We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down home hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Rock Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Rock Ranch
2 reviews
“Down home hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

We got married at Beddin Down in Sept 2006 and booked the whole B&B for our wedding party for the weekend. Carolyn and Jerry sold the inn to Lance and Patti a couple of months before our wedding and we were a little nervous about the transition. Lance and Patti held up their end of the bargain to make our stay and our wedding great. The food was awesome, they accomodated visting animals in their outdoor boarding facility and managed to fit about 20 adults and kids into the rooms, hideout and loft. This is a great place in a great town!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank CO-BnB-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

As has been mentioned several times, Patti and Lance are wonderful people and very accomadating hosts. I stayed here two nights with my wife and our two teenage nieces in the "Hideout" room.

It's virtually impossible to find a decent room that sleeps more than two at a B&B - but the "Hideout" is the exception. It can sleep 8 people (3 queens and 1 set bunk beds) and is spacious and comfortable. The only very-slight negative about this room is its lack of windows (due to being in the basement). In addition to a great room - breakfast was tasty and filling each morning. Plus the large community dining table is a fun experience.

As a side note, while staying here consider a rafting trip with Dvorak rafters. I did research on local companies and they have the best safety record + their staff is ultra freindly and fun (and a bit hippy-ish...dude!)

Overall, Beddin' Down is your best bet in Salida - we will be back!

  • Liked — Patti & Lance - two of the kindest B&B owners I've ever met
  • Disliked — no windows in the "Hideout" room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
139 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2007

This little Bed and Breakfast is really a gem. The family who owns/runs it are delightful. They greeted us with warmth and hospitality -- their teenagers are intelligent and well brought up young adults -- a pleasure to be around.

The location is a little bit out of town but that adds to the charm of this place -- it sits on a ranch with horses and cows and spectacular views of the mountains.

Our room was large and decorated beautifully with a very large private bathroom (larger than mine at home!). We really felt like family visiting not "guests at a hotel".

We will definitely stay here anytime we are in the area.

  • Liked — Hospitality of our hosts
  • Disliked — I could have done without the lifesize John Wayne cutout in our room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastellanosML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2007

Our family had a fantastic time in Salida at the Beddin' Down. Patti, Lance and their children made us feel a part of their family immediately. Accomodations in The Hideout were comfortable and very clean, the views were breathtaking, and the breakfasts delicious. We would recommend this place to anyone, particularly families, since many B&B's cannot accomodate groups other than couples.

  • Liked — We felt very relaxed there
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2006

I love everything about this B&B. I've stayed there for two years now and all I can say is good reviews. The rooms are excellent, hospitality is just like you were back home in Texas with the nicest folk. Food is delicious and dessert is even better, not to mension the Texas sweet tea and the blue bell ice cream!!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
6.3 km away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
7.4 km away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
19.6 km away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.2 km away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Rock Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Rock Ranch

Property: High Rock Ranch
Address: 10401 County Road 160, Salida, CO 81201-9536 (Formerly Beddin' Down Bed, Breakfast and Horse Hotel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Salida
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,214 - ₹ 5,510
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing