We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location!”
Review of Lodge Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge Tower
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Perfect location. Very clean. Was welcomed by Chris. Very friendly. Great pool area.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Yorkdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for your comment! The summer is in full swing in Vail, and our pool by Vail Mountain is surely a great place to be on a warm sunny day. We are glad you have enjoyed your time here and hope to see you and your family back in Lodge Tower before the summer is over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Lodge Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

This was our 2nd Spring Break in a row in Vail. We stayed at the luxurious Arrabelle in Lionshead last year. For this year's room, at the recommendation of a friend, I contacted Rock Resorts, which has properties all over Vail and other resorts as well. Rock Resorts assured me that a Platinum Level room at the Lodge Tower would be similar in quality to the Arrabelle. The cost was certainly the same, but the level of luxury was simply not there. I booked a room with a fold-out couch in the living area for our 7-year old and a separate bedroom (with king-sized bed) for me and my spouse. Especially at the price we were paying, I fully trusted Rock Resorts to take care of us. That was my big mistake.

When we arrived it seemed like a nice enough hotel. The desk clerk was helpful and someone took our luggage to our room. We were assigned a room on the 1st floor (one floor up from the lobby). The room was clean with a very spacious living area that included a full kitchen. But the bedroom had two queen-sized beds. I contacted the clerk and told her that we had booked a room with a king-sized bed. I was told that all of those rooms had been taken. Also, because this room was on the 1st floor, we had absolutely no view. The view out of our window was a landscaped incline that abutted a driveway at about ceiling level (we were essentially below ground level). So much for staying in a place called the Lodge "TOWER". The clerk said we could move to a Gold Level Room on the 6th floor, so we got the keys from her and checked it out. The room was worn looking and not near as nice as the 1st floor room, plus it also had two queen beds and overlooked the parking lot in front. I called Rock Resorts and the phone rang through to a representative in Breckenridge. Though he tried to be helpful, he had absolutely no way of figuring out what needed to be done. He said he would leave a message for the rep in Vail who helped book the room. I also inquired about our lift tickets that we purchased through Rock Resorts, which were supposed to be waiting for us when we checked in.
About an hour later I received a call from Rock Resorts in Vail and they said our lift tickets were on their way, but there was nothing they could do about our room because the hotel was fully booked.
I didn't have the appetite for pressing my case because vacations are for relaxing, and besides, we had to go rent our skis and boots before closing time. So we just stayed put and made the best of the cards we were dealt.
Because there was a complimentary European-style breakfast in the lobby, we really didn't have a need for the kitchen. We only used the fridge for keeping drinks cold.
The bathroom appointments were on par with a Holiday Inn or Ramada, though I must commend them for the complimentary Aveda soaps and toiletries. One of the biggest nuisances was the water temperature of the shower. Every couple of minutes the temperature would fluctuate from scalding to chilly (especially frustrating when our child was in the shower because an adult had to stand by and constantly reach in to keep the temperature from getting too extreme).
During the day, regardless of the thermostat setting, the room would heat up to about 75 degrees. At bedtime the room was too hot, and we quickly discovered there was no air conditioning. So every night we had to adjust the thermostat temp to 68 and open a window. Then I would have to wake up in the middle of the night to close the window because the room got too cold. Then I would have to wake up a half hour early to set the thermostat to 72 to make the room warm enough for a comfortable wake-up temperature. I'm supposed to get more sleep than this on a vacation!
On a positive note, the daily maid service was exceptional.
We used the pool, which was fine. And my spouse booked a massage at the spa, which was okay too.

Pros:
Good location to ski lifts
Friendly staff
Clean, Spacious Platinum Level Room

Cons:
Absolutely DO NOT book your room through Rock Resorts because they will not take care of you
For Arrabelle pricing, this is not anywhere near Arrabelle quality
Make sure to specify a high floor with a view of the mountain or you might find yourself in the Tower's "English basement"
Too hot to sleep / No air conditioning
Constantly fluctuating shower water temperature
Breakast was free, but definitely nothing you would want to pay for anyway

Room Tip: Specify a higher floor or you'll be disappointed. Have a quick reaction time to keep from being...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you very much for taking your time and submitting such an elaborate review of our property. Due to the nature of our accommodations (privately owned condominiums that are individually decorated and have varying bedding combinations) it is always best to book your lodging directly with our own reservations agents. I would also like to clarify that Lodge Tower is not a part of Rock Resorts- it is an independent properly located in Vail Village.
We are pleased to know that you were satisfied with the quality of our accommodations, even though you did not enjoyed the bathroom in your condominium.
Your concern about the fluctuating water temperature was addressed immediately after your departure- thank you for writing it on your comment card. We have not had similar issues before or after your visit, and I apologize for not being aware of it during your stay. As for the air conditioning, while most of our units still don’t’ have it, we do have several condominiums equipped with AC. Please ask about them when you are booking your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great location, about 100 yard walk to Vista Bahn chair. Great friendly accomodating staff. Well appointed rooms. Free breakfast. had great mountain view. Slighly more reasonable than other similar accomodations at Vail. Only issue was our room had very small bathroom.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skilarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2012

Thank you for taking your time to submit your review!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you back in Lodge Tower next winter. We are also pleased to announce that we will now be located within 100 yards from the New Vail Gondola- the Vista Bahn chairlift has been removed, and the new gondola will take its place by November 16- Vail's ski season opening day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Just returned from a week long stay. We had tried to stay at the Lodge at Vail next door, but they were booked. Our room had a great view of the slopes and you couldn't ask for a better location. The Lodge Tower shares the same driveway as the the Lodge at Vail, so the location is perfect - steps away from the ski lift and ski valet service, and just a short walk to Vail Village with all its restaurants and shops. Room size is on par with the rooms at the Lodge at Vail, but could use a bit of a face lift - particularly the bathrooms. Service at the Towers is very good, the staff friendly and attentive. Housekeeping does a great job. I returned to my room one morning and found the housekeeper down on her knees cleaning the bathroom! The included breakfast is plentiful and a nice perk, the afternoon treats and always full fruit basket much appreciated. A little extra treat was the welcome box of toffee covered mixed nuts and the bag of chocolate covered almonds at the end of our stay. So yummy. The pool and spa area a lovely area to relax. This hotel is pricey, but the location and service make it worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the slopes - what a beautiful view
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2012

Dear JinFO,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our property. We are happy to hear that our location, amenities and services contributed to your great vacation. We hope to have an honor to host you again during your future visits to Vail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We can sit on our balcony and watch the skiers come down the face of Pepes Run...on very snowy days young children will climb up and slide down on their bellies.
The fire works New Years Eve can be viewed from this spot and the torch light parade can also be seen right from our balcony.
One of the few ski in and ski out places on the mountain as well as access to one of the best new spas and workout centers.
The best part about The Lodge Tower remains to be their staff...the best concierge service in the village with restaurant recommendations and reservations and last minute details...
The reservation desk is also very helpful and always smiling...

Room Tip: Always get a room that faces the mountain and on the corner nearest the lift
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzsenGreenwich_Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesia S, Front Office Manager at Lodge Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Suzan,
Thank you for your kind and elaborate review. We are happy to know that you and your family have such great holiday vacations with us. Please contact us for your upcoming holiday reservation- this season’s first snow should be here tomorrow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
1,273 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.4 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#6 of 30 in Vail
500 reviews
0.5 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
1.2 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge Tower? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge Tower

Address: 200 Vail Rd, Vail, CO 81657-5320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Vail
Price Range: ₹ 11,847 - ₹ 26,141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge Tower is snug against the base of Vail Mountain, just 75 yards away from Gondola One. From single hotel rooms to spacious three-bedroom condominiums, the Lodge Tower offers a generous range of luxurious, mountainside accommodations for families, couples, groups or individuals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lodge Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge Tower Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing