We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Nearby Hotels
Tivoli Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 211
US$ 135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Marriott's StreamSide Douglas at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 391
US$ 343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 237
US$ 203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Austria Haus Hotel(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 202
US$ 153
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 552
US$ 522
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Vail Mountain Lodge(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 291
US$ 283
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,242)
Filter reviews
1,242 results
Traveller rating
703
368
99
37
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
703
368
99
37
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgore creekprivate liftski lifthot tubresort feeski seasonbike pathbeautiful propertyski resorttop notchmountain viewthe entire staffend of the dayfour seasonsshuttlespalionshead
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,242 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

5 Star, awesome staff, rooms and delightful heated pool, hot tub and fire pits. Hulu, Netflix, ESPN on monitor of treadmill. Ski lift and rental on property. Live music, piano in lobby (my kids practiced while on vacation:)) hot chocolate and apple cider every day from 3-5 PM game room with board games and pool table. We didn't eat at the restaurant at the hotel but I can't imagine it wasn't anything but marvelous! Ditto for the spa!

Room Tip: luxury mattress and room has balcony
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jamie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Spending well over 50 night a year in hotels, I tend to notice how all the little things add up in hotels - and it's almost always the staff. Yes, the refurbishments in the hotel are top notch. Yes, having the Cascade lift within hotel property is fantastic. But what really makes this property stand out is the consistent level of caring service from each and every person you interact with. From the front desk, to the restaurant and lounge staff, to the marketplace, the bell desk ... all 5 stars. This even extends to the Venture Sports staff (where you can rent ski equipment) located inside the hotel.

I took my 10 year old son with me on a quick father-son ski trip and each person we interacted with were not only professional but dedicated to their roles and expressed sincere care of guest experience. There is a special formula at this property which I wish could be bottled.

A heartfelt "thank you" to the team of extraordinary professionals at Hotel Talisa. A special THANK YOU to Christina (Concierge) who took the effort to make sure my time in Vail was spent "doing" things with my son and not "searching" for things to do with him. I look forward to returning with the whole family.

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The location of this place is great, but the decor is cold. Also it's not quite done, they are missing tiny details, like no hooks on the doors. Only two tiny hot tubs for the whole hotel, after ski time they become uncomfortable and crowded.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tarablue321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGarthVail, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear tarablue321,

Thank you for your insightful feedback following your stay with us.
Your feedback will you discussed further with our teams as an opportunity to improve our property to accommodate the needs of our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to bring attention to specific items that impacted your trip. While we have recently opened, we are dedicated to creating exceptional experiences for our guests by improving our hotel and service based on your feedback.

Again – I do sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and I we would greatly wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an exceptional stay.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Area Managing Director
Hotel Talisa
jgarth@hoteltalisa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

I stayed at Hotel Talisa in January and had a great experience. The rooms are fresh and comfortable. Good sized bathroom.
The service was attentive in the lobby bar, restaurant and market. Enjoyed the food, beverages and live music.
Ski rental is in the hotel and it very nice. The lift is literally steps from grabbing your skis and feels like the hotel's private transport to get on the mountain. At the time I was there, the catwalk or run in to the hotel was not open. Not to fret, you could download to the hotel.
I would not hesitate to go back to Hotel Talisa and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

We spent a week at the Talisa, we are a family with kids. Overall it’s a very nice and convenient hotel and with a few tweaks could compete with the finest five stars in Vail. It’s very large, and at first seems like a big maze, but soon you learn the shortcuts (staircases, sometimes going outside is faster than inside) and the hotel has plenty of lounge and sitting areas so it did not feel crowded.

The raves:
- the onsite chairlift is very convenient. You never have to carry skis out.
- the ski rental and valet is one of the best I’ve experienced, they are nice, knowledgeable and efficient. We never waited long.
- the concierge and front desk staff were helpful with all requests
- the overall look and feel of the hotel is nice and modern with a bit of luxe feel
- the shuttle to lionshead and vail runs very regularly. We never waited more than 5 minutes at any stop
- they have nice touches to make the hotel feel special, hot chocolate and cider, passed champagne “tastes” ( basically a sip or two) daily, s’mores once or twice a week and a small hot liqueur drink sample
- the have live music frequently (a one man band) in the lobby

The tweaks:
- overall the hotel feels like it was designed more for business travel than families. The suites do not have pullout couches, washer/dryers or kitchenettes (only a minibar fridge and a keurig with powder creamer). The lack of these amenities make a week long family ski trip a little less easy. Along the same lines the bathrooms have no place to store anything ( no drawers or cabinets) and the closets are small. Families skiing have a lot of gear!
- they give you bottled water but no other turndown niceties
- they promote the amenities noted above (daily champagne taste, passed cookies, once a week s’mores) quite prominently but if you’re not there at the precise moment you will miss them. The cookies and champagne are passed once, the s’mores often finishes before the listed time. It’s not like other hotels that will keep passing cookies around for a half hour.
- the outdoor pool and hot tub are a nice amenity but they could make the space more usable with some covered seating, turning on the heat lamps and offering some beverages out there as other hotels do
- last, they should provide coffee! Yes there is a keurig in the room but with no creamer.
- skiing back to the hotel is not that easy, it’s a catwalk that ends with a short uphill trek and often with bad conditions. You can download on the lift which may be easier.... though most people seemed to have trouble getting off.
All in all I would recommend the hotel, just a few tweaks to make it on par with the ritz, etc.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank bams4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGarthVail, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Bams4446,
Thank you for your insightful feedback following your stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our recent renovation, our location on Gore Creek, with access to Vail Mountain via Chair 20, our on-site chairlift, the hotel staff service and our stunning Ski Valet and Concierge are humbling as we are grateful for the opportunity to provide luxury accommodations and service to you and your family.

Your specific comments regarding the property will be discussed with our teams as a way to further improve our property and service. While we have just recently opened, we hold ourselves accountable to provide a luxury experience to each of our guests, and there is no excuse for not delivering upon this standard.

Again – I do sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback, and I we would greatly wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future for an exceptional stay.

Sincerely,
John Garth
Area Managing Director
Hotel Talisa
jgarth@hoteltalisa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews