We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful, calm and cozy escape!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
double vanities in the bath, with large separate soaker tub looking from master bedroom/sitting area into the kitchen and living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
double vanities in the bath, with large separate soaker tub
looking from master bedroom/sitting area into the kitchen and living area
leather sleeper sofa, kitchen with full sized appliances
your future best friends...
just a sample of the happiness and freedom awaiting you at the farm!
rare and gorgeous paco-vicunas, specializing in very fine fleeces
Cozy beds for everyone!
Newly completed, fenced deck with gas barbecue, adjoining the separately fenced and gated pet yard
someone is heading over to the separately fenced and gated pet yard!
moving the boulders around, just because we can!
Shearing the animals happens in May and early June, if you want to stop by and watch!
just a sample of the incredibly fine and lustrous yarn from our animals, available in the farm store
paco-vicunas, a young male group looking ethereal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salida, Colorado

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Benji A
1 review
“A beautiful, calm and cozy escape!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

As we were looking for better accommodations, and not to be cooked-up in a hotel room, we came across this wonderful location. The online reviews, the idea of a farm-stay and the fresh eggs, sold us in moments. Still, the description and the pictures fell short in describing the details and the peace we felt while staying on property.

My wife and I went to the farm with two teenagers and an adult friend. We were cordially received by the onsite property manager (more on him later). Though we arrived at night, he was there to receive us as we crossed the gate. We were excited to see the animals and the marvelous accommodations, but in the morning, the view oft he snow-capped mountains was breathtaking. Specially for flat-earth Texans. The owner has placed such attention to detail, that it will be hard to describe everything here. The apartment is immaculately clean. It is fully furnished, from kitchen to bedroom to bathroom to laundry. Only thing we didn't have was wire masher to make refried beans, but everything else was there. Plenty of gourmet coffee for our stay, hot chocolate packets for the kids, fresh eggs in the morning. My favorite area was the bedroom. Very cozy, comfortable, with extra blankets for a warm afternoon nap. There is a gas-log stove-style heater in the bedroom, that makes reading for hours enjoyable. Make some hot tea, grab a blanket and pull a chaise close to the heat stove and try not to finish you book in single seating. It goes without saying that a couple by themselves could make this a very lovely romantic getaway.

About the onsite property manager, he was very much out of sight, but would show up within two minutes of calling him. We had our privacy, yet his service and friendliness were without match. He very much reflects the property owner attention to detail. He shares the vision of helping others learn about farm life and about the alpacas (paco-vicuna).

I travel often for business, and no big-chain-extended-stay suite compares to this place . In a few words: "They are expecting their best friends to come stay at the farm and it shows

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The onsite property manager - very friendly and catering to any request we had.
Liked least: No complaints.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you, Benji! You have become friends, and we look forward to a return visit with you in the spring. We do feel like everyone becomes family with each visit, and we want you to feel very much at home. And you will see more nice things with every visit- new is the finished deck, with dining furniture, and barbecue and yes, we will get that wire masher! And I agree totally- Dito is fantastic, and he enjoys the company as well. Take care, Jane and Dito
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLongs3...
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the alpacas, chickens, roosters, and the turkey! The views were beautiful. The place was modern, clean and comfortable. We loved riding on the Gator tractor and helping turn out the alpacas in the morning. Dog and family friendly. The whole experience was one our family won't forget. We can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
becky g
Hanoi
1 review
“The best deal ever!”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was the perfect place for a small family that wanted to cook their own meals and be in close proximity to Monarch ski mountain. While it is essentially a studio apartment, the king bed plus double fold-out couch plus single pull-out bed plus air mattress were more than enough to accommodate two adults and two teens. One down side: the aluminum wall behind the king bed was super squeaky any time you budged. The bathroom which had enclosed toilet made access for four easy enough. But the best part of was NOT the views all around of the Rockies, but of the 100+ el pacas right outside the house. The care taker brought us fresh eggs in the morning and was absolutely available for anything we needed. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The aluminum siding on the wall behind the king bed - could not move without it loudly squeaking--not good while people are asleep.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2016
Thank you, Becky! We are very happy that you all enjoyed your visit to the farm, and have taken steps to correct the squeaky headboard on the bed. We look forward to your return visits! Take care, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
60sGeordi...
Elbert, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous!”
Reviewed 7 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Location, people and accommodations all wonderful. Apartment beautiful and very well equipped. Nothing but the highest praise. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia S
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
“Fun, comfortable and beautiful”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

First time to Colorado and heard Salida was a great place to visit. When Jefferson Farms came up as a place to stay, I immediately fell in love with the romantic notion of staying on an alpaca farm. We weren't disappointed. The accommodations were great - a New York style apartment in the middle of a farm! The bed was so comfortable and apartment was spacious. My husband is an artist and he set up his easel and painted a beautiful plein air piece of the gorgeous surrounding landscape.

We set up chairs outside, drank good wine and my husband serenaded the alpacas. I fell in love with these furry beings and realized that 80% of my vacation photos are of the alpacas and Lucy, a dog in residence. Dito, the farm manager was so kind, interesting and accommodating. He even let us help open the gates to let the alpacas graze in the morning. Yes, it smells like a farm, but it was one of my most memorable vacation experiences and I can hardly wait to visit again!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing