We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“OUTSTANDING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Vail
Certificate of Excellence
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

If the hotel is anything close to what the reservations process was, this will be the best hotel stay EVER!

It is very rare to come across superb service, but Ilka from reservations has redefined the standard. Her customer service has made us wait in anticipation to come enjoy the property with our family this coming Easter. Congratulations to the hotel for such great service!

Our reservation was complicated - she made it a breeze. THANK YOU ILKA.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatinExplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear LatinExplore (Denver)

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience with Ilka, one of our outstanding reservations agents. We couldn’t agree with you more that she provides the best in customer service. At Vail Cascade Resort, we strive to exceed your expectations from the very start; from the ease of making your reservation, to our comfortable accommodations and AAA four-diamond service, to our stunning location along Gore Creek. Rest assured we want your stay over Easter to be one that you’ll remember forever and we’re delighted we made such a great first impression. With an Easter Brunch full of mouth-watering dishes, an Easter egg hunt for the kids, a special visit from the Easter Bunny and of course, the beauty of our spectacular surroundings, we can’t wait to welcome you to our resort for this very special family getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    356
    93
    34
    34
See reviews for
373
382
30
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I am basing this review not on my stay the Cascade... because I haven't stayed there yet. Rather this review is about a phone call. I recently booked a room for the beginning of April at the Cascade and I called to confirm my reservation. A cheerful sounding woman named Ilka took my call. She happily confirmed my reservation and asked about my upcoming trip. When I told her how I am coming with my two kid brothers (twelve and fifteen) she expressed genuine excitement for me. She enthusiasticly told me how great my trip will be and how she is reserving a two queen room for us. Her warm manner was special. I travel fairly often and have confirmed many bookings before and never have I felt so welcomed and wanted by any establishment. Mind you this was a prepaid booking, there is no backing out and they know that. I requested a rollaway for my little brother she regretfully told me that my booked room can't fit one. However she cheerfully assured me that when I arrive, the front desk will surely try to accomadate me if there is availability. (I sure hope they will. We aren't really the sleep in the same bed type :) I mentioned that i had seen a deal right after I booked that was a similar price but had the resort and parking fees waived. Without missing a beat she graciously waived the parking fee for me. She then very sincerely apologized that she couldn't waive the mandatory resort fee. What struck me was the sincere manner that she spoke with. She apologized sincerely a few more times throughout the phone call saying that she is so sorry she can't help me with the fee. This taught me a valuable lesson in costomer relations. Although I still may not be so happy about this fee, she sure took the sting out of saying no. She continued throughout the phone call to to make me feel so wanted by the resort. As if they can't wait till I come with my brothers so that they can host us. Time and again she excitedly told me how great my trip will be with them. Ilka got me more pumped up than I already am. She asked if I had any questions about the resort to make my stay the best it can be. She acted so thoughtful, gracious, and patient throughout our whole conversation. If this is the kind of people the Cascade hires just to answer the phones, I feel assured of the high level of hospitality they surely exhibit. I was kind of apprehensive after reading some mixed reviews but this reassures me. I know I will have a truly memorable trip with my brothers at this resort. I will be back after my trip to give you a more comprehensive review which I'm sure will be great. However I thought that this phone call warrented its own review. The Cascade sure taught me a lesson in hospitality and I appreciate that very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yehudag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

just back from a great week in Vail at the Cascade-for what we paid I was very happy with the hotel-the rooms were large and comfortable,the breakfast buffet was pretty good and the staff were friendly and efficient.The hotel has it's own chairlift and is ski in,ski out which was fantastic.Although the hotel is quite a way from downtown Vail there is a very good shuttle service every 15 minutes which is free for guests.
My only complaint about the Cascade concerns tipping in the hotel bar-as we come to the U.S. a lot we are aware that we need to tip 20% when eating out and that we should tip when we have drinks in a bar.However,in the Cascade bar we found that some waiters added a 20% tip to our bill when we had drinks and other members of staff did not add any tip and left it to us to add a tip.When we ate in the hotel restaurant no tip was added and was left to our discretion.
I would be interested to here the hotel's explanation for this practice.Other guests we spoke too had the same experience.
This was the only negative during our stay and we should have complained at the time so its our own fault really but it does slightly mar what was a great week of sun and skiing.

Room Tip: pay a little more for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fujiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear fujiboy,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed Vail Cascade’s accommodations, ski in ski out chairlift and complimentary transportation to Vail Village. We appreciate you sharing your feedback pertaining to auto-gratuity. Our policy is to add gratuity for groups of 6 or more and if there is a discount on the bill, then gratuity will be added based on the original amount. If we do automatically add gratuity to a bill due to group’s size, our staff should be informing guests before collecting payment. We value feedback from our guests and appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we will use this as a training opportunity to ensure we are clearly communicating this process going forward. Thanks again for staying at Vail Cascade and your informative review.
Brett Schoenfield
General Manager
Vail Cascade Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

No one can argue that this hotel is in a great location. However, the rooms need to be updated. The decor is a bit dated. The biggest issue with the guest rooms is the lighting. There is a severe lack of lighting in the rooms. Furthermore, all the lighting in the room (two bedside lamps and one floor lamp) are all on one side of the room, which is as far as possible from the desk area. If you need to get work done in the room, you can really only do it during daylight hours. Also, the wifi signal in room 388 was weak. The signal is much better closer to the main lobby.
Aside from the location, some of the positives include the in-room humidifiers and the complimentary access to the full health club. If I had been traveling for leisure I would likely have been more positive about this property.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the lobby area for a stronger wifi signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnruda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brett S, General Manager at Vail Cascade Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear johnruda,
As one of the largest meeting resorts in Vail, reviews such as yours are imperative to our company considering that we cater to many guests staying at Vail Cascade for a conference, team retreat or work gathering. We take great pride in our “Destination Earth” program, which recognizes the need to preserve the world in which we operate and serve our guests, and have implemented certain practices that help to lesson our footprint on our changing environment. Although our rooms are designed to take advantage of the breathtaking views from our picturesque windows, we have informed our engineering team about the lighting and placement of the lamps in your specific guest room. While not all of the rooms are the same, we want to make sure we’re efficient in providing an appropriate work environment, comfortable sleeping arrangements and suitable space in all our rooms in an effort to make everyone feel at home while here on business. Thanks again for your review and we hope you do come back to enjoy Vail Cascade for personal vacation.

Sincerely,
Brett Schoenfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astwick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Excellent location to take advantage of the outstanding skiing in Val - Skiing to from the Ski Locker room, where they made sure my boots were pre-warmed and my skis were within 10 feet of the ski lift - Skiing was fantastic, great snow, a little more sunshine would have helped, but a small price to pay for the fresh Vail Powder. Ok, the Cascade Resort, great room, wonderful view of the mountain, spotless, impressive customer service, excellent food, all the staff were great, no complaints. Well only one, keeps the lifts open for another hour in March and floodlight the slopes! Otherwise, if you ski you have found heaven!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucePfromAstwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vail hotels
2.7 km away
Tivoli Lodge
Tivoli Lodge
#2 of 31 in Vail
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
1.4 km away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
2.2 km away
The Sebastian - Vail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Vail
2.9 km away
Manor Vail Lodge
Manor Vail Lodge
#5 of 31 in Vail
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Cascade Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Cascade Resort & Spa

Property: Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Westhaven Dr., Vail, CO 81657-3890
Region: United States > Colorado > Vail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Vail
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Vail
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vail
#6 Spa Hotel in Vail
#8 Business Hotel in Vail
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vail
#9 Family Hotel in Vail
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,355 - ₹ 81,283
Hotel Class:4 star — Vail Cascade Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Cascade Resort and Spa features 280 comfortable hotel rooms and suites as well as condos and private homes. This Vail hotel has an outdoor pool and hot tubs, restaurants, room service, concierge services, spa, gym and a gift shop. Vail Cascade Resort is the perfect ski-in/ ski-out location with an on-site chairlift. Combine this with equipment rental and ski storage, skiing and snowboarding have never been more convenient. Other amenities include a 78,000 square foot spa and fitness center, complete with an indoor running track, tennis courts, yoga, pilates and fitness classes. If you need more space than a hotel room, consider staying at a Vail Cascade condo or private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Vail Cascade Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vail Cascade Resort And Spa
Vail Cascade Hotel Vail
Cascade Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing