We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A great day on the mountain

This is one of the best moderate trail in the area. It offer everything : creek, trees, rocks, view... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2018
39elm
via mobile
Out & back hike

One of the most beautiful hikes I've ever experienced! This one has it all - waterfalls, lakes... read more

Reviewed 14 August 2017
Rachel W
,
San Diego, California
Read all 17 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Vail
from US$ 355.00
More Info
from US$ 550.00
More Info
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
16
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trail head windy wildflowers hike rocks trees
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Excellent hike for locals and energetic visitors. Trail winds through forests and open meadows with stunning wildflower views. Lake Missouri is worth your time.

Date of experience: July 2015
2  Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

This was not an easy hike especially for people from the east coast like us. The thin air makes it tough on some of the steep inclines so make sure you bring plenty of water and take breaks. Overall it's a moderate hike with a few difficult sections. The payoff was amazing lake views.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

The trailhead is about a 45 minute drive from Minturn. About half of the time is on a gravel road which gets a lot of traffic. Once you get to the trailhead and find a parking space, the fun begins. The hike to the lakes is about 7 miles round trip. Elevation change is about 2,000 feet. There is a nice waterfall along the way. Some of the trail is rather steep but overall, I'd rate it Moderate. This trail is easier than Booth Lake, Deluge Lake and Pitkin (all Vail-area hikes). The area at the top consists of several beautiful mountain lakes. We saw people fishing (and catching fish). I would not hesitate to do the hike again but I would dread the drive to the trailhead. Very crowded on weekends.

Date of experience: July 2015
4  Thank Steveh3Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Loved the hike and really pretty setting for a picnic. Good hike for "hikers" but might be too much for beginners or low landers!

Date of experience: July 2013
4  Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My perspective: 61 yr old guy--not in top shape but walk or bike some most every day. This is a fairly strenuous trip. Some almost stairstep sections. Go 10 mi drive off the main road (CO 24) on Homestake Rd and then a right turn onto 704. Trailhead has decent parking and a restroom. On the way up, you'll have creek crossings--one particularly spectacular one looking up into a canyon. You'll have a breather through a lush meadow and one section where you walk through the canyon on the edge of the fast-flowing creek. At the end (as far as I was concerned) are two beautiful lakes-- make sure you make the extra walk to the second one and take plenty of pictures

Date of experience: July 2013
16  Thank fredly59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews