We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Marriott's StreamSide Evergreen at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 385
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christiania at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 296
US$ 280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 479
US$ 439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Sebastian - Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 655
US$ 625
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Talisa, Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 525
US$ 223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 256/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Lodge at Vail, A RockResort(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 355
US$ 291
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 504
US$ 368
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 585/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Antlers at Vail(Vail)(Great Value!)
US$ 275
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 784
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
254
85
14
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
85
14
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesgreat locationbedroom condofree breakfastpublic parking garageevery afternoonmountain sidemake your own wafflesfull kitchenhot breakfastfabulous staythe staff was friendly and helpfulfarmers markethot chocolatemurphy bedshort walkbeautiful condo
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Mountain Haus in January.
1. The Room:
We had a two bedroom apartment which was very well appointed full kitchen, two bathrooms large lounge room with gas heater.

The fittings were very good quality. Really nothing that I could complain about at all about the room.

They had ski storage as you came in the room for about 4-5 sets of ski and boots.
2. Location
Having spent 10 days there and walked all of the village including walking to the neighbouring village. I think this is the best location in Vail. It is far enough back that it isn't noisy. A mountain view room gave a great view of the slopes. You were only a 5-10 min walk maximum to everything. It is even close enough to take your skis back and forwards without too much trouble, if you wanted to.
3. Staff
Wonderful young friendly kids mainly (I'm guessing college holidays maybe), but they were all very knowledgable, friendly (esp with the kids) and nothing was trouble at all so can only give the staff 6/5 stars.The cleaning staff and general maintenance staff were also delightful.
4. Extra Touches.
a) Cookies at the end of the day in the lobby. AWSOME just what you needed at the end of a cold day.
b) The coffee and Hot Chocolate Machine in the lobby. Also good in fact apart from loaded Joes it made as good a coffee as any of the shops so don't go out for coffee unless it is to loaded Joes.
c) Wifi good speed we took our apple TV and set it up so we were able to access all our movies while we were away. The speed was OK for this.
d) Cleaning very good they seem to use a steam or chemical cleaner each day throughout the hotel so that you didn't get the mouldy damp smell that you often get in a lot of ski resorts.
e) Spa and sauna also very good the sauna was on a timer so turn it on as you come home get changed and then come down. It doesn't get really hot only ever got it to about 85 degrees, so adequate but not a really hot sauna. But in the ten days I was there there was never anyone there with me.
5. Food there really isn't anywhere to buy basic groceries in vail so stop at one of the shopping centres before you come in for supplies. The restaurants were all good. Expensive but good. A taxi to the shops would be about 15-20$.
6. Ski School was the worst Ive been to in 6 ski trips. So expensive its just not worth the effort. First time I have ever honestly felt ripped off with what I got. Japan, Italy Austria and NZ left this ski school for dead.
7. Ski storage, if you have lessons you can use the ski concierge to store skis and poles. You can also pay for storage around the base of gondola 1. It is probably around 200-300$ for a family of 4 for a week.

The only negative I can Give about Vail Mountain Haus is the breakfast. Its terrible, same waffles, bacon omelette (guessing powdered eggs) and stale bagels each day. It was enough to fuel you up, but really wouldn't be hard to make better with a little effort. Which really surprises me given the attention to detail in every other respect in this place. Seriously add 20$ a day to the tariff and get some decent food for breakfast. But put in perspective this is a very small print gripe and I would stay there again in a heart beat.

The pub underneath also looked very cool as a place to hang out for the younger crowd, didn't look like a great spot to take the kids, but there were more than enough family friendly places to take the kids so This place looked like a great place for the 20-30's. One of the guides told me its also a reasonably local hang out to meet the locals. All of whom we really enjoyed their company.

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms were lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattVail, Concierge at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Hi Matt, thanks so much for leaving us a TripAdvisor review, and for your extensive assessment of the hotel! We really do appreciate when people take the time to tell us what they liked or didn’t like about their stay with us. It also gives me something to do when it gets a little slow here. We’re really glad to hear that your room was sufficient for your needs and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We love it to! We really appreciate hearing that you were pleased with our staff. We try to keep things fun and energetic here and like to hear when a guest is pleased with the service. Sorry to hear you had such a bad experience at ski school! If it weren’t illegal for us to teach guests ourselves, we’d love to do that too. Most importantly, thank you for your comments on the breakfast. Although we love to hear about all the things we’re doing right, the negative comments are really what help us to become a better hotel. Hopefully when you come back you’ll be so full you can’t make it out to the mountain. Thank you again for your input. Hope to see you again soon!

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mountain Haus! Staff was extremely friendly and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. The free breakfast each day was more than we were expecting and beyond what we would consider continental breakfast: eggs (egg and cheese omelets as well as hard boiled), bacon, breakfast potatoes, waffles, yogurt, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit as well as cut up fruit, toast and bagels! They also offered laundry machines and detergent free of charge! Fresh baked cookies were served in the lobby every afternoon/evening and the lobby had a cappuccino/espresso machine for guests' use. The location was perfect for walking to the gondola and apres ski fun!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattVail, Front Office Manager at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Vail's Mountain Haus and for providing you feedback on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your feedback on our breakfast options and accommodations. We hope to see you again in the near future. Again thank you for the feedback and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

GREAT LOCATION, right over the covered bridge and across from bus stop and parking garage. More central than in the village b/c its easy to walk to Solaris and all that shopping area, or up covered bridge st, or catch a bus to Lions Head. 5 minute easy walk to Gondola 1. Condo was comfortable and well appointed. Beds comfy with nice linens (#110). Lots of nice perks too. Coffee, tea & hot chocolate in Lobby along with Sunscreen & lib balms, and cookies apres ski. Having The George downstairs a BIG PLUS. Cheap drinks and good food that's reasonable. Locals fave! Good outdoor pool & hot tub plus an indoor hot tub, sauna & steam room. Mtn Haus staff very accomodating and friendly. Would definitely stay here again! .

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattVail, Front Office Manager at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2016

Thank you for staying with us at Vail's Mountain Haus and for providing feedback on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the central location of our lodge and hope that the time saved went back to you! It sounds like you were able to take a vacation on your vacation! We hope to see you again in the near future. Again, thank you for the feedback and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

The location was the draw for us and we were not disappointed. Our 4th floor 2 BR was more traditionally decorated than we prefer but spacious and well stocked for a great getaway. Balcony seats for the mountain beauty. Short walk to the Gondola with our skiis stored nearby and world class restaurants and shopping in between. All service was great. Our only complaint - the breakfast could use some easy upgrades. Real eggs and some whole grain bread and healthier granola would be helpful. Also note the outdoor hot tub is nice but small when a big group beats you to it!

Room Tip: Mountain view is fantastic. Though probably hear the bars more on weekends.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiNancyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattVail, Concierge at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2016

Firstly, thank you for staying with us and leaving a review on TripAdvisor! We’re glad you enjoyed your room, even though the decorations weren’t your style. We hope looking at the beautiful mountain view made up for it! There’s nothing better than sitting on the balcony after a long day on the mountain and taking in the scenery. Also, we really do appreciate your suggestions for the breakfast. We love to hear what guests have to say about it… since we don’t eat it. I love good granola too. Thank you again. We hope you come back to see us!

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

I was pleasantly surprised by the Vail Mountain Haus. It was a little less expensive than some of the other places we have stayed in Vail so my expectations were a bit more tempered going in. We had a wonderful stay. The accommodations were great, the staff was so nice and helpful. They really went out of their way to make our stay great and were really accommodating. Location of the hotel is fantastic. Breakfast was average but free so no complaints. Cookies in the lobby every day was great. Wifi worked very well

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alexia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattVail, Concierge at Vail's Mountain Haus at the Covered Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2016

Hi Alexia, thank you for staying with us and leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. We’re excited to hear that your stay at Vail’s Mountain Haus exceeded your expectations and that our staff was able to help you with whatever you needed! If our guests are happy, we’re happy. The cookies are a huge hit. We’re glad you were able to get down and get some before they were all taken. They go quick! Thank you again and please come back to stay with us whenever you want.

Tanner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews