We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude is everything...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Fork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Attitude is everything...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

It's been 10 years since being a vacationer at NFR. Obviously time may have changed the way things are now run at the ranch, and that obviously should be taken into consideration when planning a return trip- but I felt we needed to share what we experienced, so others can at least take it into consideration when making plans to vacation at this particular dude ranch.

The scenery and food were great- in fact, superb. However, our experiences were anything but fun- in fact attitude meant everything at NFR.

After doing hospice care for a dying relative, going to a dude ranch in one of the most beautiful parts of the country seemed like the best retreat possible. It was for the most part comfortable, as long as we kept our distance from Dean, (Karen & Dean owners of NFR). His negative attitude and spoiled rotten behavior about his health, paying vacationers, weather and employees was just rotten, and anything but hospitable. Trying to avoid the negativity at NFR deemed impossible and clearly after several days we noticed how Dean's attitude had effected everyone who worked at NFR, including his wife, Karen, and those of us who were paying guests.

Weeks after our vacation at NFR we received a newsletter Karen had written that went on to describe how sick Dean had become and how his pneumonia and mono had effected everything. It's very unfortunate he had become so ill, but after caring for a dying relative and witnessing her incredible positive attitude about life and death, and then witnessing a grown man's spoiled rotten attitude about his own health and making it everyone's problem at the time, years later has given me and my family much thought as to what his attitude would be like now that he's ten years older.

Age mellows some people, others it makes rotten. I wonder what Dean is like today? We don't think we want to find out, but if we do- we'll surely write another review from a fresh perspective.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
16
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

What a great place. Simply beautiful setting right on the river. I came with my wife, daughter (7 yr old), mom and dad. We came to fish as it's an Orvis endorsed lodge, and I've had good luck visiting lodges that Orvis endorses and this is no exception. The fishing was first class. I've never fished a river with as many large trout as this. We caught a lot of big fish. The river is meticulously taken care of, and it pays off in spades. I would highly recommend the North Fork Ranch to any fly fisherman, whether a beginner or experienced. It's wonderful to walk right out the back door and fish, then come in for lunch and then head right back out. No long car rides to fish. Also, sitting on the porch and listening to the river is hypnotic...so relaxing.

The rooms were cozy, the food was great and the level of service was fantastic. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussungdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We enjoyed a long weekend at the North Fork Dude Ranch in August 2011. It could not have been any better! Owners Karen and Dean treated us and all their guests like family. Even though we were only there for three days, there were numerous times when we would simply chat about life in general with them.

The food was varied and excellent. Chef Stephanie cooked up a treat at each and every meal. Even breakfasts had their daily specials, something to enjoy every morning. Eating lunch on the lawns adjacent to the flowing river with a cool breeze was a pleasure. Dinners were delicious. Great jon Steph'!

The activities at the ranch were a lot of fun. We enjoyed learning to ride a horse while enjoying the magnificent scenery of the mountains, the trees and the meadows. The ranch hands were exceptionally patient with the guests.

We went on a long hike up the mountains, which was a delight. We ended up sitting in a meadow where the ranch normally holds it's horse riding brunch. The wrangler who led us on the hike, Quinn, could have been like a son to us. We enjoyed walking and talking with him.

The hay ride, dinner and cowboy music evening was a wonderful way to spend a summer evening.

We declined to go white water rafting, but will definitely do so next time.

We enjoyed watching the fly fishing in the river.

We would strongly consider returning to the North Fork Ranch instead of doing another Caribbean cruise. This is an amazing way to escape from the stresses of normal life in the city. We will be back, but next time for a full week!

Thanks Karen and Dean.

For more info: look at YouTube video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LATvFCn5zB0

Room Tip: A wonderful way to escape from stress while getting fresh air and healthy activities. Fly fishing l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandering-J-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

They have a beautiful spot on the river. Our guides were awesome and got us on fish aall day. They have the friendliest owners and staff anywhere - take care of every need. And the lunch was really incredible!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cravini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We have been to North Fork five times over the years. Dean and Karen make you feel so welcome and like one of the family. We have stayed in every one of the cabins. Each is decorated in a special way reflecting a love of the old West. They do an amazing job of selecting their staff. Everything is included in the one price--no add on costs or surprises. You can ride as often as you like, or not at all.The fishing on the property is unbelievable.Each evening has a special activity--hay ride, mountain man, square dancing, game night, songs around the campfire. Food is Fab!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmaginnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
40.2 km away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
39.8 km away
Keystone Lodge & Spa
Keystone Lodge & Spa
#1 of 6 in Keystone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
36.0 km away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Denver Littleton
31.5 km away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
8.7 km away
The Grant Motel
The Grant Motel
#1 of 1 in Grant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Ranch

Property: North Fork Ranch
Address: 55395 Highway 285, P.O. Box B, Shawnee, CO 80475
Region: United States > Colorado > Shawnee
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,435 - ₹ 35,013
Hotel Class:5 star — North Fork Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to life at North Fork Ranch a premier guest ranch and fishing lodge. Established in 1985, this family oriented ranch rests on a half mile of private river, the North Fork of the South Platte. One hour from Denver, in the majestic Rocky Mountains, you'll find horseback riding, whitewater rafting, world class fly fishing, campfire, intimate accommodations, dining with a gourmet flare and activities for all ages! **Colorado's Newest, Orvis Endorsed Fishing Lodge** ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing