We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wren

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wren
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Vail
GreenLeadersGold level
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in the mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Wren is an ideal base for a ski vacation in Vail, one of the most expensive resorts in the Rockies. The location is ideal, being very close to the Golden Peak area which allows one to reach the back bowls quickly and easily in the morning, well ahead of people who opt to stay further west in the Lionshead area. The Wren has a shuttle bus (included in the cost) which offers frequent door-to-door service to the lift. Nothing is closer! A heated pool and two hot tubs, a weekly wine and cheese party for guests, and even a grocery run Sunday night add to the enjoyment of this cosy and friendly place. Staff is excellent, doing everything possible to meet your needs and the place is very well maintained. Units are 1 bedroom or studio, and the top floor offers much higher ceilings and windows, creating a feeling of spaciousness. Gas fireplaces are in every unit. Free parking comes with every unit and is underground. Vail Village is a 7 minute walk away. Lots of places are more expensive, but this is the bargain of the area!

  • Liked — Ambiance, location
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nsquared4018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    23
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
38
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Had a great holiday at the Wren. The staff were friendly and always helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a one bedroom plus loft which was great for the four of us. Kitchen was well equiped. All in all a fabulous holiday. The hot tubs were great after a day of skiing and pool towels available at reception. We walked to the lifts at Golden peak most days and it was fine. A good way to warm up before your first ski run. We also walked into Vail village from the Wren. The Wren offers a shuttle service which I used occasionally and it was great at times as my 9 year old enjoyed the break from walking.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the runs at Golden peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The wren is a good value compared to many of the slope side lodgings. They run a shuttle to the lift, though you can walk. The rooms are relatively spacious and the kitchens fully equipped. Many of the rooms have been redone. If your room faces the mountain, you can see the torchlight parade and fireworks on New Year's eve from your balcony. The staff if friendly and efficient. The outdoor heated pool and hot tubs are an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a slope side unit if you are there over New Years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEBesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed at the Wren for a week in Oct 2011. We loved it. There was absolutely nothing we could complain about. The location is excellent for walks into Vail Village and for sightseeing. The kitchen is well stocked.

This one we will go back to for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CORedtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed for a week (timeshare exchange) and really appreciated the location as being so 'centralized' for our sightseeing of the Colorado Mtns. The staff was friendly and offered tips on how to maximize our stay. The big disappointment is that they are one bedroom units and the hide-a-bed is perhaps one of the most uncomfortable i've ever slept on !

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikermarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
0.3 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 30 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
0.2 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#22 of 30 in Vail
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.5 km away
Austria Haus Hotel
Austria Haus Hotel
#7 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.3 km away
Vail Mountain Lodge
Vail Mountain Lodge
#10 of 30 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wren? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wren

Property: The Wren
Address: 500 S Frontage Rd, Vail, CO 81657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vail
#16 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,863 - ₹ 24,893
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wren 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wren’s convenient, central location assures our Owners and Guests easy access to Vail’s wide variety of year-round outdoor sports and activities. In addition, cultural and entertainment events, specialty shops, galleries, and more than 100 restaurants and nightspots are located nearby.Stay in Vail for an affordable and reasonable nightly rate. Vail Village and Golden Peak are within walking distance. And utilize The Wren’s private skier shuttle during the Winter ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wren Hotel Vail
Wren Hotel Vail

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing