of room, plenty of seating, fireplace, 3 bathrooms, whirlpool tub, flatscreen TV's in every room, etc. The hotel is actually very close to the slopes---it's just a 3 min walk from the bottom floor of the hotel.

The Marriott also has ski rental and storage right at the bottom floor of the hotel. All you have to do is stop by on your way out to the slopes to pick up your equipment, and you are all set. When you are out on the slopes, and you get to the basin of Lion's Head and are ready to head back to the hotel, there is usually a "carrier" waiting ready to take your equipment back to the hotel so you don't have to worry about it. He can take your equipment, and then you can continue walking around the village through shops/restaurants while your equipment is taken care of for you.

While we were there, we actually got groceries to keep in our kitchen. We cooked quite a bit for breakfast and some lunches, (oh! and our Thanksgiving dinner we cooked in). For dinner, we went to several places in the villages, and all were great. We also headed to Beaver Creek one night for dinner, and that was very nice also. Dinners in the very nice places were generally $300 for the 6 of us, and around $150-250 for the more casual sports tavern restaurants.

As far as activities, we were basically skiing and snowboarding all week. We got our lift tickets through "epic pass" online. We also tied our credit card number to the pass when we purchased them, so we could use our lift passes throughout Vail to pay for anything we needed throughout the resort. This saved us from carrying around wallets, etc. The pass could pay for everything. My parents (in their 70's) did the snowmobiles, which the concierge helped them arrange. They were taken by shuttle to a back mountain, given additional coats for warmth, etc and they followed a guide for a 2 hour tour. They had a blast!

I think that is about it.. we had a great trip, great food, great time. The rooms were very clean, very well kept, and service was wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOKIETRAVELER4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Typical of marriott brand. Suite rooms are good size - mini kitchens, fold out couch - bed, good bathroom size. Not too impressed by restaurant. Spa services great. Staff friendly, helpful - drove me to hospital when I rec'd an allergic reaction (ending up getting an epipen!). Like the bellmen greeting all the guests upon entering the hotel - classy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amor4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Vail has lots of glitzy places to stay-- this isn't one of them. But it's nice, comfortable and the customer service is very good. I think it's a good value. The rooms are nice and comfortable and the rates were reasonable (we were there in peak season and it IS Vail).

I liked the fact that there are mini-fridges in the room and humidifiers; made good use out of both. The bedding was clean and comfy, bathroom clean and adequate. One day, someone will build a hotel where they will provide storage space for customers (girls) to keep their stuff except on the floor in a bag.

I had one breakfast at the restaurant; it was expensive as is typical at these types of places. The rest of the time, I enjoyed the offerings at the coffee bar, which was fine. The concierge, ski rental folks and ski valet service were all great.

Location is everything, and with this property just being a short walk to the Lionshead gondola, it's hard to beat except with a bigger budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachy-blondey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonPolland, Manager at Vail Marriott Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. We will keep in mind for future renovation plans the need for extra storage in our rooms. We are glad you had a good experience overall and hope that you choose to stay with us again on your next trip to Vail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
1.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.1 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
2.0 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Marriott Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Marriott Mountain Resort

Property: Vail Marriott Mountain Resort
Address: 715 W Lionshead Cir, Vail, CO 81657-5070
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#9 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Spa Hotel in Vail
#12 Family Hotel in Vail
#14 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,826 - ₹ 48,073
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Marriott Mountain Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vail Marriott Mountain Resort in Lionshead Village is one of Colorado's most celebrated resorts. Our Vail ski resort is just 150 yards from the Eagle-Bahn Gondola and offers relaxed lodging options for daredevils, daydreamers and those seeking a little adventure. Featuring all the hospitality and charm of a European ski and spa resort, our Vail resort is the destination of choice for vacationers seeking the exceptional. The natural beauty that surrounds our breathtaking Vail luxury resort is reflected in a chateau atmosphere of warm elegance, complete with rich wood accents, cozy rooms with plush beds, heated pools, outdoor recreation and a luxurious spa. With 5,289 acres and seven legendary bowls, Vail Resort is the largest ski resort in the nation, welcoming skiers and snowboarders from all over the world. We invite you to stay with us and discover why Vail continues to top ski resort polls year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vail Marriott Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vail Mountain Hotel Vail
Marriott Vail Mountain Resort And Spa
Vail Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing