We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Talisa, Vail

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Talisa, Vail
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Vail Cascade. Service was oustanding all the way around. Everyone we dealt with was helpful and quite courteous. I had found a deeply discounted price for a 4th floor standard-limited room through a 3rd party website, but felt a little uneasy booking and prepaying for it. When I called the Vail Cascade reservations line directly, they immediately offered to match the rate and offered to hold the room for 24 hrs while we shopped around and made a decision. The room itself was plenty spacious and clean (the room wasn't nearly as "limited" as I had feared it might be). Only complaints were that it was rather warm (we ended up having to open the window at night) and hallway noise woke us up a few times. The lobby lounge is cozy with a nice big fireplace, good selection of craft beers, and tasty bar snacks/appetizers.The on-site chair lift was very convenient and on-site storage and service made it easy to get out on the slopes. The shuttle service was also a nice feature and runs frequently (until midnight). My advice would be to make sure you know exactly where it picks up before you get out on the slopes. We wore ourselves out the first day trudging around Lionshead with our ski gear looking for the stop. With the convenience of the shuttle though, I don't think we missed out on a thing by not staying in downtown Vail Village or Lionshead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aholdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    356
    93
    34
    35
See reviews for
375
383
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We wanted to try something different and save money. This is NOT a value hotel.
The blonde female front desk manager was irritatingly giggly and carried on a personal conversation while my kids were trying to ask how to get to the spa. They did not need to hear about the previous nights drinking.
We were charged for parking, even though we were told the room key works no matter what. We don't mind paying, but why charge an exorbitant amount for a garage far away that offers free parking either way?
the rooms were cramped and needed updating.
It is a great quiet location but needs lots of help.
We will return to the Sonnenalp next year.

Room Tip: Creekside rooms would be nice if available but you'd be better off at another hotel where they v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Betty J,

We are disappointed to learn that your recent stay didn’t meet your expectations. I can assure you that your interaction with the front office staff doesn’t meet our own standards. The feedback you provided will be pivotal to the training, coaching and counseling of our associates. We take great pride in hiring the best in Vail and training our associates to ensure interactions meet our exacting standards.

As for parking in the winter season, we offer very competitive pricing in Vail. We are sorry to hear you were not aware of this information prior to your arrival. The parking fee is something we communicate throughout the reservation process, as well as on our Website and in our reservation confirmation and pre-arrival communications. In the summer, we are pleased to offer complimentary parking to all our guests.

As we continue to improve processes, reviews such as yours in invaluable. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope you allow us another opportunity to showcase what we truly represent. If you choose to return to Vail Cascade, please contact me directly and I’ll make sure that your next stay is up to your standards, as well as ours.

Thank you again,

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This is not a five star hotel but it was a very nice stay. The service was excellent. Our room was nice. We stayed in a deluxe room at an affordable price. Good size for my husband and I and our daughter who stayed in a crib. While we were there they offered a beer and food pairing at the Atwater on Gore Creek restaurant. The food was fantastic. I look forward to going back and eating a meal there. The beer was just okay... not our taste. We played in the heated pool which was kept at a nice temperature and was quite beautiful as it was an infinity pool which backed up to the mountains. The hot tub was in a great location as well but it had too much foam which I wish they would have been kept up better. I also was surprised to see that the staff were dressed sloppy or casual. But minus their appearance they were very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear happyhappyfamily,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. With so many hotels to choose from in Vail, we are glad you selected to stay with us. Time and time again we are recognized for providing a great experience at an exceptional value due to our service, amenities and location. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our heated infinity edge pool and hot tub, as well as our dining offerings. As Vail’s home of creative cuisine and craft beer, we’re hoping to help guests explore the world of craft beer and artisan food pairing through educational events such as the one you attended. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the food!

We also take great pride in providing a relaxed, sophisticated yet casual atmosphere and expect our team members to be professional at all times, including in appearance. Thank you for providing your feedback on this; we value your opinion and want to make sure all our guests feel comfortable and at home when staying with us.

Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights over the Easter long weekend. The resort is nice and has all sorts of amenities. It is surely a good choice for any visitor to Vail who wants to stay at a 4-star resort but not paying the steeper price at some higher end resorts such as Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rombuk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear rombuk74,
Thank you for staying with us over Easter weekend. We are glad to hear you see the value in staying at our resort. As a AAA Four Diamond resort, we take great pride in cleanliness, comfort, security and safety and are held to a high level of quality when it comes to resort attributes. Combining an extensive array of amenities with a high degree of hospitality, service and attention to detail, we do our best to ensure our guests have a relaxing and memorable stay….all at a reasonable price. We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and hope you return to visit us again.

With thanks,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My family and I are still reaping the benefits of our incredible stay at the Vail Cascade Resort & Spa! We all came away refreshed, relaxed and happy! The rooms were spacious and inviting, the staff friendly and helpful and the concierge the best. We were all able to rent skis and equipment with ease and very much enjoyed the convenience of hopping the chairlift to the slopes at the foot of the resort. The shuttle to Lionshead and Vail Village runs often. So the morning ski school drop off was easy and allowed my husband and I a chance to enjoy some adult time over a cup coffee before hitting the slopes ourselves. Apres ski we relaxed by the pool with the children and then headed inside to the Fireside for half pipe pizza and many other tasty treats. The deep tissue massage by Ted is one of the best I have ever had. We are already planning our next visit to the resort!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopesings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Hotel Talisa, Vail, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Hopesings,
We are thrilled to hear you and your family had a relaxing and fun vacation at Vail Cascade! Broad reviews such as yours are very valuable to Vail Cascade as we pride ourselves in exceeding guest’s expectations and providing the best in customer service. It sounds like your family was able to take advantage of all the amenities that make Vail Cascade unlike any other resort. Glad to hear you also enjoyed some alone time with your husband before a day on the slopes! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon; please let me know if there’s anything I can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
1.4 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
2.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#3 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
2.2 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
2.9 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Talisa, Vail? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Talisa, Vail

Property: Hotel Talisa, Vail
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890 (Formerly Vail Cascade Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#4 Spa Hotel in Vail
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,334 - ₹ 62,246
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Talisa, Vail 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotel Talisa, Vail - Vail's newest luxury mountain getaway, reopening after a multimillion-dollar transformation. Our forested backyard at the base of Vail Mountain promises a one-of-a-kind respite of beauty and serenity balanced with inspired activity no matter the season, with the shops and restaurants of Vail a mere five minutes away. Hotel Talisa's 285 sophisticated new guest rooms and suites acknowledge your outdoor-centric activities with benches and gear storage, with amenities ranging from rainfall showers and soaking tubs for tired muscles. In our atmosphere of residential mountain luxury, you will discover the perfect home base for both adventure and escape. Luxuriously appointed bathrooms. Contemporary décor with indigenous inspiration. Refreshment centers stocked with local and international delicacies. Delightful turn down traditions that send you to sleep with a smile. The inspired décor of our guestrooms tie into the soul of Vail, exuding the spirit of outdoor adventurers, artisans and native tribes alike. Influenced by the best aspects of the Rockies and Alps, the Hotel Talisa will enchant you with culinary creations from around the world. Open all day, the new 3-meal restaurant is open breakfast through dinner, showcasing authentic flavors from the Colorado Rockies and the eight countries that touch the Alps, from Austria to Monaco. Our lounge offers a fireside setting for enjoying inventive après-ski food, drink, music, conversation and floor-to-ceiling mountain views. And our fresh market is a favorite stop for active guests who prefer quick serve and to-go gourmet foods and libations. Guests will delight in blissful and invigorating treatments at the new alpine spa within the hotel along with even more fitness and spa offerings at Aria Spa and Club adjacent to the hotel. And, as Vail's premiere skiing experience, our on-property chairlift provides for Vail's only true ski-in/ski-out luxury resort, with on-site rentals and ticket office, aided by a world-class ski concierge. Enjoy four seasons of outdoor adventures galore with mountain biking along Gore Creek, fishing, swimming, ice skating and more or simply lounging at one of the infinity pools or hot tubs and fire pit socializing. Private cars and complimentary shuttles are available exclusively for resort guests along with dedicated concierges eager to assist in planning your visit. Whether seeking tranquility, adventure or a blend of both - Hotel Talisa, Vail's newest luxury hotel and resort beckons year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Talisa, Vail reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing