We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Couldn't be better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gasthof Gramshammer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gasthof Gramshammer
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

A European jem in a perfect location right smack in the center of Vail Village. It's beautiful, comfortable, people are wonderful. You feel like you're staying in someone's home. Although it's not ski in-ski out, all you do is carry your skiis a very short distance to the gondola. Super easy.

If you're looking for a good time, head on over to The Club, where Steve Meyer, The Good Times Guy, does a show at 5:00pm. Check his website, it's not all the time. It's gets crazy in there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cabanna59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    37
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and it was lovely. Our room was ready when we arrived and all our bags were brought in so we could go skiing right away. It is centrally located in Vail and is an easy walk to the slopes and many restaurants. They have a wonderful breakfast included in the price which included hot and cold cereal, cold cuts and cheese, fresh fruit, and different breads.

The hotel is "Gemutlich" which doesn't translate directly into English, but means friendly, homey and warm. Definitely would stay here again. As a note, they charge for parking (which is also limited--so we didn't move the car...but didn't have too cause of the location...close to everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the Bar as that can get noisy. We knew about that before we came.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eve1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

The food is greasy.

I hated them because they charged 18% of tip but the service was slow, the waitress never smiled. She deserved 5 or 7%. Why did they charge 18% without asking me?

The food was very expensive for the received value.

I will not eat here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IsraelVillarello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel has it all. It has a restaurant, a big bar with nightly live entertainment (crowded with mostly foreigners and not locals), a ski rental shop, locker for ski gear, two hot tubs, sauna, gym, computer to print your boarding pass from, underground parking lot and all just a short walk to the base of the Vail in the main village (closest ski lift is Vista Bahn). The breakfast was European style with fresh meats and cheeses, hot oatmeal, toast, cereal, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fresh fruits- we left there full everyday.

The rooms are decent size and were clean. Our room had 2 queen size beds and views of the mountain. The only downside is the noise from the street, which isn't the hotels fault . The hotel does provide earplugs if needed, I am use to sleeping with noise so I wasn't affected but families and those looking so a quiet night sleep may want to keep this in mind.
Another thing to keep in mind is that there is noone at the front desk from 10pm-7am and you must use a discreet side entrance.

The price we paid for the hotel compared when to others and all it's amenities and friendly staff is the reason I feel it deserves 5 stars. It's not super luxurious but it is cozy and fun. It also looks like it was airlifted in from the Alps.

Room Tip: room#216 is an end room and has a huge corner balcony overlooking two different streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue WA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Just got back from another great trip to Vail, stayed again at Gasthof Gramshammer, and I like it more each time I'm there. (Locally known as "Pepi's;" he and his wife Sheika, the owners, are originally from Austria.) European atmosphere, and the rooms are not only pretty but cozy with very comfortable beds. Best location in center of resort at a very good rate. Bathrooms small but complete. Outside noise has never been a problem for me, will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Have always stayed in lowest-rate rooms, they are more than suitable. Two double beds in each. A li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Laign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.1 km away
Sitzmark Lodge at Vail
0.2 km away
Christiania at Vail
Christiania at Vail
#7 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.2 km away
The Galatyn Lodge
The Galatyn Lodge
#19 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#4 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.1 km away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 km away
Nine Vail Road
Nine Vail Road
#26 of 31 in Vail
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Gramshammer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Gramshammer

Property: Gasthof Gramshammer
Address: 231 E Gore Creek Dr, Vail, CO 81657
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vail
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,036 - ₹ 28,295
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Gramshammer 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Gasthof Gramshammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasthof Gramshammer Vail
Gasthof Gramshammer Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing