We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$203
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Expedia.com
$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Hotels.com
$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/07/22
Travelocity$212
Priceline$211
Agoda.com$203
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
152
95
22
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
152
95
22
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snowmass mall great location pool and hot tub backpacking trip the general manager rooms are clean free buses easy walk granite countertops great room dave aspen slopes skiing rack village daly
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2022

I cannot recommend the Pokolodi Lodge, here’s why: My roommate, who happens to be a Roman Catholic Priest, and I were booked through the Far West Ski Association from 1/29 to 2/5/2022. There were a number of disappointments as follows: First, no breakfast, although Tripadvisor reviews stated that they had a decent breakfast. The excuse was covid. Well, the FWSA had booked accommodations for over 200 people in various lodges, condos, and hotels at Snowmass. Except for the condos, all had breakfast. I guess Pokolodi used covid as an excuse to save money. Second, at check-in, the person checking us in was very abrupt and insisted on placing an upfront charge of $50 on the credit card. After some discussion, he removed the charge. This did not sit well with us. Normally, registering a credit card at check-in is to cover possible future charges. We had no charges during our stay. Third, one day the room was never made up. Fourth, and the most serious, our room was cold for the whole stay. On the first day we asked to have the heat increased to no avail, same for the second, third and fourth day. No offer was made to change rooms. We were told to verify that the room heater vents were open, --they were. Recycle the thermostat, --we did. They said they would check the furnace, --nothing happened. At no time could we get the room above 62 degrees, even with the thermostat set at 80 degrees. The fifth day was colder and we could not get the room warmer than 56 degrees the whole day. We were freezing! We complained again and finally the manager phoned and made some stupid excuses like the furnace is 65 years old and there was little he could do about it. Fifth, the charger for my cell phone became defective and I could not charge it. I wanted to phone my wife and tried to use the room phone. It would not work, so I asked for help and someone came to assist, to no avail. The phone would not connect to an outside line no matter what we tried. I assume this was to save money. (I was finally able to phone my wife with my cell phone after borrowing a charger.) Returning to my discussion with the manager concerning the heat, I never used any threatening or bad language (my roommate can attest to this), but I told him we were very unhappy and said that we were with a large FWSA group. I also said that I did not believe the hotel had a right to rent a defective room. He did finally offer to exchange rooms, after 5 days, but we were just leaving for dinner and that would have required gathering all of our clothes, skis and equipment which were unpacked to move and skipping dinner. Also, since the Pokolodi is a motel, not a hotel, it would have required going outside to another room, there is no elevator. Moving would have been a big job taking too much time, so we decided just to stay and tough it out for the final 2 days of our stay. After that conversation, the manager contacted the FWSA and complained about me, even threatening to have me thrown out of the hotel. That was the straw that broke the camel’s back. Who was the injured person here? Certainly not the manager. I have never, ever, experienced such despicable behavior. He was essentially accusing me of being a bad, unreasonable, complaining guest. As if it were all right to freeze in an inadequately heated room for a whole week. Instead, he should have apologized and perhaps even offered us compensation for our unpleasant stay. The cost of the room was over $400 per day, split between the two of us. One would think that for such a price the accommodations should be comfortable. They should have offered us immediately a different room; they did not. My advice is: do not stay at the Pokolodi, but do go Snowmass; the skiing was fabulous.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davemC7705LE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pokolodi Lodge , General Manager at Pokolodi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2022

Sir you were offered a room move after your second night, you declined stating you did not want to pack and move rooms. You raised your voice with our maintenance supervisor and again with me to "FIX IT". It was very cold during you time in town, this is a older building, the heat was running at maximum. You are correct that the room did not get "hot"...Snowmass Village was in sub zero temperatures while the Pokolodi Lodge has out door walk ways, this is sometimes a challenge. I called to discuss your issues from my home two nights before your check out date, again I offered to move rooms, where you yelled at me and hung up the phone (we had that exchange twice that night). The owners of the hotel did not feel that serving a breakfast was safe conditions on how our lobby/breakfast area is set up. Smaller area, and people have different views on masks and social distancing, by serving a free breakfast we believe the risk was too great to staff and guests. We are planning on breakfast for next year. I did NOT call your ski council about your attitude towards me and the staff. The agent whom booked the group was given information that you were unhappy, offered to change rooms and was declined numerous times. Raising your voice at a young lady at the front desk at night, screaming at a man looking at your room heater, and yelling at me then hanging up the phone, yes we did give that review. We also passed along the positive feedback we received from the other 15 rooms from Far West. The room rate was not even close to that sir, I am not sure what FWSA charged you, but certainly was not over $400 a night, for the Pokolodi Lodge. I am very hurt that you had this experience and that I could rectify the issue for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2022

The hotel is a little old, it has been remodeled and is very clean. It has a classic feel to it The staff are incredible. Dave, the GM, went out of his way to accommodate us. The location is perfect for skiing and grabbing local food. The rooms are large and clean. There is no internal hallway or elevator. The beds are a little hard for my taste, but you're probably there to be outside anyway. The water is very hot, which is nice during winter. Would gladly stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

This is a very nice hotel. It is just a 100 ft walk to a elevator up to a very nice shopping area with several good eating places. It had a very nice pool and hot tub area. The room was very nice. I stayed here about 7 years ago and Dave, the general manager, which is a super nice man still remembered me. Even gave me a discout that he had said he would if I ever came back. I had no memory of it but he did. You can not beat people like that.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021

Stayed in the Pokolodi after a backpacking trip. The location is right below the mall, one block from the ski mountain. The staff was very friendly and the room was clean. A great night's sleep. Parking is very close and free. Great Value!

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank PraiseGod5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2021

Friendly staff, gorgeous mountain view, across the lane from Snowmass mall, good price, close to Aspen. I recommend this for one and all. Close to the top of Snowmass hill. Room had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

Room tip: Recommend rooms with pool and mountain view.
Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank evelynpX3050FJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews