We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Trinidad”
Review of Tarabino Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarabino Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Southern New Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find in Trinidad”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed here twice in one week - on the way to and from Thanksgiving with relatives in northern Colorado. We stayed in the Walnut Suite first and then the Chestnut Suite. We loved the historical architecture, convenience to old town and great hosts of the Tarabino Inn. The breakfasts were large and very good. The two suite rooms are large and very comfortable with beautiful rugs and antique furnishings. Both suite bathrooms are well-equipped and clean. We'll stay there whenever we get the chance.

Room Tip: Only the Walnut Suite has a bathroom in the room, other rooms have bathrooms nearby or share bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoYoYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We recently stayed two nights at the Tarabino Inn, and enjoyed it so much that we weren't quite ready to come home!

This high-ceilinged, turn-of-the century home (with free WiFi) is beautiful and well-kept both inside and out - with common areas including a library, a cozy parlor for afternoon tea and cookies, and a large front patio (smoker-friendly) to enjoy the view of the neighborhood, and the city below.

The suite we stayed in (Chestnut Suite) was wonderfully decorated with period furniture, had large windows with lots of sunshine, and the bedding was ultra comfortable. A short walk down the private hall (robes and slippers provided) led to a bathroom featuring a long, deep clawfoot tub - perfect for a long soak at the end of the day (we definitely recommend you taking bubblebath!). And for those of you who like snacks at hand, just outside the suite's sitting room is a mini-fridge, and an electric teapot with a variety of teas.

The breakfast (8:00) is early, but well worth it - and after, there's a great selection of brochures and maps on the area, whether you're looking to hit the art galleries and antique stores in historic downtown, or take a drive down the Highway of Legends.

Trinidad, just 90 minutes from home, is now "our little secret", and we plan to visit often - using the Tarabino Inn as home-base for enjoying this little gem of a town. If you go, I highly recommend a two-night minimum, since one night just isn't enough.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2RovingWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had never been to Trinidad, CO before and didn't know what to expect. What we found was a wonderful well preserved mining town at 6,000 ft. elevation. But the most special part of our stay was finding the Tarabino Inn. Kevin and Theresa were wonderful hosts and from the minute we minute we arrived we felt like we were home. We had the Walnut Suite. Big rooms, huge bathroom, great bed and wonderful views from the upstairs windows. For those looking for a tranquil and interesting time away in a historic town and a Victorian B&B, this is it. We'll stay there anytime we are in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the Walnut Suite. Large rooms, good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Igo4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Our family loved this B & B. The Victorian house is gorgeous inside and out. If you want to feel like "you're away from it all," this is the place to visit. The house makes you feel as though you take a step back in time.

We stayed in the Walnut Suite, which was way more than we expected. The house and room was very clean. Our host, Kevin, was wonderful. He made us feel right at home. Our son loved that he played guitar and he (our 4-yr-old son) told us that we have to come back just to hear him play guitar.

The breakfast was delicious. First morning was an egg fritatta (I think), regardless of the technical name--it was amazing!!! The second morning was blueberry pancakes. Later in the evening, we were treated to these amazing chocolate treats and refreshing iced tea.

We really enjoyed our time at the Tarabino Inn and we will definitely be back for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cruisin_Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at the Tarabino Inn during a passing through trip to visit family. Unfortunately in Trinidad there aren't a lot of choices for accommodation -- you either get budget hotels or 1 or 2 B&Bs. We chose the Tarabino partially because we had limited options, but also because there were good reviews of it on TripAdvisor. When we arrived my parents wanted to check out the property (they own a small motorhome nearby) and Theresa was exceptionally gracious, giving us a tour of the whole house and extending her afternoon snacks to all four of us (even though just two of us were staying). The late Victorian property is decorated beautifully and is absolutely huge. Our room, the Chestnut Suite, was enormous, with a separate sitting room in addition to a large, high bed (which was very comfortable). Our private bathroom was gorgeous, with a clawfoot tub and organic shampoos. We were very lucky to be the only guests of the B&B that night, so we slept great. Theresa's breakfast the next morning was unbelievably good (and very generous portions). We enjoyed English Muffins with Spanish tortillas and fruit. We were so impressed with the interior of the house that I had to take photos of all the antique furniture. Theresa has done a great job -- when we visit our family again we'll be sure to stay there. A great little gem in the middle of Southern Colorado.

Room Tip: The Chestnut Suite is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommefranate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
3.5 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
4.0 km away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
299 reviews
3.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
108 reviews
4.5 km away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#8 of 10 in Trinidad
29 reviews
1.2 km away
Days Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarabino Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarabino Inn

Property: Tarabino Inn
Address: 310 E Second St, Trinidad, CO 81082-3019
Region: United States > Colorado > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,911 - ₹ 8,335
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the ambiance of this historic Bed and Breakfast located in beautiful Trinidad, Colorado. Splendid antiques blended with modern conveniences pamper your senses and your soul. Tarabino Inn combines the elegance and way of life of the Victorian era with the comforting hospitality and atmosphere rarely encountered in today's world. Indulge in the old world warmth of antique furnishings, rich natural woodwork, persian rugs, and much more. Your hosts, Kevin & Teresa, would be pleased to welcome you into their home, and their hospitality is guaranteed to make your visit a special and relaxing time. Whether you are escaping for just a weekend's rest, a longer vacation, or even a business trip, make the choice that will make memories. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing